Remembering the cats I used to have on this Caturday

in OCD4 years ago

On this #caturday I am thinking about the two sweet pets I had for so many years until we went to Mexico with the idea of not returning.

This was around three years ago when we were considering taking our large cats with us whom we loved so much. We made a decision to give them to our friend from work. It was the toughest thing to do but it was the only thing we could do if we wanted to travel.

Since we were forced to return because of going broke, I have not contacted the friend who took them. They were 15 and 10 years old.

I took many photos of Delta and Luna and when I look at them I just can't believe that they are not in my life anymore. There will always be a hole in my heart because of this decision.

I would like to share my photos of which the youngest now 13 was the most photographed so I will start with her.

.

Delta

Delta was a kitten from a feral mother. I got to know a lady who had a brother in the country that fed Delta's feral mother. When the mother had a litter of kittens they would take them and adopt them out. I was Delta's new family. She was about six weeks old.

2.jpg

Unfortunately I no longer have the photos of her as a tiny kitten but when she was around six months old I took these next few photos.She loved fighting with her teddy.

1.jpg

Delta was a grass eater and any leafy green would sometimes be preferred over cat food. I gave all my cats good expensive dry food and some raw food.

3.jpg

4.jpg

Delta just got bigger and fatter even though I feel she didn't eat much. I made the mistake of not regulating meal times.
5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

When I gave her to our friend she was at least seventeen pounds.
9.jpg
She was a character and even though people frown upon it, I always let her on the table while we were eating. The other cat wouldn't dare.

10.jpg

11 2.jpg
After a nice dinner she would do what every cat would do. She would have a nap in her wing chair. The second wing chair belonged to Luna.

11.jpg

Luna

Luna came from the Montreal animal shelter. She was with her brother. They were around 10 weeks old. They both had more than 10 digits on their feet.

I chose Luna because of how relaxed she was with me. She was very dirty and full of fleas. It was warned about the fleas but that was not a problem.

.12.jpg

We took her home and gave her a bath. It wasn't long before she was rid of the pests.

13.jpg

Luna ended up being shy but loving and when we brought Delta home she was devastated. I was hoping she would appreciate the company. Quite the contrary.

14.jpg

Eventually the two learned to co-exist however there were many terrible fights resulting in my own fear of them. I don't believe in declawing.

15.jpg

There were times when they would sleep on the bed together but never too close.

16.jpg

I hope that they have united with bonding since they were sent to a new home. I don't want to even know if they are still alive. They were both emotional cats and may have suffered the trauma of being sent to a new family after all those years.

For this reason I will have to try to never have cats again. Or any pets for that matter.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Wow. They were both beautiful kitties! And you have amazing photographs of them. Can't imagine how hard it must have been to give them away. I hope they are happy in new home.

It was the hardest thing to do but we would have not been able to follow our dreams of travel which was important to us. I can't say if it was the right thing or not. My heart will never heal from it.

Exceptional cats with such sweet nature!
It’s hard to give them away! I would like to know how they are doing now!

Take care.

Thank you. They will always be special to me but I am too scared to know if they are still alive. My heart can't take it. I really miss them.

Right! I know how you feel! But you should know that they will reincarnate any way! Like my favourite cat who got killed by stray dogs. I believe that he has been reincarnated into a baby boy in the village. So, we could become good friends one day.

Buddhist monks told me that cats and dogs would be reincarnated into humans in their next lives. That’s why they seem to understand our language very well and act like humans! I did pray a lot for my white cat to help him in the procession of reincarnation.

Perhaps you should send good wishes or vibes to your cats so that they are happy and healthy; and if they are in other dimension they would receive your message!!

Memories cause us pain, but future possibilities give us hope!!

Thank you I always hope we can be together again somehow.You always keep me in check.

These photos are superb! Great job with them, definitely! Both look sweet! 💖

Thank you @thekittygirl. They were each sweet but they hated each other so much haha.

Thank you @thekittygirl they were both sweet but they hated each other haha.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

These photos of your cats are really beautiful @carolynstahl, they are both gorgeous, sad that they are not with you anymore!

Thank you @lizelle. It is sad but it's my own doing.

They are both gorgeous!
I am sorry you had to give them away.
Do you have other cats now?

Thank you I don't have more. I need to not have more. I can't be sure isf

Wow, they are so beautiful! I really liked this story, even if it has a sad end. The photos are just awesome, thanks for sharing with us 😊

Yes they were a special duo. Thank you very much!