I woke up in tears

in OCD4 years ago

2020 has been one weird year for me and probably everyone. With all this weirdness in the atmosphere, it is hard not to be affected by it in some emotional way and I think I've recently been taking hard hits on the chin.

About 8 days ago, I stumbled into Perdida and took her in from a ditch. Things didn't work out well for her because she had been out in the cold too long, and while I did my best, it was a really emotional moment for me that literally drew tears out of my eyes.

That sad event seemed to have opened the flood gates to even more tears, because last night, I had a horrible nightmare about my parents. It was difficult to see them like that(in the dream). My eyes welled up and tears started running down my face in the dream, but as I woke up, it was like the emotions from the dream spilt over to reality and I continued crying.

I called my mum's phone and it was switched off, which made me sort of panic a little bit. Then I called my dad and he picked up sounding all cheerful and mum was also in the background, sending her greetings. I told them about my dream and they just laughed and told me to just keep praying for them.

I've been thinking of home for some time now and I think it is getting to me. I miss the simple life back there, mum's cooking and listening to my dad talks about politics. I miss my siblings, the air and everything about Bayelsa. I know going back is going to be tedious if I eventually get stuck there if the President institutes another lockdown, but really, is that such a bad thing? I'm homesick.


Sort:  

I laid my father to rest today...One thing I will say here is that family is important. The time you spend with them is priceless...Go back or stay where you are...The choice is yours to make, however, time doesn't come back around...It goes one way only and living with regret is a terrible thing and so make your choice carefully.

My two cents worth is that you need some family time...But don't let me sway you.

sorry to jump in but I just wanted to tell you how sorry I am for your loss.

I wear my Dad's wedding ring every day. He is with me always.

I was Thankful my son stepped up and wrote a great speech about my Dad. I would have not made it through it.

You are and your family are in my prayers.

Hey mate, thanks for your message, it's much appreciated. It's been really nice the way the hive community has sent so many messages, all of which I am grateful for.

I've been thinking about it for a while and I think you're right. I actually want to be at home right now. I've spent so much time trying to be far away from home, only to realise that home is the only place I want to be.

How did everything go with the funeral? How's Faith? How are you and the family?

Sometimes one needs to move out of the harbour, set sail and catch the winds to wherever...But one also needs to know when to sail home. Maybe you just need some family around for a while.

The funeral went really well. The in private viewing and service was followed by the service at the funeral home chapel, then a graveside service where we lowered my father to his final resting place.

The eulogy I wrote was very well received and Everyone felt it was a respectful celebration of his life. Thank you for asking.

Faith has weeks of testing ahead so we will have to wait a while before we know anything. We are hopeful it is not something sinister.

I can't imagine how tough it was for you to read that speech and watch your dad get lowered into the ground. I wish you more strength to cope in this trying time.

Faith has weeks of testing ahead so we will have to wait a while before we know anything. We are hopeful it is not something sinister.

I thought it was something trivial, didn't think it was something that could escalate. I really hope it is nothing serious.

Stay Strong Uncle G

Thank you Belemo, it was difficult but I was armed with years of good memories with my dad.

Faith's testing is cancer related mate...We don't know how it's going to go.

So sorry about the situation. I really hope it is some good news from the result.

We hope so too.

Go home if you can bro. Pele dear

I think I should bro

Go. You are being drawn there for a reason. It is time to be with family for a while.
HUGS

I think so too. I've started making plans to go home by the end of this month. ♥️

This virus is screwing up a lot of things and people's minds. I just read your story on your cat you found. Let me tell you as an animal and cat lover.... this is going to turn out to be the best thing that has ever happened to you. Cats are amazing creatures . Just feed her and love her and you will get so much joy in return.

Thinking about her makes me want to cry. I found her in a ditch and she had lots of worms in her body. I did all I could to give her a good life but she didn't make it. I still shed a tear when I see her picture or walk past where she was buried.

I was right there, trying to resuscitate her, keeping her hydrated and all. I gave her food, covered her with my shirt and made her feel warm. She couldn't fight it and died.

She had been outside for 3 days and probably more when I met her, many people were surprised how she even survived for so long. I didn't even think about all that; all I can remember is how she saw me for the first time and walked straight into my outstretched hand. She thought I was her mum or something.

I can't shake off the feeling that I failed this poor kitten because she was alive before I met her and died in my arms. Her tiny body became so cold and heart stopped. It was the first time I ever felt a dead body.

https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@belemo/kittens-go-to-heaven-when-they-die

O no shame - you showed her in the last moments of her life that there are still good people - you did not fail. You will be rewarded for your kindness one day. No person that is good to animals are in any way a bad person.