Vegan Pot Stickers

in OCD4 years ago

It's Friday it's Friday! Even though each of my days is the same I realize that it's #foodfightfriday which I had participated in once. I just can't keep track of what day it is.

DSC_9666.jpg

A few here have heard my redundant rants about my in laws kitchen, and how difficult it is to do anything in there. My mother in law is easily agitated by odors and aromas and things going on. I use many ingredients compared to her. She pretty much makes fried pork three times a day in different variations using only salt and pepper. When she gets wild she makes some soup with potatoes and can beans with nutmeg. I hate nutmeg unless it is combined with other spices appropriately. She puts the left overs in the dog's bowl every time and every time he doesn't eat it

Yesterday was supposed to be Costco day where they go shopping across town. It usually gives me an hour and a half to use the kitchen. We waited and waited but they didn't go. Then they both said they were going to the local pharmacy which I figured would take around half an hour.

I dared to start a project of making pot stickers. This would have to be done fast enough to have the main prep done by the time they got back.

As soon as they got out the door I ran to the fridge like they do on Iron Chef, and quickly got out a head of savoy cabbage, a carrot , a bunch of green onions and a brick of tofu for the filler. The cabbage and carrots would have to be steamed down and cooked in order to make a filling.

DSC_9612.jpg

As the items were steaming I grated half a brick of tofu and chopped a bunch of green onions.

DSC_9617.jpg

Because of my needing to hurry, I cut the steaming of the cabbage and carrots short. This would make it more challenging to fill the wrappers. It's much easier to do when things are softer. I strained them, rinsed them in cold water and mixed them in with the tofu.

I only sprinkled salt on this.

DSC_9627.jpg

In the past I have often made my own wrappers from flour and water. It was surprising to me the first time I made it that it was easier than I thought. It's much more satisfying as well. This time I had to buy store bought ones due to the circumstances.

DSC_9633.jpg

Because of the cabbage not being cooked down enough, I decided to use two wrappers to avoid the dumplings from breaking. In order to keep the two wrappers from sliding, I brushed water on each one to ensure they didn't slip apart.

DSC_9641.jpg

In the middle of filling the wrappers, I was in for a surprise. It had only been ten minutes and the folks were already home. Arggghhh!

I quickly cleaned up and took everything outside to the patio tables and continued.

DSC_9643.jpg

If you are doing this for the first time it can be tricky to close the wrappers without anything sticking outside. I am no expert at this but I just found a way that I like and that is to stretch gently the opposite edges and pinch each side closed first. A pro may do it differently but it works for me.
DSC_9646.jpg

With doubling up on the wrappers I managed to use them all. Usually I have quite a few left.

DSC_9649.jpg

Thankfully we purchased a camping stove last year which we stored in the basement before we took our four month trip around Asia, mostly Thailand. We were able to finish the job outside.

I heated a pan lightly coated with oil and placed the pot stickers inside. When they were browned on each side I added water to cover the bottom of the pan and then covered the pan on lower heat. When the water was boiled out I turned them over and added more water then covered and cooked until the water was gone and the pan was fairly dry.

DSC_9659.jpg

Fortunately we had some leftover peanut dressing that I had made for salad the other day. It was perfect for a dipping sauce.

DSC_9671.jpg

There are sauces you can make for these but I have a weakness for peanut sauce. You can check out my recipe for peanut dressing which I used for these and added a bit of hot sauce to it because it wasn't spicy enough for us. We are spice monsters.

DSC_9679.jpg

If you want a peanut free dressing you can make one with a cup of water, 2 or 3 minced garlic cloves 2 tablespoons brown sugar, chilies,1 teaspoon minced ginger. 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar 1 teaspoon sesame oil. Boil it than cool it off for dipping.

DSC_9683.jpg

Thanks for dropping by!

Sort:  

Gorgeous! 2 big plates please :p

Coming right up!!!

This looks really good. I love it

Oh gosh I can just imagine you flying around the kitchen trying to get these done! Looks like they turned out pretty awesome anyway. You know I'm always down for some peanut sauce. 😋

I'm glad you can imagine haha. Thanks!


@carolynstahl
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into
Round 8
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent Food Coma
Food coma_0
Good Luck
and
Keep using that #FFF Tag on your
Friday Food Flingin’ Posts.

I actually feel a bit sorry for your in-laws, leading such a sheltered life in terms of food preferences and seasonings. It sounds like a rather bleak existence, and they are certainly allowing a great opportunity to pass them by, with such kitchen creatives as you and Marc under their roof temporarily!

ANYWAY... the pot stickers look delicious! You did such a great job with them, as you always do with everything! I love the way you make things so very easy, and the unique twists that you put into your creations! If only I were wealthy, I'd buy a restaurant and give it to you and Marc for your very own, and then stop by often to sample your wares! 😁

You write so very well...
Your pics are wonderful...
Your dishes are so creative...
You've visited some fascinating places...

Have you ever considered writing a book? Part travel book, part recipe book, part memoirs... Seriously! No joke! I think that is a project at which you would excel, and I think it would sell and be interesting to readers, too! 😉

Oh my gosh I am so honored by your comment. How inspiring and uplifting that is right now.

You know Marc's folks are like children that have lived long. Imagine the father was given a kidney by Marc and after two years it failed. Marc hasn't been to a doctor since he gave the kidney in the hospital over ten years ago. They said we are just believing in the healthy stuff and it's a placebo effect that why we are always well for the most part. Meanwhile he is going to dialysis three days a week> She and he are on a library of medication. She had a bypass surgery 3 years ago, and they roll their eyes at us. We never tell them to do anything to change their diet. We show them what we do and we tell them why and they think we are crazy.

The fact that you would by us a restaurant if you could, is as meaningful or more than if you did. I appreciate that so much!

You are always coming up with these awesome dishes you like to see people's mouths watering up ...lol 😆

Gosh that was speedy work @carolynstahl, you really are a magician in the kitchen! Looks sooo delicious, the in laws don't know what they're missing!!!

Haha thanks @lizelle, the inlaws know they want to miss this.😄