Japanese Temple - Digital Painting Concept Design with Process

in Sketchbook4 years ago

Hi everyone, I have been working on some digital work recently to build up my portfolio. Today, I would like to share a Japanese Temple done with a graphics tablet and the free software called Gimp.


1.png

I started with some basic blocks for the temple shape. This is the foundation for the form and perspective.

3.png
I then did the details of the temple. I used an ink pen as I liked the way the line thickness varied and thought it would create an interesting piece.
4.png

I added the base colours to the piece.
5.png
Using a lower opacity layer I added the shadows and some of the highlights on the roof. I also added an overlay layer where the light from the sun would touch the front of the temple.
6.png
All that was left now was adding the background. I did some blurry hills as I did not want it to draw the attention away from the temple.
2.png

Finished!
1.png


Hope you enjoyed the process of this piece and thank you for all your support :)

I will share some more concept designs like this in future.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

!discovery 20


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Very beautiful work you've done friend. I love that black in you used on the second step. It gave it a subtle effect.
Thanks for sharing.

Thank you, the subtle black makes all the difference.

Yeah, it really did. Nice to see your work after a while.

really well done. good luck with building the portfolio

Thanks :)