The cobalt blue Lady (oil on paper)

in Sketchbook4 years ago

Happy Monday to you all! The Autumnal season is started and here the sky is full of clouds. The weather is still warm, but I love to breath a bit of fresh air in the night after a very toasty time. ^_^

Yesterday I finished to read an interesting book about Johanna van Gogh-Bonger who was the sister in law of the famous painter Vincent Van Gogh (she was the wife of his father Theo). Johanna had a very important role in the growth of the fame of the painter and in the book I read there are part of her diary and part of the letter Vincent sent to her brother. I think everyone know about the works and the life of Vincent Van Gogh, but it was really interesting to know more about this woman who was a very strong woman! You can read more about Johanna here.

Inspired by all the words I read about the art of Van Gogh and about the colors he used in his paintings, I decided to paint something new using the cobalt blue:

DSCN0121.JPG

I didn't want to be inspired by the subjects or the way to paint of Van Gogh, I just wanted to try the power of the cobalt color and so I painted one of my Ladies using that color as background.

I took some pics during the process to share with you:

DSCN0115.JPG

DSCN0116.JPG

DSCN0118.JPG

DSCN0119.JPG

I hope you like it!

See ya soon and stay safe,
Silvia



***If you like my artworks, you can find them on my online shops on
Artfinder ( https://www.artfinder.com/silviabeneforti#/) and on Etsy (https://www.etsy.com/shop/vumap). ^_^ ****

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 30/40)

Grazie mille 🙂

Prego è un piacere
Mi piace molto il tuo stile e i tuoi lavori ;)
!BEER

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

Share on twitter #posh :

As always, your artwork is nothing short of wonderful! That blue backdrop works perfectly for the portrait, simply beautiful 💙