Encouraging Engagement on Hive

in OCD4 years ago

Yesterday, over 2000 unique users made a comment on HIVE, and there were almost 13000 of these comments in all, totaling over 3,000,000 characters of text.

Is that good considering Hive has only been around for just over a month? It would be good if we had some data to compare against......


The data is been pulled from the Hive chain (@hivesql) and Steem chain (@steemsql) and covers 27-MAR 00:00:00 to 27-APR 00:00:00.

image.png

Almost from Hive day one, the number of comments (posts with a depth > 0) have been higher on Hive than Steem. There were a couple of days where this wasn't the case, but I'm going to put that down to 'we have moved' messages, which were likely automated and posted on mass.

Yesterday, over twice as many comments landed on the Hive chain compared to Steem. Nice!


image.png

In the past month, there has not been a single day where the unique commentators on Hive have been fewer than on Steem. And yesterday, there were over 800 more comment authors on Hive than there were on Steem, over 70%.


As an aside, I'd like to take a look at the power-up/down data on both chains at some point, but that can wait for another time.


So, the above looks good right? I guess so, if we are only comparing Hive to a chain that looks to be on the way out as far as users and engagement goes. Personally, and I hope you agree, we should be aiming much higher and looking to capture audiences from other networks.

Time will tell I guess, but one initiative now in place on Hive is a drive to reward commentators (consumers) of top level content. It is true that consumers can be rewarded in Hive Power, just by 'liking' a post, but what really helps make content sparkle is a solid set of commentary underneath - these people, if writing meaningful and engaging comments, deserve to be rewarded too.

Be POSH, Engage and help Hive Thrive

The point of this challenge is to increase organic interaction on high quality posts and for that the reward vote mindset also needs to change, that is exactly why @blocktrades, @theycallmedan, @threespeak and @ocdb are going to dedicate a % of out voting power to reward engagement on some posts every day.

In case you weren't aware, there is some serious stake behind these accounts, and they will be looking out for those writing meaningful and engaging comments, as well as the posts that happen drive these actions.

I encourage you, especially those appearing week after week in my Engagement League, to take a look at the announcement post for further details.


Even though we have moved chains, I still think the concept of commentating on the posts of others is a great way to grow your audience. And if an authors post has been shared on Twitter, it is likely that there will be people looking at Hive content for the first time - with your wonderful comment at the top of an interesting piece of content.

Good luck,

Asher

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

We all like high post rewards but (and I think I've said this before) the comments and interaction on my posts actually, motivate me to make em more often (except during busy workschedules). To me the rewards are just bonus.
Let's find out how this evolves.

Yeah for sure, and some comedy (planned or accidental) always helps. That guy today on your video, he needs to chill or his heart is going to pop!

I had the impression too that he was a bit upset.

Seemed a touch disgruntled for sure, and actually with fair reason I think. Still worried about his ticker though.

i think you might be able to correlate some of that up tick in the number of comments with the up tick in the Hive price as people hive-fived each other. I know I made a few more comments.

But, it is good to see the baseline higher here on Hive. I would agree it would nice to see it higher. According to @penguinpablo's daily hive stats we're averaging under 2ish comments a post. It would be nice to see more engagement per post. Let's grow the gap.

Quote “ Even though we have moved chains, I still think the concept of commentating on the posts of others is a great way to grow your audience. And if an authors post has been shared on Twitter, it is likely that there will be people looking at Hive content for the first time - with your wonderful comment at the top of an interesting piece of content.” But even without twitter reading good and informative blogs is in these days better than reading a book. The interaction from all over the world is what it has done on steem and now on hive, and i gained a lot of friends
Britt

Yep, the longer you stay, the more involved with people's lives you are :)

You are the best at making friends and making people feel welcome here @brittandjosie. You inspire me! ❤️

I will say this again, as I have said many times before: You can build a web site with content, but it takes engagement to build a COMMUNITY.

And what "sells," in terms of attracting new users, is having a vibrant community. I appreciate the Engagement League, and I'd like to think we can get from the current 300-400 making a blip each week to somewhere in excess of 1,000 users a week. They would be the backbone of Hive... I also hope old initiatives like "Newbie Re-Steem Day" can be reborn on Hive to make our newcomers feel like they just got involved with a friendly place.

I do believe we have a bright future ahead... BUT it's up to US to create that bright future. There is no "them" who's gonna make it happen...

And a community of communities, as the user-base grows.

Newbie resteem day was a fine initiative, is something similar not active at present with @heyhaveyamet? (Could be wrong on the account name there)

I do think many were waiting for Steemit Inc to push the project, but are understanding that it has to be on us - a good thing.

@abh12345 Nope the name is correct , we introduce everyday, open to both chains so people have options. @denmarkguy we also have the #redfishrally starting again in 3 days. And the discord theterminal for all the help that's needed for all the new expletive on board or the more established ones that just want to help, so you are welcome to help. In what ever way, just contact @thekittygirl or me please.

As for engagement @abh12345 i will try, i think its so great that @melinda010100 and @dswigle are back so we might just want to take it back 8 months and go back to the time that the chair for our old friend at NUMBER 1 was all we were thinking about to beat him, and the times that i was much higher than number 17

Stay safe

Glad to hear! I will try to check on the intro feed as much as possible. Is there an account that re-hives the best of new users posts?

... I think its so great that @melinda010100 and @dswigle are back

Same! The numbers are likely to improve right away :D

Yes the @heyhaveyamet is, me and @jamerussell do the hive and the steem intros, without the oneliners and the appics ones , and we have the blog up everyday, some days there arent any so thats when we skip but yes both chains, and the redfishrally from @theterminal ( former @steemterminal ) is starting again, and the redfish get challenges and help, prizes and whatever tokens we have ,
Busy but very rewarding

And that those two ladies are back, yep will make a huge difference

I hope to help boost it and I will talk to JJ. :) and Johann. What about @janton? He needs to tie up the first chair there!

Oh, let's get this party rolling!

!tip

So, you want to talk to me, dear Denise? ... too late ;)

To be honest, I've really enjoyed the silence in the past months, but I was also missing something somehow - so, let's boost the numbers, as @melinda010100 says, but don't expect too much.

Asher @abh12345, if you don't mind, please add me to the EL list again ✍️

Maybe you can get @janton back too :)


!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness

🎁 Hi @brittandjosie! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Darkness And My Soul Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

And since they both asked me nicely, I to will by this message ask to rejoin the league, and also will sponsor number 16 again from this week if that's OK ;)

I hope I can give the numbers a bit of a boost @brittandjosie! It would be fun to see more of the old EL crowd joining in for a while to boost the Hive numbers a bit while we are all spending more time at home!
Who else do we need to come back? @tattoodjay? @johannpiber? Let's all give the EL numbers a boost!

lets get the old crowd together i am coming back, but not as active as I used to be

Oh good! Thank you. Together we can be a force for good on Hive! 💪

we can do what we can do :)

YAY COMMENTS!!! Here's one to add to the list!

Wow That's impressive

At the start, the Hive should encourage the new joiners or low-rank users so that they can be more engaged in HIVE.

How good is that!!! Confirms we did the rightie. Xx

I would say Very Good! Especially considering we have people still doing bits on the other chain as they power down.

I was thinking exactly this.

Not exactly.
Just confirms that we did what an increasing majority does.

This may be right, but also fatally wrong (in general and other situations).

Ps I read fast.. I know you posted this like a minute ago. Uber reading skillz. Hope you are awesome xx

The pictures are there to slow you down as well :P

Thank you, same to you!

Can see a bit of an uptick in the last few days :)

Pretty incredible there are so few unique comment authors - I thought there'd be way more than 2000 a day.

Funny that, isn't it? :D

Yeah, 2000 is nice for starters, although one could argue Hive didn't start with 0 bee's. I'm confident numbers will grow, especially if accounts are looking out for solid commentary.

That's a nice little uptick in Hive posting in the last few days, but surely that's just people getting excited about the price increase?!?

Slow but steady start I guess, I imagine more users when the dust settles from the fork/

I love these comparison type posts.

I would suggest there is a strong correlation to the 'uptick' in price :)

I love these comparison type posts.

I've pondered about doing them for a few weeks now, not sure if people want to see comparisons to the old, and so cheers for the thumbs up :)

Interesting evolution! What a journey is this

Nice to see isn't it, from this side of the fence anyway :)

Truly, this #posh initiative has a way of building organic engagement and more contents would be created here on hive. Amazing statistics.

There have been a could of similar efforts over the years, but this one comes with a mass of HP. Good luck!

What was on april 5?

On Steem? Probably a major 'recruitment drive'. I didn't check :)

Lol they can't handle more than 1 day of work under new leadership?

Witnesses froze all those wallets right after day 1's post
Day 2 is responding to the frozen wallets

2000 sounds still way too low and we need loads more. When you say unique that doesn't include any alt accounts or can't you really check that?

Yeah it's every account, impossible to know which are alts. I rarely comment on my alts, but I know some with many personalities :)

I thought the 12345 was how many accounts you had. Jokes aside I don't think many comment with their alts and are there only for curation purposes.

:D

Yeah that's the case for me, with the occasional sports post and a monsters post - not much engagement with them though.

Look at me, I'm one of the 6000!

Actually I'd say this is great. Hope we crack 10k average soon.

Pat on the back for you sir. I think 10k a day is a reasonable target for starters.

Thank you to sir!
I think we have passed it on some days according to charts, but it is difficult to know if these remove auto comments or others that essentially lack any BOP.
I don't think we can call this project successful until we get to 100k or 1million a day. I hope I see it happen.

I lack BOP in the mornings....

Some big numbers knocking around there, I can't imagine content navigation if that were the case.

Still think the blockchain will find success in other ways than purely content, unless there are hundreds of SMT pools to distribute.

We all lack BOP at times. I often just read and vote in the morning...or just vote.

I think if there were 100k comments we would be good, as for posts, I would like to see a huge quality boost if this were the case, I could also see a lot more niche communities coming up. Curation would be a challenge but we do have delegations, too.

I've also thought a lot about how SMT pools and proposals could be used to distribute inflation in a more sensible way if that happened. We got a bit of a taste with Steem-engine, but managing that was another chore in the end. Maybe, the new tip feature in PeakD will be helpful, especially if SMT can be tipped.

Communities powered by HP and issuing tokens sounds like the way to go - curation would be more manageable for interested parties.

It is a bit of a chore to curate with 10+ accounts, In future, I'd rather delegate the tokens off for a small return as with curangel.

great, i know we're building a good ecosystem, every one of us experiencing this at the 100% of the capacities!

It feels like Hive is in a much better place than the other place was for years, I have good hopes!

Even though we have moved chains, I still think the concept of commentating on the posts of others is a great way to grow your audience.

yeah almost all engagement on my posts is by me guilt tripping people to comment :D

haha :D

Hey, if it works?!

not on the big scale, but a comment now and then, what more could i ask for? :D

it is nice to see the stats look good. also some spikes in comments on steem were in a period of freezing those 8 accounts.

First, can we take these two plots and put it on every Twitter page?

Second, here’s the bad news, I think it is positively correlated with price, the last bit where the curves diverge :)

You can use them as you wish :) That reminds me, I should Tweet the post.

Price has always influenced activity, and I don't think we should be too ashamed to say it. Even at the lows, there were still active authors and people invested.

Definitely moving in the right direction! I can tell you from my personal experience of posting on both during the transition that I have single digit comments in total over 10 posts vs 3 digits compared to Hive. Might have to do another comparison.

Bid bots are back over there, I also heard that there have been 15 hours worth of blocks being missed on steem compare to Hive since it began! Just hope JS keeps the price pumped up as we're all checking out!

I did see your comparisons post, things are starting to look rather bleak over there. Bid-bots, and possibility soon no down votes, sounds like a disaster.

A few more months to go for me, keep buying JS!

Yeah I imagine it will be "Tronitised" (probably traumatised as well!) after the whole 100 days of Steemit thing that's going on. Although with previous things that have gone on,it's probably a smoke screen for something else going on. Heard rumours of another soft fork about freezing more accounts? Can't confirm that.

10 more powerdowns... Although I am still picking up steem from curation rewards and posting (still want to get to rep 70 over there, just to say I did it), going to be a long wait haha!

100 days of not a lot from what I've seen so far. I also read (with the help of a translator) about the threats to freeze more accounts, really poor form there.

So far my weekly power-down has arrived at poor times with regards to STEEM price, I'm holding some of this weeks to see if JS is going to press the pump button :)

Sounds promising! 😍 Thank you for putting those data to us. It's understandable! 😍

Ahh, thank you! Glad it was clear!

Just one month and Hive have proven to be something to watch out for. Good luck to all of us on Hive.

I don't think anyone could have foreseen the start Hive has had - we have many to thank for their tireless work behind the scenes.

It truly is amazing what has transpired in such a short time since Hive was born.

As you do, I think that commenting on some one else post helps create an audience. Of course, that helps get some votes and some rewards, but the important is really create some kind of interaction with the creators and hopefully they will vote our post.

Have a great day and greetings from Mexico.

I'm glad you think the same :) Thanks for the comment and enjoy your day too!

I love this. I've been a fan of comment voting for a long time.
Glad to see it finally getting some traction. I remember 3 years ago, getting $12 in upvotes from a single comment. Mind-blowing.

Good stuff. The spammer/farmer reduction fork really hit comment voting which likely reduced engagement a little, although reports at the time weren't clear and price probably had a say too.

$12, nice! We'll see if this year that can be toppled by the powerhouses involved.

A post about power up and power down would be appreciated.
#steem is on the verge on liquidation per se.
#hive is moving up.

Cheers, I will have a look soon then. Same as you, my guess would be an exodus over there and more funds moving to Hive.

Interesting stats. I'm not much of an informed hive-user I'm afraid, however I've always maintained that engagement is one of the ways we can drive it. I don't mean people just commenting on their friends either...I mean people engaging with new people and other's they may not always engage with.

A great way to track that is with your EL as it shows not only the number of comments, but how many different users have been commented upon and with how many characters. Those stats are often quite interesting to compare between the different accounts in the EL.

Anyway, enough said as I don't really know what I'm talking about. Lol.

Yeah, I don't need to tell the EL champ how to suck eggs, keep on doing what you are doing :)

I'm guilty of not visiting enough new/different people each week, but think I'm doing a bit better of late.

I force myself to do it to be honest...I mean I remember when I was new and how awesome it felt to get a comment on a post. This, considering I had the benefit of @tarazkp helping guide me along...I can only imagine what it must be like for new people who know nobody. I guess I'm learning considering my alt account get's almost zero engagement - Another motivator to try and reach out a little more knowing that it must mean a great deal. I've never met anyone who isn't grateful although a few who send back a cursory thanks...OK, I' just move on to the next.

Anyway, I'm not sure I'm a champ of EL...Although could win a world title in covid-19 snack eating I'm sure! Lol. Seriously, lockdown is a great chance to find and engage with some new people. I'm making the most of it.

I'm no expert at anything and certainly don't judge what others do, or don't do, but engagement is such an important thing here.

Are you engaging into a bag of crisps right now? :)

The alt account is a good reminder that it takes time, perhaps forever, to gain a steady audience. How much commentating elsewhere do you do with that account though?

If only...Actually Faith has a frozen pizza in the oven...Yep, livin' large man! The high life...Dr Oetker frozen pizza.

Ah ha! EXACTLY! Almost literally no engagement on that alt. (On purpose for the moment as I don't have the time. You know how much I engage as it is.) I'm actually writing about it now. A post for tonight. A passive rant reminder about engagement and was going to mention my own alt and just that very point.

Let's name the brand after a Dr, they'll think the pizza is healthy?!

If you could just magic 2/3 more hours into the day to run another, more engaging alt, and see how it fares against the other... :)

Yeah, good old Dr. Oetker...It must be good for me if a Dr. has his name on it. He was probably a proctologist! Lol.

Oh yeah, I work 25 hours a day now...What's another 3.

You know, a few days ago I made about few comments, three or four, and gained a couple followers there...It's pretty easy and why more don't do it is beyond me.

Go have a look at the last post I did a couple hours ago there...You know who again. Lol.

😁

😁

A good start, can we keep the momentum?!

With hive-engine out, will ENGAGE tokens make a comeback?

Hopefully yes. I've moved the token to Hive-Engine and am now waiting for a coder to magically appear who can issue them as before.

Sweet charts and stats. We are definitely in the right place. :) I am going to learn me some @hivesql.

Cheers :)

I would say SQL is one of the easier languages, and there are a wealth of resources online.

Any questions on the data structure let me know and I'll try to help.

Cool, thanks! Is there some documentation to look at for the data structure?

I have not seen any but could be wrong. Check @steemsql's feed - the original project (and almost identical data structure).

'Fortunately' it's not heavily normalized, most tables can be used stand alone.

Cool I'll check that out. Thanks again!

We (Hivers) - the Best. Go write, go, go ...

Absolutely - hopefully the charts masked this content from being an announcement of an announcement!

I guess people here on HIVE loves to engage more than the other chain

People say the community moved and these numbers seem to suggest this is the case :)

Could you add me to the EL list? I would like to be part of the Engagement effort on Hive.

Of course :D Welcome back!

I certainly have plenty of time for commenting during these staying safe at home days! 😁

Lucky we have somewhere to pass the time :) See you in the top 10 this coming Sunday, I will be there too! :P

I hope we can get more of the old EL Champs to join in and give our Hive numbers a boost!

Activity was and still is related to price simple as that.

Very closely correlated for sure.

What would be a stable HIVE price to attract 50,000 unique commentators each week?

$1 probably

Very Nice!
twomad_dance.gif

Reminds me I need to hit the gym :)

For what it's worth, there's more interest in peakd than steempeak. Both are pretty low though search interest though.

https://trends.google.com/trends/explore?q=peakd,steempeak

It's hard to measure search interest for Hive sadly, as it's such a common word.

Neither are the sort of words you'd put into a search to find social media/crypto/blogging/etc, for now :)

True, but what would you? "Hive" will give mostly false positives. Even "Hive Blockchain" is a major source of false positives.

Definately some false positives knocking around for Hive, check this out at 11 minutes: https://peakd.com/austinsteinbartisq/@austinsteinbart/is-this-america

We really should aim high. I think there must be a point where we lose the baggage of steem or the baggage will come to define us.

That's not a jibe at your comparison posts. It's more the incessant. We hate steem/we hate Justin/we're better than you posts/comments I see a lot of.

Granted a lot of that is on Twitter now too which I worry makes us look like a loopy cult to outsiders :0)

Yeah, and a reason why I've held off doing comparisons - we should be looking up!

It's hard not to stick the odd boot in, but hopefully that will stop once folks have their tokens where they want them.

No need for Twitter to tell me that both places have a fair share of fruit loops :D

I like the odd boot sticking!! I am doing to see how the tokens good up after the next 9 weeks or so? You know when the power downs are done? I am going that Hive will have had enough of a jump start not to miss the buying pressure of steem conversions.

It will be nice either way when it's all over! Your comparisons are good as they are factual. Get them done!

The only way is up! I think that was Yazz that said that. Lol!

I'm thinking most will be out in 7/8/9 weeks time, but there is a fair amount of locked STEEM which will hopefully be set free (and most likely dumped) at some point.

Cheers, I'll probably do a few more comparisons at some point, and then leave the Steemi story behind while we get our Yazz on :)

I agree. Engagement has been high since I first signed up. Being a newbie on Steem before Hive, I was a little discouraged with what happened since I just got onboard, but now I am happy with what's happening and hopeful for the future. Hope everything goes well. Thanks, Asher @abh12345. This is indeed an encouraging post. Keep it up and stay safe. :)

I'm am glad to hear you are feeling better about things. I saw your latest post and thought it was a nice read - hopefully engaging around the subject can get you some more visitors.

Take care :)

Thanks for checking out my latest post, the first one I put up on Hive. I'm still finding my way around and searching for a voice and an audience so, yeah, thanks for the advice. Keep safe.

No problem.

I think the best route for a new starter is to make many solid comments on the posts of others that relate to your own areas of interest.

Good luck, enjoy, and keep safe too.

This is solid advice. Thanks, man! I will follow your suggestion. :)

I didn't think I'd survive blockchain long enough to see the community finding each other again. This is profound. Emotional even for those who chose to stay!

I thought it was starting to happen on Steem towards the end. There was a core group, not concerned about price, plugging away. Hive has offered a fresh start though and new motivation, I hope it lasts :)

Taraz was positive it would too. He's one who has been consistent all through and among the reasons why I stayed. I hope it lasts too :)

He will be happy to read this :D

I hope he does :)

well, its good to see that there is that difference with Steem. It does seem that the more active community has moved to hive especially in the western hemisphere...

Yep I think that's a good point, although some have made the trek from the East too.

I will engage more today by commenting this

And you do very well in the terminal aswell, this is the way we like to see you grow

It is so amazing to see the pace of growth of hive. It really is a great work done and the glory goes to wonderful geeks like you @abh12345. I am currently working on getting a lot of my health practitioners on hive to see how we can spread the hype of hive. This is a new face of blockchain and we will rise so high someday. Thanks always sir

I am currently working on getting a lot of my health practitioners on hive to see how we can spread the hype of Hive.

Nice :) I'd be interested to see some health-related video content. Good luck!

Time to be back in the business hahah

#hiveisalive!

We all somehow know the true value of the platform is not solely determined by the price of the token, but we all cannot help it. It's just stronger than us. When token price pumps, engagement goes up. I like it when Hive post get seen by more eyes and when they drive more engagement. This is the way forward, let's keep pushing on!

Hey Asher, newcomer here on Hive. Like the #posh initiative and already put the #hive tag in my twitter description where I am pretty active. Hope to get more ppl here on the REAL Steem! have a good one! 🔥🙃

This is huge, amazing

I haven't been getting mentioned in the engagement league. I think I might be doing something wrong, although I engage a fair bit of posts. 🤔

Personally, I rate my improvement/growth through the number of reactions and comments that my posts bring. I think it is the best yardstick.

This is an awesomesauce bit of information - thanks, @abh12345! I plan to refer to it at some point in the near future, when I do another post telling my WordPress blogging friends why they need to start using the newly rebranded @steempress (which @fredrikaa has been dropping hints about & should be released soon) and find a whole new audience on the interwebz!

Also, speaking of engagement, I just remembered I haven't dropped of my Hive Engagement League 🏆 prize yet... oopsies! Heading off to do that now. 😊

Thank you so much for the stats. Nothing like some good charts to show reality.

Hello @abh12345. You do an excellent job of promoting and motivating the HIVE community; for my part, yesterday I spent hours designing a nice gif format image to promote this initiative. I think it's great. If you have time, you could take a look at the HIVE image and promotional content here.

POSH-hive-miniatura.gif

Thumbnail version of the promotional image for the #POSH tag

I commented and requested in your previous publication, to be considered for your master list.

Greetings

Funky gif! 😁

I’m still working my way down the comments there but have added you to the list, welcome!

There are 2 pages
Pages