Whale Printing | A Scribble-Based Drawing

in Sketchbook2 years ago

Some days ago, I ran into a contest post that was using an image I thought I had seen before. It turns out I had not seen the image itself, but another one by the same artist: @romanie

I wrote a story for the contest but the drawing also motivated me to scribble too.

I toyed with the original illustration and came up with some original drawings. Also, I visited @romanie's blog and found an amazing universe created out of scribbles. She explains her method and rationale here.

I had spent a good part of my college years scribbling, but I never thought of sistematizing those drawings. In fact, I did not save any of those. Now, thanks to @romanie's idea, I am planning to go back to that relaxing artistic exercise and let the Blockchain preserve whatever crazy images come out of that.

Let's call this first exercise:

Whale Printing

IMG_20220111_113048~2.jpg

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Process

I made the scribble myself (with my left hand). I plan to ask people around me to offer their scribbles for the next ones.

The first thing that came to my mind was a face mask. It would have been easy to develop a cartoon out those lines. However, I let it flow.

IMG-20220110-WA0004 copy.jpg

The first few shapes and shadows started to depart from the face mask idea.

IMG-20220110-WA0004 copy 2.jpg

In a few seconds, I was diving deep into unconscious tracing.

IMG-20220110-WA0004 copy 3.jpg

When I tried to complete what might be the shape of the object coming through the gate, the whale popped up.

IMG-20220110-WA0004 copy 4.jpg

From this point on, the drawing became intentional and I tried to create some sense of harmony and balance in the composition.

IMG_20220111_110733.jpg

Until I had to force myself to stop, otherwise I'd keep adding circles and waves.

I used a No2 pencil and a Pointer for the final inking

IMG_20220111_113048~2 copy.jpg

Thanks for stopping by. See you with the next scribble-based art.

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Hive gif 2.gif

Sort:  

I did not know about that talent of yours!😍

It's a capricious thing, the muse if drawing. It does not always come easy. Once in a while something close to art pops up. I tried inktober once and that has been the most consistent time I've ever drawn. It was really exciting.

goodness! I´m so inspired to read this post!What a great drawing and even more impressed that you do it with your left hand!!!!
I really BELIEVE in the process that these scribble take it is so wonderful to hear about someones return to this practice. It really the practice itself that holds the magic. People are impressed by the results but really what I LOVE about this is the way our minds make decisions and we are just there as an observe while the hand just goes ahead with hardly any control.
I´m resteeming this with such joy! Keep going! I think us adults should never loose the taste to play, this is one of the ways I do that.

What can I say, you inspired me to go back to playing with ✏️ and 📜
Have you illustrate children's books? I can see your art elevating children's stories to a next level.

Thank you so much for this, I haven´t illustrated any book as such but I have worked a lot with children and as you can see they are a great source of inspiration. However, I have been working on a book that is a game for the past two years and I´m still struggling to get the prototype done. Aiming to have that done before summer.
I think its great you are inspired to go and play with pen a nd paper again ! Best wishes!

BELLÍSIMO ♥. Waooo, debes seguir compartiendo tus dibujos, ¡tienes un gran talento! Qué bueno que el concurso te motivó a mostrar también tu arte. Sigue así, queremos ver más. ¡Saludos! @hlezama

Gracias @vezo
No siempre público dibujos porque, cómo he dicho en varias ocasiones, no se me da fácil. Muchas veces arrugo el papel y lo descarto, después de muchos intentos. Sin embargo, hay días como antier, cuando todo fluye de manera muy orgánica. 🤞

Good job.

Congratulations @hlezama! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 21000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 22000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10