Explorative digital art

in Sketchbook2 years ago

I've had an exciting day with my drawing pad as I put into practice all the concepts that Ive always wanted to explore digitally.

I'll share and explain what I learnt. I'll start with the last painting I did today.

img_0.06655894965089482.jpg

I'd been feeling dissatisfied with my blurred out lines and I wanted something solid, so that's what I did. I barely blended and used my digital brush in the designers section of sketchbook and I realized this brush actually helps with getting the glossy look I want. I've watched so many tutorials on painting and i really don't think using an airbrush is for me. It just looks awful. I also believe strongly now that getting a really pretty sketch and subject is crucial. If your subject is uninteresting, your painting will look uninspiring.

The following pieces were my own concept ideas after taking some classes by 'the artmother' on skillshare. I learnt about the rule of thirds and composition to make your painting more appealing. The female character was my concept design for a witch and I couldn't decide on which one I liked best.

img_0.26397361172520917.jpg

img_0.08607310351384712.jpg

img_0.40679259501190834.jpg

img_0.8472407129499345.jpg

And finally, a real favorite is this one after taking a class by Tom Faroese on painting oddly shaped bodies. I really really enjoyed his style and tips and I've been dying to draw like this but I never seemed to get it right. He explained how to exaggerate bodies by drawing them into random shapes which acted like frames and for one of the class projects, he asked us to draw an exaggerated object(really small or large) as well as a person interacting with it. Here's my submission

img_0.5299683447436631.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Enhorabuena. Has recibido apoyo
The Creative Coin Fund.
Únete al servidor de Creative Coin y comparte tus publicaciones.

Congratulations. You have received support from
The Creative Coin Fund.
Join the Creative Coin server and share your posts.

Selección manual de @mazquel


Image by barbara-orenya