Smugglers Cove of Navagio · 15 pics +

in OCD4 years ago (edited)


If you don't recognize the place shown in the photo below, then you probably haven't heard of the Greek island of Zakynthos. About ten years ago, most tours from Russia to Greece were sold using this image. If you type the word Greece in the Google search bar, then on the first page with images you will find a similar picture. Even here on Hive, there are plenty of posts on this topic... Because this is really a very famous and recognizable place in Greece.

This bay and beach called Navagioναυάγιο means shipwreck in Greek — and, as I said, this place located on Zakynthos, one of the Ionian Islands. Until 1980, this beach was called St. George's Beach, but then there was an event that began the modern history of Navagio.

According to a legend that guides tell gullible tourists, here in 1980, escaping from police pursuit, a smugglers ship called Panagiotis crashed. The criminals disappeared, the cargo of contraband was stolen by local residents... The real story is quite prosaic — Panagiotis was returning from Albania to Kefalonia, got into a storm and, due to poor visibility, sailed past his destination all the way to the island of Zakynthos, where he ran aground in the St. George's beach.

Legends are always more interesting than ordinary life, so this place was named Smugglers Cove, and the beach was called Shipwreck Beach.


Navagio Beach on Google Maps

In September 2015, I spent several days in Zakynthos, exploring the island and its attractions. Without a doubt, Navagio Bay is the main natural attraction of the island, its visit card and the most impressive place that I have ever seen in the Ionian Islands.

To the Navagio observation deck, there is a good paved road, and at the entrance to the parking you can see something like this:

The observation deck is a tiny iron cabin about four square meters. It is not surprising that when I arrived there — in the middle of the day — I found a rather large queue of people who want to take selfies. Why selfies? Because this observation deck is the only safe spot to take pictures of yourself.

It is quite interesting to see this picture today — during a time of general self-isolation and social distancing, right? :)

I don't like crowds, I don't like waiting in queues, and selfies are not my thing. So, like some other people, I started looking for another spot to shoot.

After a short walk on the cliff, I found a pretty comfortable place.

But!

There, on the cliff, you need to be extremely careful. Only caution will protect you from falling down. It is very dangerous to take any photos there, not just selfies...

Despite this, there were a lot of people hanging out on these rocks that day.

Of course, my pictures cannot convey the danger I am describing. Pay attention to the photo on the right. Yeah, this is my leg. The picture is not very sharp because my hands (and feet) were shaking a little. :)

A boat on the picture below, I took with a telephoto lens with a maximum focal length (300mm).
 

The beauty of this place overshadowed all my fears. Navagio Beach looked so amazing that I stayed there for more than an hour.

I've never been to the beach itself, so I don't have any close-up photos of the abandoned ship. All these pictures were taken with a telephoto lens.

Most people reach the beach by tourist boats.

But real extreme people choose to jump off a cliff. Yes, Navagio is a favorite place for base jumpers! Not far from the observation deck, there is a place where the height of the cliff overhanging the bay reaches about 220 meters. I allowed myself to insert in this post the most impressive video of jumping in Navagio Bay that I found on YouTube. Be sure to check it out!

© BaseJump Xtreme YouTube Channel

Finally, I would like to show you a couple of photos that I think I made better than the others. These are panoramic shots of Navagio Bay and the cliffs that offer breathtaking views of the Ionian Sea.

I hope you liked my little photo report about one of the most famous places in Greece. Sorry for my terrible English, I'm trying my best. :) Thank you!

Navagio, Zakynthos, Greece.
September, 2015.
...

@alexanderfluke's travels
Canon 650D + EF17-40/2.8L USM + EF70-300/4.0-5.6 IS USM
© All rights reserved
...



published via PeakD


Sort:  

Absolutely stunning shots, man. I've heard about the smugglers cove before, need to go visit it at some point although I'd skip the basejumping part cause I'm not good with heights. xD

You do not need to be good with heights. You just need to be good with diving :)

I'm very glad you liked it 😊 Thank you so much!

Incredible shots and report Alexander. It has been a while since I've seen such a quality post on the blockchain. Love it!

Thank you so much, Chris!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #848.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wow! Thanks a lot! 😊

You're very welcome @alexanderfluke! Thanks for bringing such great content to the map! looking forward to the next one! 😉👍
cheers,
@lizanomadsoul

Spent an amazing night there last summer. Just us, in a yacht, at night, zillions of stars plenty of Ouzo and this song Unforgettable experience.

20190926_140429.jpg

I can only imagine such a night! 🙂 Thanks a lot for your nice comment!

Thanks for a flashback!

Stunning photos! Well done, @alexanderfluke.

thanks a lot 🙂

Sensational photography and a very well written blog @alexanderfluke But boy...…..you took some risks. I'm glad you lived to share your experience. (lol) It must have been a memorable trip.

So it is! Thank you so much for your kind words 😊

This is an amazing place - I have to go there - I will remember this place!

Definitely you will! 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

Super interesting piece and beautiful shots! That 300mm looks tasty.

thanks for your feedback! 😊

What an incredible landscape, I would like to go at some point in my life. Just jumping into the beach would be everything. And while I am in free fall shout: "From Venezuela to the world" hahaha it would be the maximum! Nice pictures! Cheers!

Thanks for you feedback, man! 🙂 Much appreciated!

So many tourists go there to explore this island, I can see that Background story is interesting too. I love all the pictures and today I came to know about this island cliff for the first time. The island itself quite inviting though, I am keeping this island into my bucket list. Thanks for sharing this amazing place.

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you liked it 😊

You did a fantastic job, both with the photos and the English @alexanderfluke.
I respect you immensely

Thank you for your kind words! 😊

You are so welcome.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

wowsers!!!

And this photos are too good, love the way you presented your journey.

I didn't knew about this place until I read your post. And your picture describes the beauty itself. Amazing photography.

wow this place is really amazing all the shots are stunning 📸

thank you! 🙂

Wow your pictures are absolutely stunning 😍😍