Mandala Tote Bag Anyone?

in Sketchbooklast year

A few days ago I posted about my mandala tote bag project and showed you the sketch of my design, here. I wasted to made a tote bag for my niece, with a mandala design, to be unique and interesting as well.

As I'm not an artist and this would be my first project of this kind, the most suitable option was to create the design on paper first. It took me a couple of days because I did not like the outcome and changed it quite a few times. Good think I was drawing on paper and erasing what I did not like was easy.

After I got an acceptable pattern, put it aside to think about if that was what I wanted. It helps to think it over as once you do it on canvas, there's no going back. Looking at the pattern for a few days gave me the push to finalize it, so today I finally did it.

20230129_213106a.jpg

In my previous post I said I would never draw lines and circles to aid my drawing, which is valid for paper, but drawing on canvas for the very first time is a different thing, so I draw a few guiding lines, you know, like at first grade.

20230129_213111a.jpg

I used a regular pencil and to my surprise, drawing on canvas seemed much more easier than I thought. Don't use a clutch pencil as you will break it the first 10 seconds.

20230129_213227a.jpg

This is the part where I cheated and used a cup, to get a perfect circle.

20230129_220251a.jpg

20230129_221122a.jpg

I'm not going to lie, I was very nervous when I started drawing, but after some time I forgot about it as it was quite easy to draw on canvas.

20230130_105501a.jpg

The biggest surprise however was when I discovered that you can actually use the eraser on canvas, quite efficiently. Can one ask for more? I don't think so.

20230130_112624a.jpg

This was the phase till I followed my previously created pattern. Then I went rogue again. What a surprise!

20230130_140543a.jpg

This was the final design I said I'm satisfied with. There are parts I could have done better, but ... as I have no talent, this has to be good for now.

20230130_140552a.jpg

It's a bit pale as I did not want to press the pencil harder as this was just a sketch, to guide me when drawing with ink.

20230130_142435a.jpg

This is the marker I bought, it's specially for textile.

20230130_142753a.jpg

Then I took a deep breath and started drawing with the marker.

20230130_144324a.jpg

The marker is 1mm thick, so I was surprised how easy it is to use it. They had a thinner one, but that would not have been suitable for this type of canvas.

20230130_150950a.jpg

What you can't see on the photo is that there's a chopping board wrapped in plastic, in the bag, to stop transferring the ink to the other side. I don't know if there's a risk as i haven't looked inside the bag, to check the back of the canvas, but better safe then sorry.

20230130_143650a.jpg

This is another detail you can't see. No worries, you can wash it off with alcohol, but at some point I had to stop and let the canvas dry, to avoid getting the canvas dirty.

20230130_191344a.jpg

And voilà! After like 20 minutes, the masterpiece was finished. I still have to iron it to make the paint stick permanently, but at least the drawing is done.

20230130_191402a.jpg

There's room for improvement, regarding precision, but I'm glad there were no major mistakes made. It was a fun project and I'm glad I did it.

Drawing on canvas is not so difficult after all, so this may not be my last one. I'm planning to practice mandala and zentangle too. Practicing will help me draw with more precision and who knows, maybe I'll create another masterpiece 😂

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

It is beautiful.
And you say you have no talent, well I say yes, because for the design to be well highlighted, it is sure you have talent hehehehehe. It is a beautiful work.
Best regards to you.

Thank you very much!

Yes, I say I have no talent, but I think this is something you can actually learn, or get better at it with some practice.

Thank you for stopping by and have a nice day :)

I had a great read and I enjoyed your art too. You are a great artist why don’t we go international with it dear @erikah🥳✌️😅

Greetings from Ghana 🇬🇭

Thank you and it's a good joke, but I wouldn't go that far.

Sure. But why not try and let the world see how you perceive the world through your work of art. Maybe a man art studio will help.

That might give me a hot if visiting it one day In sha Allah 😊

Think about it. My humble opinion 😊✌️🇬🇭

I'm not interested in that. This is a way to have some fun and to prove myself I'm capable of doing this, nothing more, so ... no thanks :)

Sure. Thanks 😊🇬🇭

That looks beautiful! 🫶 i didnt expect that you just finished that within 20 minutes, it looks like a lot of work...

I finished the last phase in 20 minutes, but to put the design together took me days.

It's beautiful. Thank you for sharing your process with us. 😃
I hope your niece will like it as well. 😍🤩

Thank you, I hope so too 😃

This is so awesome! 🙌🙌🙌 I loved seeing your process. 😁

Thank you, I'm glad you like it 😘

I never tried doing a mandala before. i think it is very difficult.

It depends. If you have some drawing skills, it's not so difficult.

I don't even know even a single line of it. Haha
Wow, that's impressive. Good job. 👏👏

Thank you 😊

You're welcome. ☺️

Wow! Drawing on canvass? I haven't tried it yet. Your drawing looks like a painted one or printed one. It looks so good and now I know that there is really a marker intended for textile? That's good.

For sure your niece would be glad to have it.

I have never tried it either, till now, but it's not something to be afraid of :) Maybe I do one for myself as well, although I'm not a fan of these bags, but it would look nice.

I hope she'll love it.

This is an interesting art and at the same time you did an amazing mandala there.💕
I think the last time I draw mandala was when I'm in Grade 9 as our project. We did in on a one whole coupon bond.

There's a alot of improvement in your artwork. You can add some colors and I'm sure it will turn more beautiful.

I wish we would have mandala drawing in school, but we did different projects.
I'm not going to add colors as those markets cost a lot and just not worth it.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 76000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 77000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Jesus, that's quite a lot. Thanks arcange 😃

You're unstoppable 😅

Dropped by to find out what Mandala was rather than simply googling it and wow, great post , great design, it looks brilliant. Do you iron it directly to make it permanent or through some grease proof paper? Please show us post ironing, Im interested to see if the wonderful pen work stays sharp or smudges slightly.

Best wishes @erikah and I'm so glad it wasn't a picture of a dead South African president ;-)

Lol, don't tell me you did not know what mandala was. But I'm glad you do now.

I need to iron it to make the ink permanent, that's what I was told at the shop. But I may go over it once again as after two days it looks dark gray. I'm ging to do it tomorrow, most likely and keep you updated.

Thank you for the wishes and the nice comment. Dead South African president? Hell no!!! 😂

It's a beautiful design, you have expertise in this area, even if you say you have no talent, facts prove the result of your design is really amazing, no matter you use a glass for the circle, everything looks perfect

Thank you. I have drawn a few mandalas but not many, so can't really say I have experience. Let's see my next project :)

That ink shows the effort you put into this bag @erikah. It is really a great work. In Turkey, we say "now the price has doubled" in such situations 😂. You really add value to everything you touch.

Thank you my friend. That is a good saying, too bad the lady won't be paying 😂
But at least she's going to have a unique bag. I hope her friends will envy her 😜

I'm sure they will. Everyone wants a unique bag for sure 😄

What a beautiful creation, my friend. Such patience and dedication to each line. Blessings🙏

Thank you! Indeed it needs patience and dedication, but it's not impossible.

wow that is incredible work :))

Thank you.

Thank you.