I'm anxious about the next phase

in OCD4 years ago

I've been doing a lot of thinking about the way life is right now, the slow pace to recovery and whatever we're going to salvage afterwards. While thinking, I sort of imagine, or should I say project the current situation and extrapolate it to create a mental picture of what the near future will look like and it doesn't look pretty.

We all know society will never be the same and paranoia will be at the centre of our existence for at least 5 years after all the movement and business restrictions are lifted. People will generally reduce human contact, which in isolation is a small victory to me but will create a new problem that I can't say for sure right now.

With all the businesses closing down and unemployment rising over this period, economies need a major upheaval and that will take time. This means there will be a lot of unemployed people on the streets and if you mix that with the wicked inflation, it really seems all downhill.

People have a lot of time to dwell on things and show their frustrations. As more and more young people get unemployed and dissatisfied by the system in their country, we will experience even more riots and show of outrage around the World. American citizens are showing theirs and all it took was a spark of racism from a police officer to light the flame that's engulfing the whole country.

On a personal level, I worry for myself sometimes. I have a plan to escape this hell hole called Nigeria but looking at the current trajectory of society, I wonder if they'll even let me. I wonder if countries will be welcoming to foreigners when this whole saga ends, and if so, how will certain white-dominated countries view black people like me, considering the recent events?

Schools have been shut down for quite some time now and prior to the virus shutting everything down, I was a few months away from the end of my Master's program. I tried to keep up with my thesis but motivation has been at an all-time low and there's been zero progress. I suspect schools around here will blitz through like two semesters to readjust to the standard calendar. That's going to be really rough for me and other students.

Everything started the virus that swept through the World, and while it hasn't been the most mortally threatening illness, it has crippled economies, led to unemployment and changed our way of life forever. I don't know man, I'm really nervous about what comes after all this is behind us.


Sort:  

I have to agree you definitely pointed out some of my concerns this indeed was not a deadly virus like they said but it's effects on us are huge I like you mention the lack of human contact as everybody is scared and how this is going to put pressure on more people with disastrous effects with a broken economy.

It is a very scary thought Simon. The uncertainty scares me

Due this virus, the border is tightening for sure. I am not positive about it being easier to travel after this. For instance, portugal only opens their border to portuguese speaking countries. So, that speaks a lot about how it might also be done to other countries. Even me, I worry about the future how others see Asian due the pandemic.

Wow.hopefully they'll loosen the borders because I really want to travel. There's already stigma, particularly on Chinese and people of similar race. I hope things get back to normal soon.

It doesn't look good. I have almost no income but God provide in mysterious ways. Just last week someone paid money into my account and said it's for future services. We have to stay positive, look for opportunities and other ways to make money.
We cannot let fear and worry overcome us.

This sounds exactly like something my mum would say. Thank you for your encouragement. I'll keep going strong

👍🙂

Oh so ...you dont know the real Floyd story , it got a bunch of people and
Yes black lives matter , racism is really all a very sad programming and when people will know their true origins , thats gone be funny .

I'm tired of all the theories. I just want my life back