A trip down memory lane | About dead Accounts, Online friends and Hive Birthdays

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

image.png

A few days ago I was cleaning my following list because I wanted a cleaner feed and a more concise group of following. The list of following in Hive.Blog is not alphabetical but it comes from first to last, being the first page those you followed at the beginning of your Hive journey. I started to scroll around the last pages where the most recent followed Hiveans are but after a few unfollows I noticed how the names were organized and I became curious about my first followed people and then, I wanted to see who was still active.

Man, the happy, painful, nostalgic trip down memory lane I took is beyond words, which is probably why I decided to make a post about this topic, to try and put it the feelings I had unfollowing more than 400 dead accounts from my Hive Following list.

It's funny how we try to explain how Hive is to new people we introduce to the platform, but the way we see Hive is nothing like it was a couple of months ago, let alone three or four years ago. Hive is nothing like it was and that's the beauty of it, how it evolves and how much it changes for the good and the bad. If people don't keep themselves updated, after a few months you're a total stranger and everything you built over the years or months you spent here building. Look at me, I'm practically a stranger to everyone except a handful of accounts that are here since the beginning.

Luzcypher who introduced me to the platform and damn, how lucky I consider myself to have run into him during that time of my life, he ended up leaving due to some misunderstandings about his open-mic project, probably the longest til this day; Dreemit who was always there to give me a heartwarming comment in most if not all of my posts, and happened to have around 10k SP which meant her vote boosted my posts a bit; voronoi and hansikhouse from sndbox who mentored me and encouraged me to keep creating great content, even before I became part of their project; mindhunter who I believe got into some sort of flag war and left the platform, but he was the first dolphin who liked my content and voted frequently on it; donkeypong who never voted directly on my posts but he was a Hive guru back in the day, everyone knew him and everyone followed him, if iirc it was him and instructor who started with all the curation styled accounts that later drifted into some sort of scheme, but at the beginning donkey was the guy to follow; heiditravels, the girl who made thousands of dollars from her travel posts and followed the votge of several curation guilds with the Steem Power she made from them, she left due to some flagging but at least she was doing some positive curation; yoganarchista had a lot of VP and used to post amazing drawings and art, she used to vote in most of my posts and damn, what a great girl she was until she left; margaretwise used to comment a lot on my posts and deeply encouraged me, both direct and indirectly to keep creating amazing travel posts.

How can you forget about those Hiveans who made a killing with their posts. Who cares if they did it by creating amazing content, or received all those rewards because they were pretty, or maybe they were friends with the big people of Hive... in the end, seeing them in the Trending page and living the Dream of creating content that gets rewarded the way we all expect it to be, made me and I guess many others to strive to create high quality and unique content. People like karensuestudios with her travel and yoga posts, always with a smile and a unique way of replying to comments; acromott and his acro yoga content who was probably the first one to post about this topic and damn how much people liked him; then you have girls like alphasteem who became a dtube's favorite with her cooking recipees; jayjes16 who was part of a voting scheme from the spanish community with some delegated VP, but who created good content and always made you want to be in her place, encouraging you to keep creating great posts; I remember heart-to-heart and her nature and spiritual kind of posts who always got rewarded and at some point it was normal to see her on the trending page; surfermarly left because she didn't believe in Steem anymore but it was routine to see her on top of the reward pyramid every week; then comes roxane, the french tutorials creator who grew her account faster than any other person I've heard of on Hive and still left after not getting what she expected the platform to give her. All of them are gone. It's kind of sad to know these people made a killing from Hive, got their fair share and then left, but that's how life is. In the end, they were part of the Hive showbiz and many, many OGs know about them. I wonder where they are right now and if they're still creating content.

Then it comes to the people you met in person, probably the ones that hurt the most that they are not here being part of the Hiveverse anymore. First comes guyfawkes4-20 not because he is more important but because he is probably my best mate from Hive's real life that is not here anymore. We spent a whole week in Krakow for Steem Fest 3 and I'd be lying if I said I don't remember those days with a smile in my face; then comes meanmommy33 who, despite us not being close, we meet in Poland after being both part of OCD's curation team, we had a few drinks together and some times I wonder what happened to her; you may not remember lafona but if you are a true OG, you know who that is. I met him in Lisbon in 2017. Great dev and OG witness who is now a dust account on Hive; I met evecab and el-cr in Poland in 2018 and we had already hit it off incredibly on Hive thanks to daily interaction and preparing for Hive Fest, I guess the married life took a toll on them and they can't be active here anymore. She lives in Panama and we keep in touch through instagram, I wonder why she's not on Hive anymore; theaustrianguy was an OCD german curator and he fixed my lip in Poland after I got my ass kicked in a bar, I know why he left Hive but it still hurts to know that such a committed guy to the Hiververse decided to leave; wolfcat and lovejoy are probably the coolest Hive couple that I was lucky to meet in Lisbon three years ago. One day they stopped creating content but I know they are still part of the cryptoverse, we might stumble upon each other again; I met Maryjaney and Steemcafe in the Steem Creators Conference in Toronto back in 2018 and hit it off with them from second one, we hit some bars and had a great Hive time, but I haven't heard of them in ages, their accounts are all dusty; last but not least, it pains me to see nomadicsoul's account like I found it. She was sick when she left and sometimes I wonder if this girl who took me to the hospital in Poland and with whom I hit it off incredibly is alright. The people that you met in real life, made a bond and had a connection with and somehow are not on Hive anymore are probably the ones that hurt the most for us, superficial and shallow beings.

You know how you start following some accounts because you hit it off with them, or maybe because you loved one of their posts, or perhaps just because you just enjoy reading their posts from time to time but, you don't really interact with these people more than voting for their great content and some times leaving a comment on their posts or receiving one from them; those people that conform your Hive Feed but you're not really friends, you just enjoy reading them, maybe they enjoy reading you, you give them votes every once in a while and receive some at other times... Well, I used to have a lot of those in my following list and to be honest, I remember them dearly even though I can't say anything about their content or our interaction. I think these people are crucial for Hive, those who are not your friends or your friends' friends, but they are friends with other people with which you also aren't friends. That's how ecosystems work and thrive, by having completely unrelated people who are related to other completely unrealted people between them. But hey, those were the ones I followed at the beginning and maybe we drifted apart after a while. But I remember them, I remember you, people who welcomed me to Hive. People like azfix, lordoftruth, reconnectnature, crissysworld, juvyjabian, antonchanning, codypanama, assus, gavvet, kafkanarchy84, tinypaleokitchen, yusaymon, aaronleang, eurogee

Oh, I almost forgot, how could I forget about probably the most important part of the Hive Ecosystem: The Online friends that we made along the way. Bilbop (RIP) was always there in my posts until the point he wasn't here anymore and I remember him fondly, I hope you are happy wherever you are man; the guy with the Almost Famous themed username, stillwater, a friend I made don't know how or why but we used to chat a lot online; my OCD co-curators ma1neevent, gniksivart or Travis King, gmuxx with whom I spent several online evenings talking with on discord, maybe not p2p but in channels we had in common. It makes you wonder how - or why - someone who was so involved with Hive decided to leave altogether and, it really makes you question your own reasons;

Of course not everything is pink and full of happiness, not here on Hive and not anywhere else. I never really connected with surfyogi but I remember I always wanted his huge vote and I could see how much he voted and encouraged other content creators to keep coming up with incredible and amazing post material; ahh how could you forget about walden and how much he fought - in a bizarre way - against plagiarism with a sense of honor few have; twinner ended up having issues with my online persona and I didn't like his real self much, but he was an essential part of the German curation community and it is sad he ended up leaving; teamsteem's curation strategy and witness offering wasn't much of my liking but in the end he supported many people and made Hive a better place for some of them, that kind of people is key to support niche groups inside a huge community such as Hive; when it came to drama beanz was most likely involved in it, but not in a bad way, just in an extremely passional way. It was fun to see her stand up for the little guy and some other times just try to piss off the big guy, I guess everyone gets tired of that and she left, but she was quite the character who overall brought positive vibes to Hive. IF you think about it, those people with who you never hit it off, make up part of the Hive universe and not having them here anymore can only be negative for the community because we need all kinds of people here, it is with pain to unfollow them because I saw they were inactive for quite a while.

It is with amusement and a little bit of pain to see all of them, each and every one of the with a 70~ reputation and at least some several hundreds if not thousands of dollars generated from this amazing website/social media/blockchain, and all of them gone after years of activity, all of them with less than a few HP and a lot of memories left behind.

I was able to see the last posts of every person I unfollowed and most of them had zero rewards or very little, but some others had rewards wandering the double digits, so I can't help but wonder why did they leave?

I went from 600~ following to around 160. I didn't stop following those that are still active despite that I don't remember the reason I followed them, but you gotta stay true, you followed them because of something and since I'm going to be more attentive to my feed, I might as well keep them there.

So I was thinking when I was going through the list of my following and I couldn't stop myself from thinking... What do you do with these people that are no longer here but they were still a part of your life for so long?

Do you move on? Feels like treason to unfollow them when they pretty much built your reputation here by giving you votes in your amazing and your not so amazing content, by engaging with you whether it was by leaving you comments or by replying to your comments, people who interacted with you on discord or steem chat (back then) and gave you words of wisdom, encouragement, tips, or simply some laughs.

At one point I could have been deemed a dead account because I was barely active here, sometimes a post every two weeks or something... we all need some space, but I never powered down everything (and I do have HP in a couple of alt accounts) and I never left, but still, some people could have thought that I was no longer interested in being part of this community that has been a huge part of my life over the past 4 years.

Luckily, the Hive community has still a lot of OGs, and as I've noticed over the years, there are always new people that become the new OGs over time, and their compromise to the community plays in place of those who left. There will always be a Hive core community and it is up to us to encourage these new people to keep committing and putting in the hours to build Hive.

Most of the people I am going to mention are my friends, or were, and some of them saw me grow while I watched some of them grow from minnows. I grew my account more than some, some others are huge dolphins now and I look up to them but, in the end, the reason I mention them is some sort of recognition to them for staying true to Hive for so long and also for being my friends (I'm not gonna mention every Hive loyal person, just those who I deem friends, or online friends at least, or perhaps Hive acquaintances, but we have some sort of bond or link none the less) but also to encourage you, in case you are reading this post, to go follow them, they are the ones that deserve your online friendship.

So, from first followed to last to not hurt anyone, thank you @acidyo , @ausbitbank, @canadian-coconut, @hitmeasap, @tincho, @jaybird, @derekrichardson, @stortebeker, @son-of-satire, @paulag, @gtg, @abh12345, @eveuncovered, @joythewanderer, @getonthetrain, @themonetaryfew, @nanzo-scoop, @bitrocker2020, @connecteconomy, @felixxx, @eroche, @misslasvegas, @demotruk, @tarazkp, @choogirl, @erodedthoughts, @nonameslefttouse, @revisesociology, @livinguktaiwan, @alexvan, @evecab, @sjennon, @kommienezuspadt, @dan-atstarlite, @rubencress, @raj808, @v4vapid, @blocktrades, @travelgirl, @deadspace, @gabrielatravels, @celestal, @coruscate, @honeydue, @blewitt, @slobberchops and @newageinv.

I have been following you guys for more than two years, perhaps more - that's why I didn't mention those who are a key part of Hive but I started following you recently or we didn't really interacted during my first years here.

I followed you when I was a mere minnow and was growing day by day here, and I thank you for everything you did for me and how much you encouraged me one way or another to be committed to Hive for 4 years now.

You are still here and still rocking and I appreciate you and thank you for it.

Sort:  

What an awesome and melancholy post. I sometimes go back to look at people's blogs who used to thrive here and the memories always flood back. I used to follow many of the same people you talked about, I even presented with a few in Amsterdam in 2016. Seeing those old posts from 2016-17 remind me of how strong the community used to be and how much engagement there once was. It also brings me back to the first couple of SteemFests. Life is always changing but sometimes it's nice to take a stroll down memory lane and give thanks for what was.

It was really a nostalgic and melancholic post, I got a little bit sad when I was writing it, and I think that helped me put into words what I felt when scrolling the list. It was trully a strong and small community back then, not better nor worse than today, just different. I was able to attend the second SF, not the first, and I do think that those were amazing days. I was never in touch with you but I do know your name from way early, I'm glad to see you're still roaming these lands man.

I'm sure you felt a lot of emotions while writing it. I look back to those first few years (2016-18) as one of the best periods of my life, just because so many dreams came to fruition. I'm still connected with a few people who left Steemit/Hive on other social media platforms, most have moved on with their lives and no longer blog but many are still involved in crypto in some capacity. I don't have anywhere near the following or engagement that I once did but I still enjoy writing and curating here. I'll stay as long as it still brings me some kind of joy. Thanks for the post, it was a good walk down memory lane! Take care.

I always think it's kinda weird how some people suddenly leave or just drop off the radar. It's almost like, was it something we said? I thought we were getting on so well, at least say goodbye, don't just vanish. Anyway, I don't think I got a notification that you unfollowed me, and I'm chuffed I got a mention 😀.

World cup next year, you be back to host it again?

It's almost like, was it something we said?

More like not said. The general lack of the real human comments on this platform make the people disappointed.
If we look around, we see that the average number of comments per post is 2-3, and most of those comments are bot comments. This is why thousands of people leave. This place looks like a ghost town from outside, so it is not so attractive to the outsider users either.

That's true to one extent. As someone else mentioned, the stage is full, the audience is empty. I wonder what would happen if we encouraged more the content consumption (I have no idea how this can be achieved) but I always said that there's way too many content creators and not enough content consumers.

And the worst part is that in some cases we'll never know what happened or if we played a role - or could have play one - in their abandonment. There's a few people that I regret not keeping in touch when they were still around and now, there's no way to know what was of them. Of course I would not unfollow you!!!

I'm not sure! I hope so, perhaps blocktrades wants to sponsor that one again, we'll see :D

Fun fact: we had the opportunity to meet both in your and my country of origin ( 10000km+ distance ).

And in a neutral country afterwards. Three continents, will we ever cross the list of all of them? :P

Sounds like a plan ;-)

I was wondering why you unfollowed them if they weren't posting anyway.

How will you know if they return to posting if you've stopped following them.

A lot of people come back, especially when the Hive price rises.

This is a big reason I haven't unfollowed people, the other bigger one is that I'm lazy.

Peakd makes it a bit easier by showing when their latest post was. I had no problem removing accounts that have been silent for 3-4 years. Those folks wouldn't even know Hive exists.

Yep, a lot of people simply left the entire crypto space. I wonder that if, and when they come back, they'll get back in touch with those they consider friends. Some people mention that if I unfollowed them how will I know if they came back. Well, I guess that's on them, to come back and to revive old friendships or move on to new ones.

I have not unfollowed either and a dear friend surprised me posting not long ago, I would have missed it.

This makes sense, although I've discussed this before with a couple of people. If they left and come back when it's greener here thats their prerrogative but, mine is to focus my attention and support in those who never actually left. Of course I'd like to know if they are back and perhaps re-bond, I guess that's a destiny kind of thing, if they come back and we cross paths again, it was meant to be. Or perhaps they'll get in touch with me, after all it was a two way street, in the meantime, no use to worry about the what if's, especially since the ones that stuck with us could use our collective support and attention.

Wow, that´s actually quite heartbreaking to realize how many of the old good fellas are gone... So many familiar names you mentioned here. But that´s the way it is. People come and go, just like in real life... Glad you only kind of slowed down and not left us completely like many of those above... I wonder when it gets me. So far, I am still refusing to give up on my daily interaction haha. It would feel so strange after those 3.5 years :)

Oh man, I know I missed your name in the mention list at the end and I'm sorry, we've been in touch for so long and we are always commenting each other, I'm sorry about that.

I'd never leave, just slow down from time to time :D

Oh damn, 3.5 years, we're almost the same age and yet I think we started interacting around 2 years ago ain't that right?

Yep, almost same age here on the chain as well as in real life, both lived in Playa at the same time, frequented same spots in the city and on the riviera, even played basketball on the same court (but different times of the day), were both in Krakow for the fest and yet, never actually met each other in person, what a shame! :D Hopefully one day. Take care buddy :)

!LUV

I know this pain. Did something similar near the end of last year. Over 300 removed after carefully checking in on each one; then being flooded with memories. Some were inactive for four years. Quite a few were low rep noobs I followed most likely after they visited my space, seemed interesting and excited, made a few posts but I guess weren't interested in grinding to get ahead like so many of us were doing, then faded away. I saw how some got duped by the shit talkers and negative types, misled to believe the platform was destined for failure, so out the door they went. What bugs me there is some of those shit talkers and negative types are still around doing it, but that's a story for another day.

Thanks for the mention. I too have taken a lot of breaks over the years though, but I made it clear to those who know me best I will always return. Interestingly enough, every single time I've returned, I picked up damn near right where I left off. I think some fear their return would be a challenging experience that puts them at the bottom and makes them start all over again, so that bit of worry would make returning even more challenging and not so appealing. But really, all one has to do is show up.

And it's too bad those who feel creating content is no longer for them don't stick around to consume, since that's the most important role to play, yet having a whole bunch of butts in the seats simply here to enjoy the content and personalities is what's always been missing. Stage is full, seats are empty.

Do you had to unfollow and remove over 300 peeps from your list and The Nomad Soul around 400?

Sheesh! then I just think you two were following too many wrong people. LoL };)

And in the same breath people who talk like you just did will say people like me do nothing but care about themselves and their few close friends.

But you can relax. I know you're just being silly. Can't force people to stay and my one vote 10 times per day can only go so far. In reality when it comes to content creation, most struggle to get noticed. That's why there are some Youtube channels with more videos than views on all those videos combined. It's a tough gig, everywhere. The one picking up the guitar for the first time isn't playing stadiums for a reason, and it's not because the platform is broken (though it would help tremendously if consumer perks were marketed and the seats began to fill up).

Yeah I agree, the platform is not broken. I'm just pointing out that perhaps the two of you had a greater diversity of interests, people and topics to pursue, follow & consume in tha blockchain than average joes. And hence the extreme tiring cleanliness by what you have to go from time to time. That's all.

I'm sure my taste is unique; but that's no different than anyone else. Years ago I used to mock people for taking pictures of their food and sharing on social media. I didn't understand it. But then something catches my eye here, and suddenly realize how much work actually goes in to some of these foodie posts. So maybe I didn't like the amateurs on social media, but the professionals on a content platform is a whole different story. But that still doesn't mean suddenly I'm supporting every damn foodie post. Things simply catch my eye.

Something that's always bothered me is how on quite a few occasions people show up and present some from of arts/entertainment I enjoy, then that slowly fades as they start becoming obsessed with crypto, and that's all they talk about, then the entertainment is gone. So you'll keep them on list thinking someday they might have some music again or something like that, while you go look for someone else who's creating arts/entertainment and follow them.

then that slowly fades as they start becoming obsessed with crypto, and that's all they talk about, and the entertainment is gone.

Oh yeah! and what bothers me even more is that many of these chaps (once upon a time entertainers) suddenly start to talk about authenticity, consistency and be true to themselves & their "Art" trying so hard to convince you that they are not here just for the money and then fighting with claws and fangs to not lose your support after being clearly corrupted by it. ¡Wadda bunch of... of... of... well, you know what I mean!

But then something catches my eye here, and suddenly realize how much work actually goes in to some of these foodie posts.

Yeah! you must be happy now. There are a ton of these daily if you just dare to visit the Hot page of hive. Perhaps and even you can manage to develop an irresistible passion for also consuming and reward the growing endless avalanche of content on makeup in there. };)

Some of those makeup posts, I think I voted for a couple because they caught my eye and were artsy as fuck. I recognized the fact that young lady did a lot of work and the intention was entertainment. I mean, nobody complains when the zombies on zombie movies look like zombies because of makeup. Then I've seen some other ones that were just shit. Pure shit like she got shot with a paintball gun right between the eyes. But still, I'm an artist and know someone's going to look at my work and feel the same way, and the next one to come along thinks it's amazing.

And yes, it obvious at times some folks change their approach, and around here it's common for that change to lean more towards the crypto side of things, and the reason is the follow the money, telling people what they want to hear. But I've written about it before. If your goal is to follow the money, you will never catch it, because that wasn't part of the plan.

Sorry had to. My fingers did the walking.

19e1aux0so7g3gif.gif

Need. To. Cut. Them. Off. Penis.

Probably a good time for me to leave this discussion before whatever I'm saying is misconstrued; twisted into some form of madness.

To the fuckers and the hookers that lead them to some dark alley way to be murdered or beheaded.

Hmm I think this is the right post. Fuck must be.

I hope they rot in the dirt. The fuckers and the hookers. Not. The. Users?

SlightSpitefulKouprey-size_restricted.gif

I post so slowly people welcomes me back when I have not gone lol 🤣, but yes I miss the former feedback but I feel there was a time of true bond and people scattered, and we endured "lows" So it was not the price really, then world going full dystopian was timely i guess

I'll do one post per week but sometimes can't even get that much done. Not sure if I'll ever go back to a daily grind. People do seem to be a little more excited to enjoy the work when it's a rare occurrence. Can also relax and pay a little more attention to detail when putting it all together.

I sometimes post twice a week sometimes once, sometimes beweekly, as the muses come, but this has always been this way since "old" times, current video is taking me months(while I work on other two simpler ones) and sometimes I drop some photography / folklore but even if those are less complicated posts I try they look pretty or are an interesting read. I am in a time where I should be posting everyday and be grateful for the support the community still gives me, which I am, but I simply cannot make them faster. I worked on one for world goth day and here I'm one day later, hesitant to share it, and readapting it into a new post hahah :) Not catching much sleep and fighting dystopian times.

The face that I make when @anomadsoul accuses me of leaving and being dead on hive even though I’m very much active. Many years of talking about a naked Travis I have finally delivered to prove I’m very much still active on Hive just post more on leofinance now and have even sent discord messages to see how you were doing ><. Wrong on my naked brother. Hope all is well.

image.jpg

TLDR...

Appreciate the @ and glad you are still on hive, but where is all your HP?
Rep 77 means you got more votes than almost anybody, yet you have almost no Hive Power.

Yes!!! He used to be more than a dolphin. What happened!

rep77 means something like double orca in rewards.

Yeah man, I'm also glad to see that you're still around and even though you don't post much, I still stumble upon some of your posts from time to time.

we all need some space, but I never powered down everything (and I do have HP in a couple of alt accounts) and I never left, but still

I still have a lot of HP, but precisely to avoid judgement from people I don't have it in this account, so when the time comes when I need it - like a year ago when Covid stroke - I can get some liquid to solve issues.

A lot of my rep points come from organizing tens of contests where I gave away all the rewards - I think I once ran the numbers and it accounts for a little bit more than 20k USD in rewards - to the winners, so there's that also.

!LUV

What happened to the quirky, cunning replies :P
Glad to see you're still here though, your posts are always entertaining :D

I was too busy butt chugging g-fuel and watching hot tub streams on Twitch, sorry about that, man :(

Yeah, I'd like to post 3-4 times a week and be more active. But, my health hasn't been the best the past year or so. I'll always try to be around if I can be though, dood.

Yours is kinda looking like mine too! I do the same on instagram otherwise I just don't see what those closest to me are posting and that makes me sad :/

It was dazzling to see how many dead accounts I had but at the same time my OCD made me unfollow those ones :P

Hi @anomadsoul, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @blockchainyouth. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

unfollowing more than 400 dead accounts from my Hive Following list.

I have more than 1100 followers, but most of them are inactive nowadays. They left the platform long months/years ago.

I remember you had a massive delegation just before SF3 (Oct '18) and handed me a $12 vote. I was walking through a car park on my way to work and was shocked to see it. Happy times when the community was all as one.

Oh man, I still remember when I met you and your wife, I was a bit tipsy and took me a long while to realize I was in front of the face that belongs to that funny user avatar :P

Whatsup Eric! Oh man, so many dead accounts, my feed is ded, but still nostalgically good.

I've been here almost 4 years now, how the time flies. You were one of the first people I followed. I remember seeing that post where you climbed that volcano... I had to follow you!! You were living that adventurous traveling lifestyle and funding it with your posts... it was a real inspiration to me. In recent years I haven't been following you as closely, but like you I've now somehow gotten myself following over 600 people and it's probably time to go through and clean that up. Try to get it back under 200 so my feed isn't loaded with so many posts. And it's pretty sad to see all those names of people that have left, but ya, I'm still here and still rocking. Still posting about my outdoor adventures and still reppin' the California community! And I'm glad to see you're still here and still rocking too!

Hi @anomadsoul, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @deadspace. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Thanks for the mention! It feels nice to see my name on the list along with some great hivers. At least in memory of the good times.. 😛

Nice! I always love these looking-back kinda posts, they make me feel nostalgic. And sure, cleaning up your follow list may bring a bit more order into your feed. The last time I did that was on my one-year anniversary on the blockchain (and that was almost three years ago). Since then I have probably accumulated my fair share of dead accounts. But there is always a chance they may come back. And especially the Hivers whose blogs I was following most passionately I don't want to unfollow, just in case.

So thanks for the mention. I forgot if you were into !BEER , but here's one. :-)


Hey @anomadsoul, here is a little bit of BEER from @stortebeker for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Glad to hear you have great guides in the hive, may I also find hikes that can guide me in developing me on the hive @anomadsoul

oof, yeah I had to take a hiatus myself and now I'm slowly coming back in as I start to have free time again - I definitely would like to do the follower-sift as well but am just as conflicted as you!! Joining steemit and the discord communities was such a highlight, and I've made some amazing friends since then. Hopefully the good ones are still lurking (as I was for a minute there... heh!)

Man that SF3 was a special, awesome week!

It's a shame to see so many disappear you're right, and surprising in many cases too.

Hive's just such an integral part of my life I can't imagine living without it!

There's a few stalwarts still here, and it's still a great place to be, and interacting in communities has been great over the last year or so, just a bit more niche and diversified. I can't really imagine how this chain could have evolved any other way!

That was painful to read. The long paragraphs. What an eye sore.

Don't mind him he is just a stickler to page formatting. Has a bit of OCD in him.

That's a long list of names you mention here. And I'll be honest I have no idea who those people were and are. I hope they ae however in a good place. Not under the dirt unlike the gentleman you mentioned.

Busted lip while in Poland. Hmm you must be a real character in real life, just stating my observation and opinion. I could pretty much be very wrong but that is my statement and I will stick by it. Again my eyes were assaulted with the formatting of your post but was enjoying the content nonetheless.

Too many humans here is probably why they left. Unless of course they had babies then that is a fair reason to. Or in my case with my original account @kumagai1976 I lost my keys on one drunken night. Accidental deletion of the said backup file and forgot to back up that backup on another backup.

Yes. Backups help. Especially drunks.

I now have 4 backups. Maybe I should also have a written one. shrugs One day.
Thanks for the read.

Not only people have left, but businesses and dapps like @partiko have abandoned us.

The good thing is that the cryptoverse is big, and those that leave eventually are replaced by new, eager to learn people and dapps. It's the normal cycle in any social media platform and I'm glad we're still thriving despite the coming and going of many people.

For a moment I thought that you were also leaving because you no longer posted regularly.

Fair. I did stop for a while but never completely and I'm glad I didn't :D

Yeah, I went through my list of people I follow wondering where they are now, or where else I could reach out to them.

I noticed you included @gniksivart in you list of people who have left Hive, but he is posting regularly on communities.
See
https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@gniksivart/ethereum-won-t-ever-be-a-store-of-value

Perhaps you are just looking at Blogs rather than All Posts to see posts on LeoFinance etc.

Maybe quite a few people on your list could say: "Reports of my death are greatly exagerated."

Thanks for tagging me I can't believe he unfollowed me. It definitely hurts my soul :(

Definitely my mistake Travis :P Fixed as of now hahaha

My mistake, perhaps I looked into the wrong tab, but I think it's just one or two in hundreds since I checked comments and the posts tab. I owe someone an apology :P

Great trip down memory lane. Man I miss the fun and exciting early days, the experiment and so many of the people that you mentioned.

Hey there 👋
Yeah, lots changed over the past years, including people's lives. Some may have left for reasons that have nothing to do with Steem/Hive. I certainly interact much less, because I got a lot busier in my work/business. But I'm making an effort to post here every now and then, because I actually do want crypto-social-media to grow and become more popular.
Another in-person Hivefest would be cool, though, and seeing everyone again! 👍💜

It's sad to see people disappear and I am also quite guilty of that behaviour or. Life just catches up with you every now and then, I suppose. However, that doesn't mean I'm off the radar entirely and I'm always happy to connect otherwise.

I still see e.g. meanmommy33, aaronleang and heiditravels pop up in my feed, but I must say, not the HIVE feed.

Otherwise, I am happy to see you still very active here and once the pandemic situation calms down, we're able to travel and meet in person again! <3

yo pienso que alguna estrategia tendrá porque nadie toma una desicion asi luego de haberse servido de alguna manera de esas personas a quien elimino de esa manera y haciendo una justificación que para mi no tiene fundamentos de verdad. me paree una falta de respeto. a todos no a mi . porque no les retribuye cuanto se benefició a cada uno que elimino.

Well just to let you know I am still here, and still reading, posting as slow as ever but have not vanished... So hope I survived the cleansing, but yes I too miss many interactions with people I came to care about, some have been in touch off chain. I keep coming though and yes, still the rats lady

Man, time flies, it's gonna be 4 years for me this August - it's crazy. Had to check it on hive block explorer to make sure, lol. You're own memos made me recall my own events here and especially with other Hiveians, painfully nostalgic yet happy memories indeed.

I think with people leaving it comes down to false expectations: it was supposed to be this new revolutionary platform, it still is, just that it hasn't really made its breakthrough to the wider audience yet. I think some people just got bored, impatient. But what Hive represents, the values behind - freedom of speech, full ownership of data - I keep valuable. There's not another place on the internet that provides true ownership of online identity, just for that reason there's simply no leaving from here. Those who have gone, probably didn't hold those values, so boredom gets to them, and they forget what the point here was in the first place.

Posted using Dapplr

Nomad, I know how you feel and how some people when I was 'gone' and also how weird it must be for some people that I am now back. I was looking through my list and I miss guyfawkes4-20 too. Man, what a good dude and his posts were always good. Maybe we can get him to come back? :)
I don't know why people leave but I can tell you why I did.
I was burnt out. Completely overloaded and it was just way too much.
However much I loved (still love) the community, I really had to focus on myself to get better.
I can understand if some people don't appreciate my leaving and coming back, but you know, life happens.
This time around I hope to manage my emotional wellbeing way better so that I don't feel the need to ever 'leave'.
I was very happy to see you are still on here!
Remember that video we made we loads of different people singing an Ed Sheeran song? Hahahaha
And are you still being a nomad even though the world is still in semi-lockdown?

I'll make a comeback and do it on Hive... just got spread thin there for a while. As for @wolfcat, she's making memories faster than she can write! Right now she's running with the wolves on Isle Royale. ;). Thanks for writing this! Glad to see you're still keeping the fires burning!