All We Have To Decide, Is What To Do With The Time That Is Given To Us...

in OCD4 years ago

A Typical Sunday Morning ..

The dogs let me actually sleep in a little today. I needed it too. Yesterday they had me up at 5am but it wasn't totally all their doing. I was having a rough time sleeping anyhow. This morning was a different story. I looked at the clock at 8am and was super psyched!

After the usual and comforting Sunday morning chats with my cousins, friends and parents, I was left thinking about what I wanted to accomplish today. So while I mulled that over, I jumped on PEAKD and caught up on what all of you were doing or have done.

IMG_7493.JPG

As I scrolled through the communities I am active in and checked up on a few close friends, the dogs were in the middle of sleeping off their morning breakfast. Molly and Pepper just LOVE chillin out on the IKEA chair. Possible on of the best purchases we've made as far as the pups are concerned. We just toss a blanket on it and they think it's heaven!

IMG_7497.JPG

Maybe I can work on this Caribbean themed painting that has been sitting on my homemade work space for over a year now.. maybe longer! I I'll have to think about that. What keeps me from working on it is the fact that I don't have a ton of time to invest sitting down with it right now. My paints would dry before I get to fully use them. I really need a whole weekend to devote to it. Winter is coming in a few months and that will be a perfect time for it.

IMG_7495.JPG

As far as creativity goes or at least tying up loose ends goes, I could take a few of the paintings, I recently finished, and spray them with fixative. I like doing this in the warm months because I can spray them outdoors, they dry quickly, and it stinks less when you bring them inside.

1577455233.jpg

I have always had good results with the Winsor Newton brand of products but have also used Grumbacher products without worry of odd results. One of my latest paintings, that I still have not applied fixative to, is 'Stained Glass Pocket Watch'. It appears dry enough now that I can safely apply the spray fixative to the surface. The only thing is that I have to will myself away from this computer, stop writing, and just do it!

IMG_7496.JPG

But then something else catches my eye.. Some coins I had recently acquired or have been accumulating this year. Every once in a while I find a good deal on a silver coin and purchase it. They are fun to look though and research, but also gain value after a good while. Since silver prices have gone up a good bit, they are gaining value faster than I expected. If anything they are always worth their melt values as compared to current Silver spot prices. Win Win!!

IMG_7498.JPG

Obviously, if you have read some of my past posts, you know I enjoy a good pocket watch. I am on a purchase hiatus but not a research break. I still am messing around with the ones I have and looking at some others.. I promise I am just looking! I spend too much money on Orchids at the present time.. Which I will get to in another post soon. It appears my bad habits are hard to die, in the house plant department at least.

IMG_7494.JPG

I have been trying to decide on what watch movement I want to place into a Debois watch case I bought a while back. The case is solid 14K gold, and worth somewhere in the market of $600 USD in just melt value, but it is worth more to me for it's useful purpose. Like I said, I have a few options, but can't really decide..

IMG_7500.JPG

Option one is a 1925 17 jewel Elgin and the second is a 1929 19 jewel movement. They are both pretty neat, yet both very different. The look in the case is unique to either one. The only problem with the Elgin model is that I need to reinstall the seconds hand that fell off. My expertise is not in watch repairs, but I am willing to learn!

IMG_7503.JPG

IMG_7504.JPG

Only Time will tell in what I decide to do. Maybe neither one which would be perfect really. This way I HAVE to go looking for a new watch movement! hehe.. Just perfect! Sorry honey (the wife may be reading this). So I guess that's it.. I am off to look for my next watch. This is going to be the best Sunday ever!!! lol. I'll be a good boy (wink wink).

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

.textdivider1233346.PNG

0120011305 2.jpg

“I wish it need not have happened in my time," said Frodo.

"So do I," said Gandalf, "and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

.textdivider1233346.PNG

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

.textdivider1233346.PNG

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, @c-squared, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Love the dog bed / chair. It's perfect because they can stay close to you, be on a perch, and stay near eachother without actually touching! win win win!

I gotta say man, you have a lot of cool stuff and it is kind of like I would like to think I would be living my life if I hadn't decided to be nomadic over 15 years ago and travel / live around the world. Right now your choice does seem to be the correct one since we are not allowed to go anywhere right now!

So true! They like to touch or snuggle closer in the winter months rather than the summer.

Haha.. I hear you. Life always looks more interesting from someone else's perspective. My wife and I often fantasize about a life like yours. A "nomadic...and travel / live around the world". But then Monday comes and then the bills and then New Jersey taxes. Yikes.. the rabbit hole!! Anyhow.. I like collecting a few little things. When I get bored of them, I'll gift them away or sell them and find another something to occupy my time. I have been fortunate enough (or unfortunate depending on how you look at it) to have never missed a beat with work. No work at home for me, my profession is essential. Oh well. Happy I have work! I think...

I do like the stained glass pocket watch!

It seems like you have the major conundrum that the rest of us have, in that there's so much to do, so little time. It's an economics decision, really; will whatever we choose to do outweigh the opportunity cost of the next thing On The List. I always fail. Then I go for a bike ride.

Thanks! I enjoyed but didn't enjoy that painting. haha.

Life is funny like that, isn't it. I don't always make the best choices in that department either. A bike ride sounds like the perfect way to let it all go and prepare to start over. Therapeutic and you get your exercise in too!

You are a busy one. Bet it feels like love when it is about art:)

Nah.. I just make myself look busy.. hehe 😂 and your right! It most certainly does.

You can almost set your watch by our dog, he is up by 6:00 am each morning!!

Oh my. I know what you mean. They certainly have a great internal clock working all of the time.

!discovery 20

Thanks 😊 I appreciate your support!!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you 😊 for the curation 😊