Five Spots After Dark

in OCDlast year

Five Spots After Dark

It's Sunday, and Thanksgiving week in Houston. I have taken the week off after fairly busy previous 3 months. It is chilly here, of course in Houston standards, meaning it is extremely comfortable weather. Wife is travelling overseas, Kids are still in bed, and its morning. I can finally light the fireplace and sit in front of the fireplace and have a cup of coffe and cream cheese with bagel. I can lift my legs up and open up Murakami's "After Dark" and listen to Curtis Fuller while sipping my coffee! To me, nothing can be better at this point! It's perfect!

image.png

Source

It is neither about the book, or the music, or the quiet morning. It is about the time. It is about how slowly I can relish the moment with things that I like. It is not often that I have spent a week long vacation at home. Whenever, I did I was actually doing something, working on a deadline or doing some house work. It is therefore rare to have an absolutely free time for me.

Usually when that happens, I pick up a good book. This one is something I have read before. I often read Murakami multiple times. Any good book is meant to be read many times. At different phases of life it usually has a different flavor or impact. He randomly tells an old Hawaiian legends at a random cafe (rather Denny's! How American!) in Tokyo;

“If you really want to know something, you have to be willing to pay the price.”

I am thinking is he right? Do we always pay the price for something we really want? Or is it rather random. If there is so much structure in life, then it would be easy and predictable. As far as I can tell, it is not. Life is usually not fair. We like for it to be fair. We like for it to have justice. We like a happy ending. We don't get it. But as Curtis Fuller pulls away with his "Love Your Spell Is Everywhere".......the magic of his trombone is slowly making me oblivious to mortal world. My goodness what a wonderful album this is! This is 1959-60, they don't make 'em like this any more. The Album is Blues-ette; only 6 tracks. Oh man! It is priceless!

"Five Spot After Dark" (Benny Golson) - 5:18
"Undecided" (Sydney Robin, Charlie Shavers) - 7:09
"Blues-ette" - 5:31
"Minor Vamp" (Golson) - 5:12
"Love Your Spell Is Everywhere" (Edmund Goulding, Elsie Janis) - 7:07
"Twelve-Inch" - 6:28

That being said, "After Dark", and Murakami as whole, is very personal. Few writers expresses their feeling, as if directly to me personally, like he does. So this is a personal moment to be cherished as long as possible. Therefore, the obvious question is why am I writing about it on the blockchain? The answer is rather simple. It is likely I am going to forget this day or moment likely next week. This is nothing spectacular to remember, however, if I write it down, it will be here foreever, eh? :)

PS: By the time I actually finished writing this after multiple interruptions (surprise!) it is 4:45 pm! That's life!

Sort:  

It's one of my favorite Murakami books 📚 👏👏

Kafka on the Shore for me :)

1Q84 and Killing Commendatore fairly close second and third, I don't know which :) I am extremely partial to his work. I have read everything he has writen and that is translated.

1Q84!! That's a good one!! I like one of the characters in the story, Ushikawa (牛河). Haruki describes Ushikawa so vividly in the story, and I almost puke! LOL! What a story!
🥦 !LOL 🥦

What rock band has a huge ghost following?
The Boo Boo Dolls.

Credit: reddit
@azircon, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mizuosemla

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(2/6)

Amazing, you seem to be having lots of rest and fun. . Happy Thanksgiving week🙂🙂

"I can finally light the fireplace and sit in front of the fireplace and have a cup of coffe and cream cheese with bagel. I can lift my legs up and open up Murakami's "After Dark" and listen to Curtis Fuller while sipping my coffee!"

This is amazing!
Oh... why are you teasing me like that? 😉

If you are from up north it should be cold by now, so no problem doing it I hope.

I'm from Cyprus, and I don't have a fireplace, I have it in my dreams.
There are no big cold weather and snow in Cyprus either.
Snow is only high in the mountains.
You are lucky!
I love fireplaces!

Well then you are out of luck. Limassol is a fine town.

Gonna have to read this author he sounds very quirky and esoteric, the way I like them.

But that trumpet! Great offering, thank you. I have so much to learn.

its trombone; but yeah, quite magical.

oh lol yes. I was just at a jazz event and the dude played a "valve-less trombone." It looked like a trombone, but there was no slide. Three keys and a fabulous sound. I'd never heard one before. Why have you been downvoted? Someone downvotes everything you post?

I don't care about votes, up or down :)

Never asked, not interested :)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @faisalamin.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It's good that you took a vacation dear friend @azircon and that you enjoyed your time doing something you like
What you say is very true, everything we publish in #hive will be saved there forever
Have a happy start to the week...

I agree that we price if what we want. Since good book require reading many times. You have paid your time, patient to get what you want from the book. Likewise everything we want in life. A price must go for it. Thank you for sharing

Do you think it's cool to brag about blocking people on discord? There's nothing noble about acting like coward, it's weak as fuck!