Am I a Disaster? Day 1 Learning to Draw

in Sketchbook2 years ago

I wanted to assist to drawing class for a long time ago but the main reason that kept me away was the distance from the art school and my home. I must say I tried to learn and draw on my own in the past years but always ended up failing because of frustration and feeling lost.

However, my company’s office moved to a new place and casually there is an art academy at 3 minutes walking. So, I took the chance and booked a class once a week.

First Contact with Better Human Beings Than Me at Drawing

At first, I had some doubts about things like the quality of education, if the people there were friendly, or if they can fit my needs. But after taking the first class all my questions were answered. The teacher was very friendly and he seems to have a lot of experience on the topic, not only in drawing but as a professional also. He asked me about my needs and objectives for the future, so I told him that I would like to focus on digital art and that I love futuristic sci-fi themes.

Then, I told him about the cyberpunk theme but he didn’t know it. As a good example of the cyberpunk theme, I mentioned the movie Blade Runner, the first one in the series. He got the point straightforwardly.

After that, he gave me a couple of tips which consist of investigating who was the artist behind the movie and taking a look at all his work. And the other one is to watch Blade Runner again but this time keeping an eye on the scenarios, props, letters, and more. I think he wants me to develop a more curious mind.

A Free Know Myself Session

In the second part of the class, he wanted to know my drawing skill or level. I had to select my skill level on a graph from 0 to 100. I did say 0.1, therefore he asked me one question “what’s the size between an eye and the other eye?” Well, do you remember the bridge scene in the Monty Piton movie about King Arthur? I went straight to the bottom of the pit because he gave me a -40.

The next thing I had to do was to draw a face. It went better than expected to be honest but it was very big and disproportional. And when I say “better than expected” I mean it didn’t look like a face drawn by a 5 years old kid.

photo_2022-04-08_14-47-53.jpg
I call this piece of art "the egghead"

The class finished there and he gave me his feedback which probably wasn’t too important because I don’t remember what he said. Also, he gave me some homework for the rest of the week. I have to draw the same face but with a rule and in 3 different perspectives, and if I have time, add shadows. It seems I have to practice dealing with frustration too.

Pretty abnormal for a first-class, you could think about starting from chapter 1 of some boring book and learn the theory first, but he wanted to go straight to the point and give me the theory after. Let’s see how it continues.

Subscribe to follow my journey and keep track of my frustration and progress!

Sort:  

Loved your post man! So glad to follow your journey! Keep it up and looking forward to watching you grow. 😁

Glad you like it :) I'll post weekly about my progress.

Thanks for following me!