You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Special Museums in Vienna (1) // Spezielle Museen in Wien (1)

in OCD4 years ago

Dear Anna,
Finally I stop to comment. I have already enjoyed your blog several times since I first saw it. Thank you! Such fine detail, so many beautiful pieces I would never see, and you bring them close.

I'll just mention the ones that called me back for third and fourth viewing:
The ceiling in the Golden Cabinet.
The mural!
The large globe (one of the first pictured here), with the cartographer's impression of the wondrous sites that await adventurous explorers. That globe is trip back in time.
The Collection of Historic Musical Instruments. Reminds me of the movie The Red Violin. Craft and love in the creation of those instruments. Another trip back in time.
And of course, the pianos, and the harp.

There is so much. I'm happy you get to enjoy these riches. I think it must be impossible to live in Vienna and not develop an acute artistic sensibility.

With affection and admiration,
Your friend from a quiet corner of chaotic USA,
AG

Sort:  

Dear AG,
I really appreciate to live in a city where history is omnipresent and where art has such a high value.

You mentioned all the objects that are also for me among the highlights of these museums. Regarding the Golden Cabinet: The Globe Museum is located in a in a palace-like building where noblemen used to live who could afford to decorate their living rooms in a particularly splendid way. The Golden Cabinet dates back to 1700. The murals were made with the Secco technique, in which oil-gold paint was applied to the dry masonry. On the walls and ceiling figures from Greek mythology are to be seen. Here's another photo:

gold-cabinet.jpg

Golden Cabinet (Globe Museum, Vienna)

I just watched a trailer of "The Red Violin" which has obviously a reference to Vienna. In this section of the movie the orphan boy Kaspar Weiss shows his great talent on the violin. I read that the boys name "Kaspar" is probably a reference to the film "The Enigma of Kaspar Hauser" (1974) by Werner Herzog. Maybe you know these movie or the real story of foundling Kaspar Hauser.

Thanks for your comment, which, as so often before, has given me new inspiration.

I'm glad that you are in a safe, quiet place in these uncertain times.
Stay well. With great affection,
Anna

Dear Anna,
Thank you for the beautiful photo! And thank you for the introduction to Fresco Secco. I never realized there were different techniques in creating frescoes. Fascinating. I'm amazed that people can ever claimed to be bored, when, if we just open our eyes and ears, there is so much of interest in the world :)

I checked out Kasper Hauser, who is new to me. Engima, indeed. Another Werner Herzog film I will surely have to dig up and watch. Fascinating, again.

How one threat leads to another, if we only have the ambition and imagination to follow ii. Thank you for opening new possibilities for me.

With great affection,
Your New York friend,
AG