Happy Birthday to US

in OCD3 years ago

map-1699471_1280.jpg

Image by Marleen Kuiper from Pixabay

To Hive

What a year this has been. Like most of my fellow humans, life was thrown upside down by the nasty bug that is going around. My work as a sculpture has all but stopped and I have had to find new ways to put food on the table. The virus has visited my door but thankfully, now my loved ones are safe and sound. We are surviving which, to be honest, is all we can hope to do at the moment. Plans are still difficult to make as we don't know what the future will hold. There are no normal days anymore, it is kind of funny how you learn to deal with the uncertainty. It makes you appreciate the little things and the little wins. But, there is light at the end of the tunnel. Say what you want about the vaccines, they do seem to be working.

And then you came along

When the lockdowns were first kicking off I thought it would be a nice time for me to push harder with Steem and forge ahead with content creation, I would have an enforced holiday and my days would be mine to design. Then of course the whole thing with Justin Sun happened and I must say I found it very exciting, it was a great distraction from all that was going on in real life. I felt part of something as we fought in our own little ways to secure the chain from centralisation. To be honest, I always knew the Steemit ninja mined stake would the Achilles heel of Steem, I just didn't imagine it would spur the community to get the fork out of there.

And then you were born. I was so proud of how we did it as parents, aunties, uncles and grandparents. I say this like I was the proud father but that is the real beauty of this new life that even I as a lowly blogger in the family felt that I was adding my DNA to it creation. This is all of our baby and whatever stake you have in its creation and wellbeing it is part of the whole.

So much has happened in your first year and although you still have lots of growing to do, you are off to a flying start.

There wasn't really much of a change from when we wrote to the Steem blockchain. My blog was all nicely carried across as was my wallet. I then had two wallets, one which I mostly emptied into the other. I wanted to support this new vision and so I even bought some hive to stake it away and also to support the family members in LEO and various tokens on the ecosystem.

I am proud of what you have become and see you having a very bright future. You are your own person, a mix of all those that forked to bring you to life

Wishing you a great second year
from Daniel aka @ammonite

Normally in a birthday card, we put some money so, for this year, I am sending you 150 hive to stake away for the future.

Sort:  

Aww that's sweet. If the blockchain was like the somewhat sentient internet in my head-universe I wonder how it would respond to messages like this XD (an idea which is simultaneously cool and terrifying)

I can't believe that 1 year passed by so fast. Happy bday to all of us😊 Hopefully you will be able to do sculpting again soon, I am convinced that this isn't easy on many artists
!ENGAGE 20

Very true it has been a tough year. Luckily I have been pretty busy with other work and spending lots of time with my family. Hope you are doing well. Thanks @creativemary
!engage20

I am doing great, thank you😊

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.