More about my Art Hanging Profession - Special Places and Famous Artworks

in OCD2 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone ! Hope you're having a good weekend :)

I recently wrote this article about one of my jobs : art hanging. After many other activities, I continue this one because as far back as I can remember, I have always created, assembled various materials and attended museums with my parents... And also to earn a living ^^

In my personal conception, we 'make art' when we feel invested with a mission, when we can't help it and when it's maybe the only way to convey messages. The rest is mostly hobbies and that's not bad, but it turns out that the confusion seems to have developed too much in a mainstream way.

I also read and watched with great pleasure the preparation of @hiddenblade's painting for her visit to Paris and the exhibition of said painting for this year's Focus Art Fair. I wasn't back in Paris at the time but would have been happy to have a look around with great curiosity.

To add to the coincidence, I just came across the article on the Louvre by @rubencress who recently went to Paris to photograph the painting we were talking about earlier...

All this reminded me of my early years of hanging at the Louvre, always on Tuesdays (the day it was closed to the public) and where we had the museum to ourselves!

One thing leading to another, I thought I would love to share with you some of these good moments, these stories of the works that we don't see, because everything is done to keep them invisible...

In the next few articles, I will show you more about the real behind-the-scenes, as well as about the hanging techniques...

IMG_E9540 copy.jpg

Above, you may have recognised a deserted gallery in the Louvre, I haven't found many good quality images, as it's been a few years and I've 'lost' some series of photos in different hard drives... This is one of the many advantages of putting them on Hive :D

Below, you'll find two panels by Fra Angelico, representing angels in adoration. On each of these professional visits, I always went in front of them... What finesse! A magnificent achievement of the Renaissance and a fine example of beauty for our societies where aesthetics seems to have deteriorated deeply... *This is my opinion, after all, tastes and colours...!

IMG_9716.JPG

Here I remember focusing on the pleated fabrics I could find, whether they were painted or in relief...

IMG_9531.JPG

IMG_9545.JPG

IMG_9530.JPG

Another memory from the Louvre, the exhibition in which the Crown Jewels and some famous diamonds such as the Regent were displayed. I wasn't directly involved in the set-up, but we passed by when the team was at work and I wondered if these were the original pieces or replicas...

IMG_9705.JPG

Let's move on to the Centre Pompidou, where I've been involved in some of the exhibition set-ups over the last few years. The most famous is probably the Boltanski monograph, but I will have an article especially dedicated to this exhibition...

Below, three images of Georgia O'Keefe's beautiful paintings, three of my many favourites...!

IMG_0829.JPG
Taos Pueblo, 1929/1934

IMG_0843.JPG
Dead Cottonwood Tree, 1943

IMG_0845.JPG
Dark Tree Trunks, 1946



And on another montage "Elles font l'Abstraction ", a work by Helen Frankenthaler, Open Wall, 1953

64122054925__0642B066-25A2-4897-AFAF-737D27239887.JPG

Let's end this article with a montage of storm and shipwreck paintings at the Musée de la Vie Romantique in northern Paris. We were lucky enough to hang an early print of Géricault's "Raft of the Medusa" and, more importantly, a painting by Turner that was on loan from the Tate.

IMG_4316.JPG

IMG_E2045.JPG


In particular, you will see a picture of the report in progress, an obligatory step when any work arrives or leaves. Restorers analyse the painting to compare it with photographs of the original to check its condition and any damage. This is usually a time when we are fairly quiet and can enjoy the works or the ballet of crates and other professions involved...

IMG_4304 copy.jpg

Below, the condition report of the Turner painting in progress...

IMG_4248.JPG

To finish, I share with you these four additional shots as I took them at the time... I really love this painting and generally all of Turner's work, from his watercolors of landscapes, to his paintings illustrating the Industrial Revolution and heralding Impressionism in France.

IMG_E4266.JPG

IMG_4267.JPG

IMG_4269.JPG

IMG_4265.JPG

So much for this first overview ! I hope that this article will have interested you and pleased you. Don't hesitate if you have any questions or special requests on certain details ! Thank you for reading and visiting :)

Have a good Sunday and take good care of you !

<3

@anttn






Salut à tous ! J'espère que vous passez un bon weekend :)

J'ai récemment écris cet article à propos d'un de mes métiers, l'accrochage d'art. Je fais cela parce que aussi loin que je me souvienne, j'ai toujours créé, assemblé des matériaux divers et variés et ai fréquenté les musées avec mes parents... Et aussi pour gagner ma vie ^^

Dans ma conception personnelle, on 'fait de l'art' lorsque l'on se sens investit d'une mission, que l'on ne peut pas s'en empêcher et que c'est peut-être notre seule manière de faire passer des messages. Le reste c'est surtout des loisirs créatifs et ce n'est pas mal, mais il se trouve que la confusion semble s'être trop développée de façon mainstream.

J'ai aussi lu et regardé avec beaucoup de plaisir la préparation de la toile d'@hiddenblade en vue de son passage à Paris et de l'exposition de la dite toile pour la Focus Art Fair de cette année. Je n'étais pas rentré à Paris à ce moment-là mais je serai allé faire un tour avec plaisir et beaucoup de curiosité.

Pour rajouter à la coincidence, je viens de tomber sur l'article sur le Louvre de @rubencress qui s'est justement rendu récemment à Paris pour photographier la toile dont nous parlions précédemment...

Tout cela m'a rappelé mes premières années d'accrochage au Louvre, toujours le mardi (le jour de fermeture au public) et où nous avions le musée pour nous tout seuls !

De fil en aiguilles, je me suis dit que j'aimerai beaucoup partager avec vous certains de ces bons moments, de ces histoires des oeuvres que l'on ne voit pas, car tout est fait pour qu'elles demeurent invisibles...

Lors des prochains articles, je vous en montrerai plus sur les véritables dessous, ainsi que sur les techniques d'accrochage...

IMG_E9540 copy.jpg

Ci-dessus, vous aurez peut-être reconnu une galerie déserte du Louvre, je n'ai pas retrouvé beaucoup d'images de bonne qualité, car cela remonte à quelques années et j'ai plusieurs fois 'perdu' certaines séries de photos dans différents disques durs... Voilà un des nombreux avantages de les mettre sur Hive :D

En dessous, vous trouverez deux panneaux de Fra Angelico, représentants des anges en adoration. À chacune de ces visites professionnelles, je me suis toujours rendu devant... Quelle finesse ! Une magnifique réalisation de la Renaissance et un bel exemple de beauté pour nos sociétés où l'esthétique semble profondément détériorée... C'est mon opinion, après, les goûts et les couleurs...!

IMG_9716.JPG

Ici, je me rappelle que je m'étais concentré sur les plissés que je pouvais trouver, qu'ils soient peints ou bien en relief...

IMG_9531.JPG

IMG_9545.JPG

IMG_9530.JPG

Un autre souvenir du Louvre, l'exposition dans laquelle étaient exposés les Bijoux de la Couronne et certains diamants célèbres tels que le Régent. Je n'avais pas directement participé au montage, mais nous étions passés lorsque l'équipe était au travail et je m'étais demandé si il s'agissait des pièces originales ou bien de répliques...

IMG_9705.JPG

Passons désormais au Centre Pompidou où j'ai participé à quelques uns des montages d'expositions durant les dernières années. Le plus fameux est sans doute celui de la monographie de Boltanski, mais j'aurais un article spécialement dédié à cette exposition-ci...

Ci-dessous, trois images des magnifiques toiles de Georgia O'Keefe, trois parmi mes nombreuses préférées..!

IMG_0829.JPG
Taos Pueblo, 1929/1934

IMG_0843.JPG
Dead Cottonwood Tree, 1943

IMG_0845.JPG
Dark Tree Trunks, 1946



Et sur un autre montage "Elles font l'Abstraction", une oeuvre d'Helen Frankenthaler, open Wall, 1953

64122054925__0642B066-25A2-4897-AFAF-737D27239887.JPG

Terminons cet article par un montage de tableaux de tempêtes et naufrages au Musée de la Vie Romantique, dans le nord de Paris. Nous avons eu la chance d'accrocher une première épreuve du "Radeau de la Méduse" de Géricault et surtout, un tableau de Turner qui était prêté par la Tate.

IMG_4316.JPG

IMG_E2045.JPG


Vous verrez notamment un image du constat en cours, étape obligée lors de l'arrivée de toute oeuvre, à l'arrivée ou à son départ. Des restaurateurs analysent la toile pour la comparer aux photographies de son orignal pour vérifier son état et d'éventuels endommagements. C'est généralement un moment où nous sommes assez tranquilles et au cours duquel nous pouvons profiter des oeuvres ou du ballet des caisses et des autres métiers impliqués...

IMG_4304 copy.jpg

Ci-dessous, le constat d'état du tableau de Turner en cours...

IMG_4248.JPG

Pour terminer, je partage avec vous ces quatre prises de vue supplémentaires comme je les ai prises à l'époque... J'aime vraiment terriblement cette toile et généralement toute l'oeuvre de Turner, de ces aquarelles de paysages, à ses toiles illustrant la Révolution Industrielle et annonçant l'Impressionisme en France.

IMG_E4266.JPG

IMG_4267.JPG

IMG_4269.JPG

IMG_4265.JPG

Voilà pour ce premier tour d'horizon ! J'espère que cet article vous aura intéressé et plût. N'hésitez pas si vous avez des questions ou des demandes particulières sur certains détails ! Je vous remercie pour votre lecture :)

Bon dimanche et prenez bien soin de vous !

<3

@anttn

Sort:  

I think I missed your other post due to moving… but what a great job 🤩
To be hanging art works. Interesting. And now I have the connection with you seeing some cool artworks.
We have some more in common than.
My main job (now) is painting 😉 all mediums I work in as a fine art artist. Mainly realistic 😉 although my art materials will be staying boxed up until the big move. I think I will draw some more in the mean time.
Thanks for sharing this part of what you do @anttn 😎 lucky you to be close to these masterpieces.
Especially turner’s 🤩

hey @littlebee4 ! Sorry for being so late to respond to you !!

This is indeed a very nice job :D Intense and super interesting, but sometimes a bit stressful ^^

Tomorrow is our last day, the mission is almost over and I think everyone is satisfied and I'm also happy to have some time again !

My main job (now) is painting 😉

Yeah, I remember, but you don't often post about it no ?

Have a good evening and take care 💫 See you soon :)

Turner, a giant !!

No worries @anttn 😊 I’m here…

I can imagine the stress full bit. Have done my fair share of exhibitions and know what is involved in them.
Great to hear you have more time soon and the project is almost over. Sounds like a perfect time.

No I haven’t posted many artworks yet, but I have done so… (if you want the links to them… let me know) maybe I post a painting with some steps how it evolved on Thursday 🤓 or the weekend.
Think it is about time to share some more.
My artworks is changing dramatically lately. As I want the viewer to think more… they can be more thought provoking than just a painting of an animal or bird.

I can’t wait to settle somewhere soon and set up my art studio. Get fully back into it. As most is packed up. Besides some graphite now. And mural paints. My last mural for a client was last October… o my… that’s almost a year ago. 🫣
I think I move to much…

Thank you so much. Have a lovely evening too. Let it be magical.
Take care and talk soon.

He sure is, one of my favourites 🥰

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Merci d'avoir partagé votre vie de travailleur au Musée du Louvre, je ne savais rien de l´accrochage d´art. Je vais attendre avec impaciente le prochain chapitre de cette série.

Avec plaisir :D je suis content que tu ai apprécié ! belle journée à toi et à bientôt ✌🏼🍀

Wow, these are great collections. and you took your time to sharing with us. Thank you for what you do.

You’re more than welcome :)

Have a good week 👋

Very interesting job you doing anttn . I am impressed with all paintings. the very special way you present them and a very good series of artists and paintings. lucky you handling them nice article. thanks for sharing😊