I'll be running Again

in OCD4 years ago

About two weeks ago I took a break from my regular running scheme because I wasn't going to be home. The plan was actually to stop for one week but due to my exertions on the last day of my holiday, while helping @young-boss-karin with her things, I fell ill(malaria) and so I had to spend the whole of the next week(last week) resting/recuperating.

image.png

I've been easing my way back into doing my regular activities because amongst the symptoms of malaria, there's this part where your joints become so damn weak. In Nigeria, we all live with the parasite in our body and every now and then, it is triggered by some extraneous activity. It typically takes 4-5 days to clear up and I reckon mine cleared up yesterday.

I've decided to try running again and will continue with my schedule, which means I'll be doing 6km. However, instead of doing 60 hours of rest intervals, I'll be doing 3 days(72 hours). This way, my body can recover and be able to handle my normal life activities.

My body feels heavier than it has felt in the past two months, and so I can tell that I'm kind of out of shape. I know doing the 6km will be a big push, but I reckon I can handle it considering how i felt the last time. I'm going to go at a slower pace and will take walking rests in between.