Day 2 Learning to Draw: Let the Frustration In

in Sketchbook2 years ago

Day 2 Learning to Draw: Let the Frustration Get In

Today is the day where it all begins. My teacher told me it would be a difficult path and that I have to overcome the frustration period to achieve something worthy. On this day, I will try to draw the face from my previous post from 3 different perspectives using a ruler.

At first, I thought it would be easy because of the ruler because measuring the lines should be something really easy, right? Well, it seems I was very far from reality.

The frustration quicked in pretty early and I didn’t draw the first line, and that was the problem. I was lost about how to draw the first line because it was the pilar where the rest of the lines would spread out like branches in a trunk, it was very important to make it perfect.

I thought about different solutions and the most comfortable one was to draw a straight vertical line. This line would fill the support role and it will get erased later, therefore now I can imagine the angles of the different lines.

photo1649761371 (1).jpeg
First face in the series

The more I was advanced in my drawing, the more lost and confused I was. The brain tends to complete missing information by inventing fake data or within the imagination. So, it was very weird looking at my unfinished face because in some areas lines seemed longer than in others, also, closed areas felt bigger or smaller compared with the original face.

But I continued drawing my first face and after 3 hours of work, it was finished. It was a lot of time for a very simple job but maybe it wasn’t so simple. Once the face was completed and all the lines closed then the magic happened and the face looked like a face. It wasn’t perfect but I was happy with the result. I could sleep that night and try again the next day.

The next day, after work, I started to draw the second face. The difference between this one and the first one it will be on the symmetry, while the first face was symmetrical this one wasn’t. If you didn’t read my previous post, you should know I didn’t get any drawing theory. So, that was some next-level shit but I could handle the pressure thanks to my best friend the ruler.

photo1649761371 (2).jpeg
Second face in the series

I won’t stop here too much but it was slightly easier, I think that’s what we call experience. this time I started from the eyes and instead of drawing “support lines” I looked for already straight lines. However, I couldn’t stop thinking about not knowing what I was doing or overcoming the ‘lost’ feeling.

Finally, I drew the third and last face. At this one, I stopped thinking about manually calculating perfect angles with the ruler and calculate them by using my eye by comparing the lines with the others, or where the line should stop or pass through. This time was the easier and quickest one.

After drawing the 3 faces I had to add shadows but I considered not doing that because first, I didn’t want to mess up the current drawings, and second, I didn’t have more time to draw additional faces.

Tomorrow is my second class, I want to know what my teacher will say when he sees my final result. Also, I have a lot of questions and doubts to ask him.

photo1649761371.jpeg
Third face in the series

Remember to vote, write a comment and subscribe if you like my content, thank you very much, see you next time! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @jmsansan.leo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!