You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kananaskis: Sheep Valley Provincial Park

in OCD4 years ago

What a great post, what a great area. I'm relatively familiar with the 'southern Rockies' and some of the places in Canada (Fairmont and Radium Hot Springs) but most of your side is a mystery to me.

I also love old mines and abandoned towns. I live in Arizona and they are really plentiful..

@galenkp suggested I read your posts. Once again, he was right.

Sort:  

In the next few weeks I'll post about an area in recovery from a fire about 25 years ago. It's in the Blue Mountains in Oregon and it's really quite impressive how the forest has returned.

I will have to keep an eye out for that post, we have quite a few burned out areas in our mountains that are fairly recent, it will be interesting to read what to expect. Much of it was a forest of over 200 years old so it's still a bit of a mystery how it will change the eco-system.

I have never been to the southern Rockies, I bet they look just as amazing as ours. Kananaskis isn't a well known area but it borders Banff National Park and is quiet and amazing full of wonderful hikes and bright blue lakes. I have never been to the Kooteney's and Radium yet, it was supposed to be our summer trip but that covid stuff put a bit of a dent in that plan for now, maybe next year. I do live just a few hours away from the Rockies so I spend my fair share of time exploring the landscape, much being in the Banff and Jasper area for now but I want to cover more territory, it's all so magical.

Old mines are great, so full of history. We have a rich coal history mixed with important fossil discoveries associated with the mines, I love to go visit and learn (I feel like a bit of a nerd for it).

Ahh , @galenkp is such a sweetheart! Thank you both :)

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.