Just Another Day In Orchidville

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

AnotherDayIn Orchidville.jpg

Here We Go Once Again ..

But what I used to call an Orchid Addiction, is now a new and budding hobby. A hobby that involves a slowly (possible fast) growing collection and fascination with Orchids. If your new to my blog and this is the first post your reading, STOP! There's more to know that I can not possibly fit into a 8 to 10 minute read. You'll want to go back into the vault over the last few months and dig around a little. Look for my other posts about Orchids, and you may find all you need to know rather quickly.

The Orchid Post Vault:
Yup.. I Bought Yet ANOTHER Orchid (Not Sorry)
Orchid Fever .. Adding To Our Orchid Family .. AGAIN!
A New Orchid Joins Our Little Family
Saturday Orchid & Houseplant Update!
Orchid Update!!
Just as I wonder whether it's going to die, the orchid blossoms

This Time ..

It started with a simple instruction from my wife, "Please go directly to the grocery store and pick up ONE pretty Orchid for our friend. That's it. Just the Orchid and nothing more." I tried. I tried to run her words through my head once more when I arrived at the doors of the grocery store. I found myself strangely wandering around in circles, checking my phone for notes, and pondering all sorts of recent "Honey Do" instructions, except the most important one. "One Pretty Orchid" .. "One Pretty Orchid" .. "One Pretty Orchid" .. Those words never really came to mind, or maybe I just decided to pushed them way back into the dark and cold recesses of my weak, little brain. Either way, again I found myself in Orchidville without a care, or thought, in the world.

In Fact My Memory Was Good ..

I remembered two things; One, it was our friend's birthday and I was to get a pretty Orchid for her, and two, I like Orchids too. What better way to celebrate a good friends birthday, than with a two for one!! Now. I am not talking price here.. Oh NO.. I am strictly saying why buy one when you can have two for twice the price? Two pretty Orchids for one larger price. Sweet deal and a win win.. but what would the wife think? What would she say when I get home with the second plant? Not sure about all of that, but heck.. we're gonna find out!!

Check out was a breeze, but of course I meant that it was a breeze after I got the shake down by grocery security. Haha, those guys are sneaky crazy. The word in the isles is that they have been watching me for some time. The gossip near the ice cream cooler is that I have been in and out of the store on multiple occasions, snatching up Orchids before any of the other customers can have a chance to purchase them. After a little sweet talking, foot shuffle and blurry promises, they assured me the video would disappear. (wiping sweat from brow and moving on)

IMG_7485.JPG

I passed many people who were giving me looks.. not sure if they were of disgust that I took the prettiest of the Orchids or maybe of envy. Either way I was strutting slowly along with my chin up and a crooked smirk plastered just above it.

IMG_7486.JPG

Back in the parking lot, I began to again wonder about the instruction I was given before heading here. Still I could not recall it. Was I to get something else? It seemed as though I had the feeling that I was forgetting something. Hmmmm.. Not coming to me. My mind went blank and then that smile reappeared on my face as thought of how lovely the plants looked sitting there in the cart. Soon I would unload them, carefully placing them just in front of the passenger side seat; A spot I learned earlier is not too windy. This was something that I had been thinking about since the last trip, where I was frantically trying to protect an Orchid from the windy conditions inside my Jeep.

IMG_7487.JPG

So I am driving along, wind in my hair (okay maybe not. forgot I was wearing a hat) and one eye on the road and one on the Orchids. A very SERIOUS ordeal if you can't tell by looking at my facial expression..

IMG_7481.JPG

EYES ON THE ROAD!! EYES ON THE ROAD!!!!

IMG_7483.JPG

Then out of nowhere like a ton of bricks, it hits me! I was only supposed to get ONE Orchid. Darn!! I screwed it up. So I pull over near a lake I used to fish in when I was young. My mom, dad, and brother used to come here regularly to go fishing.. mom would read and praise us kids for doing such a great job of making dad run around untangling fishing lines.. I have such great parent. Everything they ever did was always was about their children.

Here is the lake, a little muddy from all the rain..
IMG_7491.JPG

IMG_7490.JPG

Back on topic! I need to focus here. What am I to do?? I could just toss the plant into the lake and all is okay, or I could take my chances at home. I could tell my wife that I stopped at the lake on the way home and found the plant there by the side of the road. "I don't know? Somebody must have left it there dear." No no no.. that's no good. Maybe I could tell her that it was buy one get one free. She'll never believe any of that. I think I'm in trouble.

But then I remember something.. I remember that she too likes Orchids and that really this is about her. She is the one with the Orchid addiction! Not me!! I feel free and excited, so I push on home. When I arrive home I was greeted not by my upset or not upset wife, but by no other than a curiously, inquisitive pooch named Pepper. Right away he is thinking "Food?" then "What's that?" and eventually "You mean I have to take yet another silly photo with something you won't let me pee on?"

IMG_2835.JPG

IMG_2830.JPG

IMG_2832.JPG

IMG_2831.JPG

It's out of his system. The thrill of something new and the possibility it was edible is now gone as fast as it arrived. Where is Molly? I thought you may be wondering where she is during all this excitement.. Why on the couch of course! You really think she'd get up for this?? She's either way to smart to come to look at yet another stupid plant (her thought's, not mine), too lazy to get up (can't blame her really), or she just wants to keep her distance from the freaky purple thingy. One thing is for certain, she's comfortable where she is..

IMG_7478.JPG

After I place the plant up on the 'Orchid Wall' (if you don't already know, the Orchid Wall is the wall where I keep all but one of the orchids), Molly jumps down to take a safer look at the new thing in the house.

IMG_2821.JPG

IMG_2822.JPG

I don't think she cares for it, but can't blame her for that either. I think the growing number of plants are beginning to block her view of the yard and her warm sunlight. It sure does look fine sitting there on the Orchid Wall. I can't describe the excitement and joy I am feeling, but do know I have to suppress it. I can't lead on like I am hiding something from my wife. She still doesn't know I am home, and surely does not know about the new addition to our family.

IMG_2819.JPG

It sort of blend in with the others yet offers a uniqueness all of its own. The color, which you may not be able to tell from these photos, is slightly different from the others. It also has this cool light outline of pink on the outer edges of the petals. Really neat!!

IMG_2820.JPG

IMG_2821.JPG

Overall the plant is very healthy for living most of its life in a plastic sleeve. Eventually the leaves will settle down and look less weird. Here we have it sitting with the others on the wall. Blends in nicely! I don't think anyone will even notice the new plant.. except the dogs of course.

IMG_2823.JPG

I Guess Now The Question Is ..

Will the wife ever notice the new plant??? (my money is on yes. she noticed in about .000000001 seconds upon entering the room) She shook her head and then smiled. It was then that I knew we were into this hobby together. I think I heard someplace before, this useful phrase .. "Those who raise Orchids together, live a long and healthy life together." I like it!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

.textdivider1233346.PNG

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxHzY3bzStAd7GTkTK58CEdE33WLjTxKRCLnwWD9BqcK6WYjJhai6pnpBiJj4RZzU5J6y5PWm31qTyDSKBtBLtwY2hG1umTB98uHEsUew9f51MqvLU8dQUU6.jpg

“They say a good love is one that sits you down, gives you a drink of water, and pats you on top of the head. But I say a good love is one that casts you into the wind, sets you ablaze, makes you burn through the skies and ignite the night like a phoenix; the kind that cuts you loose like a wildfire and you can't stop running simply because you keep on burning everything that you touch! I say that's a good love; one that burns and flies, and you run with it!”

― C. JoyBell C.

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

.textdivider1233346.PNG

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

.textdivider1233346.PNG

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, @c-squared, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

"You mean I have to take yet another silly photo with something you won't let me pee on?"

That cracked me up, poor pepper even had that Look, I really gotta go look.

Hahaha.. your right! and he most likely did have to go. Poor guy really didn't want me to hold up that rectangular plastic object in front of his face either. He's such a good sport.

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @qurator and the entire curation team!

They are so beautiful! Orchid frenzy! I was talking with a client today and she told me the flowers last for almost 3 months. Is that true?

I loved the quote about love, so poetic!

Thanks! I thought it was a neat little poem too 😁

Yes.. I found that the larger Orchids last a bit longer like 3 or 4 months and the small guys last about 1 month.

Sorry for the late reply.. was on Holiday 🙂

Oh 3 months, that is quite a lot. I think you made great purchases with these flowers, they are a beauty to have in the house. Have a lovely weekend!

I too have gotten bitten by the orchid bug. I only have 2 but I am a newbie lol.

Haha.. Your well on your way! The ones I get at the grocery store are pretty care free I have found. The keep blooming, as long as the spot is perfect amount of bright light with no direct sun. Good luck with yours!!!

Sorry about the late reply.. I was on a bit of a Holiday 😁

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 38000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 39000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
Project Activity Update