Celebrating Hive's 1st Birthday

in Sketchbook3 years ago




Good day! First of all, I want to congratulate Hive for reaching one year! I had a really nice experience staying in this platform that's why after a year, I am still here. Of course, thanks a lot because people here appreciated my art. So to celebrate Hive's milestone, I decided to make a drawing. This is an account for my drawings after all. You can visit my post, "Happy First Anniversary, Hive!", if you want to read my experience and opinion about Hive after being here for a year.




HAPPY 1ST BIRTHDAY, HIVE!




hive 2021_9.jpg


It took me quite a while to think of what to draw for Hive's first anniversary. So many ideas juggling in my mind but in the end, the drawing you can see above is what I've decided to draw.

Rather than drawing a random character, I've chosen to draw myself or my avatar, to represent my journey and view towards Hive after a year of being on this decentralized platform.

As you can see, Straykat/Takyarts is holding a party popper expressing her joy towards Hive. She may not be smiling that much but trust me, she is very much happy. Hive has really been a great place for me to share my drawings to diverse people and so I'm thankful for this platform and the art community.


hive 2021_11_1.jpg


The clothes she wears are inspired from the Eldian warrior uniform from the anime Attack on Titan. I'm currently into this show and so getting inspired by it is unavoidable. I changed some design and colors on the coat and I also added the armband which I changed from the Eldian warrior logo into Hive logo. If you saw my previous avatar I am using before (the one with purple background) you'll surely see a difference between that and my current avatar. I made some changes on the hair and especially with the eyes. I think people see it more cute than my previous one when I uploaded it on other social media sites.

Going to my avatar's body position, in my mind, I was aiming for her to pose like she was floating in the air. Like those cute shoujo and kawaii drawings but the she ended up like she was just spreading her legs. And her left leg look awkward. Lol. I have to improve more!

On the background, I drew a honey dripping representing the sweet success of Hive throughout the year. Took me quite a while to achieve a decent look of a honey dripping but I'm satisfied with how it turned out after the second try.




DRAWING PROCESS




I enjoyed creating this art and doing the line art for this piece was quite easy because I only drew broken lines with thin pencil then colored it with the color pencil pen, just the stock pens on Clip Studio Paint. I am still on the journey of finding what style I want and I'm happy these pens are giving me my desired effect of soft-looking art.


hive-2021_1.gif


I don't always draw my avatar and so I'm happy to have this opportunity to draw her especially for the Hive celebration.



Happy 1st Birthday, Hive! ❤️

Wishing you all the best! :)