It Had to be the Passion to Save Lives or Nothing.

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

Ahh, my Doctor.. E sé ma. He said in his dialect.
Chineke gozie gi. He mumbled, as he knew I was Igbo and tried to tow on my familiar ground.
You'll never in your life, go through this ailments.


Tired, bare faced I looked on with smiles as my patient who had recovered thanked me profusely.
His case had been brought to my team just as I started my surgical rotations.

I'd barely caught a breath from the day's activities and here was an emergency knocking at almost clinic's closing time.

Will somebody rest like this?😩


IMG-20210706-WA0021.jpeg
Quickly took a photo without my facemask at the end of one of those stress filled clinic days


It was a case of infection, which had rapidly progressed to destroy tissues in the face and neck, described as necrotizing fascitis. A medical emergency.

This elderly man had presented with other systemic co-morbidities and so even though a large and important percentage of the Doctors were on strike and we couldn't manage such trivial cases, I offered to step into the shoes, whilst receiving instructions from my consultant as against referring to another facility as we couldn't get a facility that handles such cases nearby, for him.

He made my call duties hell. I wouldn't even lie or pretend it was smooth.

  • Had little funds to purchase his medications.

  • No health insurance.

  • Relatives always showed up late by his bedside, making his breakfast, brunch.

Amongst many challenges.

One time, actually, many times, I had to use the drugs saved from previous patients who had recovered, for him just so he doesn't miss his dose and for quick recovery.

A certain day, after the frustrations with non compliance, I was given the will power to discharge on that account.

It was a Friday. What would become of him on Saturday and Sunday if he's discharged as neither the clinic runs on weekends nor the Emergency unit functional due to Resident Doctors' strike?

I thought about how this could be my relative and how I wouldn't want to let them go without getting to a point of recovery.

I brought another chance to him and encouraged him to keep up with the instructions as he wasn't.
On a certain Sunday morning, I had come to continue his management; a serial debridement on the necrosed tissues, give medication and perform his jaw exercises among other treatment protocol.

On seeing me, he started shouting, Doctor, I can open my mouth well, I can talk better.
I was excited with him. His jaw physiotherapy sessions had been the hardest. Had elements of pain which bred non compliance.

One time, he told me that whenever he sees me, he sees Tiger. That was the funniest description of me I've ever heard. I quickly offered to change his doctor if he wished and he refused strongly saying he'd rather be discharged than given another doctor. He had come to become appreciative of the works I put in.

I can't even exhaust the details of what as to be done to ensure his quality of life was improved.


I saw Baba again. He looked better. He had come for post visits.
I saw the sacrifices I put in and I was glad it was all worth it.
I began to appreciate what Doctors go through to keep just one life going.
It had to be the passion to save lives or nothing because you could get frustrated, especially in my country were there are lots of improverising in health care facilities.


IMG-20210728-WA0021_1631600205478.jpg
While waiting to give midnight meds, a colleague caught me in this state and took pictures 😄


Before I left my surgical rotations, my consultant who isn't easily moved or impressed thanked me profusely and spoke highly of me. That was one of my high moments.

This is one out of the many cases.

I guess the joy of the Surgeons, Doctors generally, is seeing the results of the efforts put in, within and outside the convenience. That definitely is the drive. Not the money, because some of these patients can't even afford their treatments and the Government? They delight in owing Doctors.
Let me off mic.


As he said those prayers in his dialect, mixed with English, I appropriated it to my middle aged parents as well. I wouldn't wish that ailments to my worse enemy (if I have any).

I was glad I did something for someone who may never be able to repay me.

Gladly, Baba has gained his life back and I've gained a crown.


IMG-20210707-WA0003_1625661599680.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog 😃.


Sort:  

Nice content

Thank you.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Which country are you in currently ?

Congratulations @akubillionnaire! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.
You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.
You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 12

great content, thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading through :)

yeah, am glad I did, keep sharing great content and stay safe.

You are doing well but your post is not well formattedd...

You tried tho...

Hope you are still doing the task

I guess I am.

How do I format it properly? Applied all you taught.. could there be something I'm missing?

yes.. we will look at it together

Thank you so much.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I want to thank you for your service. Your story’s powerful because it is your own, and I’m glad you took the time to share it with us. I look forward to more from you- I wish you the rest and recognition you deserve, Doctor.

Thank you so much @thatkidsblack
This is so encouraging 🥺