You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abuse Fighting Groups: Let's Talk Solutions (Art Edition)

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

What a topic! I think what you propose is very good. The rules in the communities should be their own because in the case of art there are many things that don't apply to the general rules imposed by Hivewatchers.
I don't usually use references to make art or in any case I use myself but I don't like the idea of having to put the reference image when it's a painting because I think it loses the magic. Especially if you use photographs taken by yourself. I hope I'm not wrong but @artistparthoroy's case is perfect, if he uses his own photos to make those paintings I don't see the need for him to have to publish a reference because the artwork has a life of its own.
What is art and what is not? there must be as many opinions as there are people. For me, creating with AI applications is not art. I think art is something deep and that is why I'm very critical and categorical with this subject. I've never liked pop art because the superficial and commercial is not art for me and I really can't stand seeing works with the face of Marilyn or the Gioconda anymore! Then there is the conceptual "art" which is null and shouldn't use the art word. There is a lot of the same and even the universities encourage to look for references instead of looking for oneself. So if someone does a horrendous work but it's their own and genuine for me it has more value than a beautiful landscape or a beautiful young lady in watercolor. I believe that art is something genuine, deep, original in the sense of its own search. And I'm not talking about techniques or quality because that's something that is obtained by working. The artist is not someone who paints nice but someone who investigates himself and life and in that way something new will emerge.
I don't want to make this longer. Just tell you that this community that you have created is incredible and that by filtering it more, as you have already commented, it will be much better. There is quality here and that is very nice! So @midlet congratulations!

Sort:  

Beautiful writing
Thanks for pointing out the mistake.@barbarabezina
I will try to correct myself.

@artistparthoroy You didn't make any mistake! I was referring to the community rules. If you want you can and you are free to show the references. 🙂

After reading your argument and writing.
I thought it was my mistake.
And I like your writing so much that I thought I'd correct myself. thank you

Thanks for chiming in @barbarabezina. I actually did update the rule a few moments after a wrote it with the exception being unless you took/own the photos.

For example, I've purchased some professionally shot reference packs and if I painted from those of course it wouldn't make sense for me to put someone's for profit product online where people can access it for free. Also if you took your pictures yourself it's a similar situation and unnecessary.

It's really just for when people use random reference found online(like me, lol) that they don't own.

I agree with you on your perspective about art. Although it's not something I ever bother talking about you'd probably understand that I don't really see myself as much of an artist. I'm a painter, I'm a 3D generalist, I'm a motion designer and concept designer, but when it comes to art as you describe it, which is what I also consider art, I'm pretty much a novice.

Really glad you're enjoying the community, and I'm really thankful to have you contributing there :)

@midlet Being a novice doesn't detract from value, rather it shows that you are aware of where you are positioned and that is not a small thing.
I'm immersed in the depths of art and that is why I take the subject very seriously. So it may not be very fun to talk to me about art, especially if it's conceptual art 🤭
I really enjoy this community and I'm grateful to be a part of it.