Saturday Sifting Through Vinyl

in OCD4 years ago

Thinking Of Starting A New Blog Series ..

Just something for fun. I’m not sure yet how much interest there is out there. I recently acquired a bunch of vinyl records, and dug out my old stereo system from the basement.

899CBA1AF62A439CB8E5880F560A3275.jpeg

Heck one of the first pieces of equipment I ever bought, a CD player, was manufactured in 1986. Yes it’s been a while but it’s still plays just fine. Sure it sticks when the drive opens and heats up and needs a break every once in a while. But that’s OK.

B45D813111E74B3FB4B1C99208EAE582.jpeg

76934A923CDF428C8199FA80303F99EA.jpeg

I am enjoying going through the records and occasionally playing one or two of them when I have time. I really would like to play a particular record and write a blog review on the final version. I’m thinking this might be a cool way to spark my new interest in vinyl.

DB7DCF1EEBF54DFFA58BCBDA73392780.jpeg

So my set up might not be particularly perfect. But the record player, given to me by my mom, plays like a rockstar. Coupled with the rest of the equipment that was in the basement, it plays perfectly fine for what I need right now.

BAD1D02C34BB4517889B9E01F6FDBEC5.jpeg

I don’t think I’m going to get into the review of this first record right this second, I’ll save that for another post and once I get my head wrapped around how I want and how often I want to do these. Anyhow, The record I’m playing today is bookends by Simon and Garfunkel. It has songs on it such as hazy shade of winter, old friends, America, faking it, and Mrs. Robinson. There’s some awesome tracks on this album of which my favorite is Mrs. Robinson and hazy shade of winter.

18C44AAEFD8A4DD18AC8526E13C261E6.jpeg

F23F69C0AB3A46BF9E3C3B4DC3890337.jpeg

590CA712E3DA41D6B9284500AB1D7A7C.jpeg

I’m enjoying sitting back on a Saturday afternoon, relaxing with Molly, and enjoying the crackle of vinyl as the needle works its way around the circular disk we call s record.

Side 1:
0B6EAE960837437B8ACB0613EE0EBAB6.jpeg

Side 2:
AC515BEA34B844D798D563AA0D6C8942.jpeg

Looking forward to this and finding out how much interest there is in The Hive community When it comes to Vinyl. Let me know in the comments!

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

576C134FE62247CDB479CD780461F781.jpeg

“ Old friends, old friends sat on their parkbench like bookends

A newspaper blowin' through the grass
Falls on the round toes of the high shoes of the old friends
Old friends, winter companions, the old men
Lost in their overcoats, waiting for the sun
The sounds of the city sifting through trees
Settles like dust on the shoulders of the old friends”

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

I remember as a kid having to tape a dime to the needle holder on a cheap turntable to stop it from skipping along the record at the smallest scratch, then came the weighted arms to solve that problem. But the scratches were often from mishandling the records, we were kids after all.

The first "Record" I ever owned was one I one on a radio show and it was "Bridge Over Troubled Water", that was my initial favorite song, but then I started to listen to "Cecilia" on the flip side and it quickly grew to be one of my favorite songs.

I never was so lucky to win anything off a radio show.

Great songs. There are not to many of their songs I don't like. I sometimes just think it takes a few listens to appreciate the poetry and harmony blend. They were awesome duo when they weren't fighting.

Good memories 😊

What a great system that looks like. I bet it does indeed sound fantastic!

Vinyl albums have a sound that digital just can't quite match. There's a warmth to it, even with the occasional scratch and hiss, that just brings it home and makes it sound so real. I suspect listening to Simon and Garfunkel like that would be great with a scotch.

I do not have a sound system (my mother in law does, but I don't think she'd be willing to give it up), but definitely interested in vinyl.

Some day you'll come across a system, but with all those living breathing things in the house right now, maybe introducing something else would not be a good thing.. lol.

I have a "Spare Room" that we call the game room. Right now there's a air hockey table, a foosball table, and dart board..etc.. I want to make this room more of a Study. That was what it was originally built for, but somehow became the game room. The nieces and nephews love it, so right now we won't mess with it.

I would love to sit in there and sip my whiskey or what not over some good tunes.

Sweet! Another records lover on Hive! I'd love to see more of these kind of posts for sure. I even made a new niche community just for it. It's called The Melomaniacs Community. You should check it out and cross-post this there! Once we've got more people posting, I'll propose it to the OCD Community Incubation program aswell as maybe have some prized contests coming up. ;)

Thanks for the Invite! I went ahead and took your advice and joined. It may take a while to build some traction, but cool if it does. See you there! 😁

There is just something about vinyl that I continue to love. Glad to see you reconnecting with it. I miss those days of combing through used records to find hidden gems.

I want to have a more permanent set-up where I can sit and listen while sipping coffee or scotch. I have a few ideas, but time and money are always a factor. Maybe something I can plan this winter. I also just love the nostalgia and crackling of records.

This kind of wide big CD's are not available in my country. In fact I have never seen them real life only in televisions and internet.

They are called records. The record player has a long arm and a needle at the end of it. The needle follows a grove cut into the vinyl disc, and the grove is full of cuts that make the needle vibrate, thus producing sound. They were just like a CD or tape cassette.. they had their day and then the future came. Now there are a few people out there that like to collect them and listen to them. The sound is not the best quality, but that's what makes them unique and different. There is something cool in being NOT perfect.

I love the way you ended the explanation.

There is something cool in being NOT perfect

That short sentence has a lot of meaning in it.

😁 Embrace your imperfections and life seems to get a lot easier.

Have a great day!

Same to you 😊

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening