You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sour Pressure - Inktober days 9 and 11

in Sketchbook3 years ago

Thank you! Sometimes the hardest thing is to make up a some story to the pictures, although I know it's not necessary but I want to do it anyway, but not in this case. The reasoning was in my head ready to be written.

Sort:  

It makes the art more "authentic" (if I can use that loaded term) if you have a story or explanation that goes with it. Or, it makes the are more believable. It shows the thoughts of the artist, otherwise, the viewer is left with control of the creation process. Or that is just my view. There are so many theories about who actually creates meaning in art, the viewer, the artist, the system in which the art is produced, etc. etc.

That's what I think too. The creation process truly is part of the finished piece and it sometimes gives a deeper meaning to the art and sometimes changes the way we see or feel about the art.

So true. Few understand this. Presenting only the artwork sometimes leaves the viewer wanting more. Often I walk in art galleries that are mostly void of explanation. I find myself yearning to communicate with the artist, not necessarily to find out more about the deeper meaning per se, but just to understand the creative process as you mentioned as well.

Also I love watching the art process which, in my opinion, is art too. The journey to the finished product.

From a rather post-modern perspective, the process of making art is, like you said, also art. Video tape yourself can slap the label of performance art on it and call it a day! No, just kidding. But it is like that, seeing the artist go into the space of creativity and the subsequent "performance" or creation is awesome.

On a different note, check my review of your work! It is not very long or detailed, and I am sure you were tagged in it.

Thanks for the insightful discussion on the process of creating art!

Video of tape yourself might also be art, it all depends. If there's also a message in it, a reason, something the artist wants to say, with the method of performance, it definitely is art. One might say it's the thought that counts. :) But do people like it or not, that's always debatable.

Take for instance Butoh dance. Is it performance or dancing? Is it art? I think it is, all of those. And when you know the history behind butoh dance, where it's origin is, why it was created, it really gives a deeper meaning, especially to those performances where traditional butoh dance is used.

But do we as spectators need to know the history or the creation process behind a certain style or an art piece to understand it? In my opinion, no. I think seeing things not knowing anything about them is totally fine and acceptable. And sometimes it's a cool experience to see things not knowing anything, after seeing it the first time finding out stuff and then experiencing the art again, perhaps in a whole new way. But then again, coming back to that "tape yourself" thought, if the art doesn't give anything to the spectator, no thoughts, no questions, no peace of mind or an uncomfortable feeling, nothing, was the art worth making for?

Thank you so much for the review! You chose the words in your review so well that there's nothing left to add. Well summarized!

And thank you too, I really enjoyed our discussion. Art talk is always welcome.

Video of tape yourself might also be art, it all depends.

That is so true. I video-taped myself making some abstract paintings a while ago, just for documentation's sake. The video ended up becoming a type of performance art in itself, unplanned.

Butoh dance

Wow, I have never even heard of it, but viewing it, I am mesmerized. As someone unfamiliar with the history and cultural situatedness thereof, I lean towards it being art. The video I watched just now of it reminds me of the lead singer frontman of the band Tool, Maynard James Keenan. In his older live performances, he danced in a very similar style. I wonder if he might have been inspired by Butoh dance.

But do we as spectators need to know the history or the creation process behind a certain style or an art piece to understand it?

This is a very thoughtful question. Like you said, leaning toward a "maybe no", and with the addition of making one feel uncomfortable, etc., it all depends right. In the end, art cannot really be bound by rules. But I am reminded of a quote by a philosopher, William Marx in The Hatred of Literature, writing about literature that does not shock one:

"To refuse literature the right to shock, provoke, and make people uncomfortable is to impose upon it the constantly redefined duty of offering readers only what they expect—what they can accept, understand, and absorb. It is to refuse the power of reading to confront us with alterity. It is to demand that literature propose only sameness, that is to say something with which readers can wholly, blindly identify, without calling on their critical and hermeneutic faculties. It is to turn every reader into an eternal minor."

I think that quote can be relevant to all art as well. And I think Butoh dance also fits in this. It immediately makes one uncomfortable if you are not familiar with it. I am not sure if this is a legit and authentic version of it, but it is one of the first when I google it:

Again, irrespective of cultural and historical significance, this dance reminds me of performance art, I struggle to fit it into any predefined notions of art, it makes me feel uncomfortable, it challenges me, it makes me think differently, etc.

Sorry for the already too long comment!

I am so glad that the review got chosen and that you find it well!