My Life in Palette: On Devastating Days - Something to Cheer Me Up

in Sketchbook โ€ข 2 years ago (edited)

So this is me cheering up myself.

IMG_20220906_220613.jpg

Today, I cannot describe in words how I was so devastated. I accidentally deleted all my important files in the office and there was no way to recover them from the recycle bin. I don't know what the heck did just happen because 100-GB files did not give notification on my desktop that it was deleting (if ever I accidentally click the delete tab) and it was too late when I found out it was all gone in the blink of an eye. At first, I was speechless, the unlucky twist of fate was still loading in my brain until it finally sank in that it was happening, ALL FILES VANISHED and then my level of frustration skyrocketed.

I immediately contacted our IT Department and eventually they recovered all the files, but unfortunately, all recovered files were corrupted. I was like "Oh No! It's my whole life here in the office" and my heart was really heavy.

Sigh!

It's very depressing. My friends were also very sad when I told them what happened and feel very sorry that there was nothing they can do about it.

This painting, I painted last week was supposed to be given to a friend. It's painted on a tote bag (as what I've always loved doing recently) with the cherry design. I painted this because my pure intention was it's supposed to cheer her up whenever she encounters bad days, but ironically ended up that it was for me to cheer me up on this very devastating day.

IMG_20220908_202655.jpg

I paused for a moment and stare at the picture I took with the unfinished painting. Maybe it's the message I want to convince myself that it's just a bad phase I am going through right now, and this too shall pass. There is nothing I can do about it and there's no use crying over spilled milk I have to accept it and move on.

IMG_20220908_202546.jpg

"Padayon"

It means keep going. These complete images of red heart-shaped cherries would have not been completed if I did not continue painting. Without me knowing then, it's now telling me a loud message of comforting words "Ohh come on dear, cheer up!"

But of course, I'd be a fool if I tell you that just merely looking at this bag will take away, in the blink of an eye (just like what happened to all my deleted files), will perish all the depression that I am feeling right now.

I need someone. Someone who will tell me that everything will eventually be alright and her words have sought solace with my broken heart. Their comforting words have consoled me from weeping. That it is JUST A BAD DAY, NOT A BAD LIFE. And then I came to realize that they are indeed right. It's not everything there is under the sun and there's more to life than this. There's more in life I should be thankful for, rather than complain about. My sincere thanks to @bluepark and @zayan12, your words have been like this painting, living up to its name, it's cheery---ing me up. You have no idea how much it means to me.

IMG_20220908_202621.jpg

I am still in a state of sadness and hopelessly wish for some magics to click "undo" command of what has just happened and "control-alt-delete" this devastation I am having right now. But no matter how I pretend to escape reality, the bitter fact is "scrolling up and down" telling me that it's for real, my files were lost forever.

So what this devastating day has taught me?! As my knees were shaken and weakened by enormous stress, well, it has taught me a very important thing, that...

...if you cannot change the situation, change the way you think.

And I guess, it is God's way of gently reminding me that not all battles are won by standing strong, some fights are mostly won by kneeling. ๐Ÿ™

IMG_20220908_214039.jpg

Later this afternoon, in the middle of my devastating day, a friend handed me this milk tea. And I smiled when I saw what was written on its cup. Maybe it is God's sweet way of cheering me up.

For now, slowly, I am starting to pick myself up, clinging to hope of the the 10 % of the files that were left (from which I gather sources from some of my colleagues) and the 90 % from being optimistic that some 'miracle' will happen. Though everything is drenched in blurry hope, I know everything will eventually be alright.

And here's to those who are feeling exactly like what I am feeling right now...

My friends, cheer up! ALL IS WELL๐Ÿ’

Sort: ย 

but that totally sucked! sorry for that.

i guess your computer just felt like u didn't really need those files.. it was weighing the hard drive down.

I like to keep stuff online nowadays via discord or google docs, etc. that way its just saves it as soon as i put it there. or even i upload docs and stuff to online storage..

keep going! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿค™ LABAN!

Awwww thank you for this @chinito ๐Ÿฅบ

i guess your computer just felt like u didn't really need those files.. it was weighing the hard drive down.

It helps me look on the brighter side of things. Though for now I am still so devastated but surely I'm being optimistic that I will eventually get through this phase. Salamat โ˜บ๏ธ

๐Ÿค™๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒบ๐ŸŒบ๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™€๏ธ uh huh!! :P

Oh, I felt sad too. Making files all over again takes so much time. What did your boss react on it is @labanez?

I just hope that everything will be okay very soon.

Anyway, you're good in painting. Keep it up.

Ayun nga sis @jenthoughts , di ko alam ano gagawin ๐Ÿฅบ
Pero I'm wishing - hoping - praying na magiging ok din ang lahat. ๐Ÿฅบ๐Ÿ™
Thank you so much, your comforting words means a lot. โค๏ธ

Oh, Sis, I know how frustrating and annoying it is to lose something important all of a sudden but, you will be fine, you need to cheer up and don't let that pull you down.

Yeah sis @balikis95 , I won't let it pull me down. Thank you so much ๐Ÿฅฐ

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

Heheh sure na? Nakacomfort ko. Mura man ug nakasamot nuon sa imong sadness. ๐Ÿ˜

Oo kaayo ren uyy, samot kog ka depress kung dili ko ka share nimu ๐Ÿฅบ. Thank you โค๏ธ

I feel you๐Ÿ˜ฉ. It's good that you have a hobby that can make your day great again. It is really important to stay positive amidst problems that we encounter in our life.

Yeah, it's my 'happy pill' and I'm happy I can all put into painting all the feelings I am having especially during this very depressing times ๐Ÿฅบ.
Thank you so much @sabukidblog โค๏ธPadayon lang jud ta ani! Kaya ra lagi ni nato!

I so love โ€œPadayonโ€ . You know what I have a shirt printed on it. Itโ€™s color black. I wish I could give you one.

Bitaw, I also love this word "padayon", woahhh I would love to have one @pinkchic , thank you my friend. Amping kanunay ha โค๏ธ

Tita, you are so talented ๐Ÿ˜