Walk in my Montreal neighborhood

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

I don't often do a #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay because of the weather and my exhaustion from working in a restaurant. I am a slave still at this age and in these times it's a good thing. I have a job.

We knew that it would be sunny and milder on our days off so we forced ourselves to get some air and grab whatever sun we can get until we have a day off again.

We often feel like just curling up in our dimly lit apartment and hiding from the world but yesterday we took the bull by the horns, close to evening and got out to see what was going on.

Destination park nearby.

DSC_7726.jpg

By the time we got there the sun was starting to slowly set. We sat for a bit to absorb and observe.

DSC_7728.jpg

When we look into the direction of Mont Royal park, we can pretend we don't live in the middle of the downtown. We live in the Plateau where everyone who likes the Montreal scene. that once was, desires to go.

DSC_7731.jpg

Young friends are gathered to laugh and play while they can. They have announced the plans to put the curfew back to eight p.m. which was recently changed to 9.30 p.m. from 8 p.m. but it is going to be short lived.

DSC_7732.jpg

They have also announced a plan for a hard lockdown in three weeks along with not opening restaurants for dining until next fall. They say it will probably not happen because of the next wave coming. I wonder how they know.

Meanwhile folks are getting as much freedom as they can by doing the things that Montrealers like to do.

DSC_7752.jpg

As the last of the warm sun lingered we started to stroll back to our apartment. It's nice to get out but we always want to get back to our lair like a horse that runs back to the barn.

DSC_7754.jpg

The folks that live beside this park have it made with the park being like a massive front yard.

DSC_7756.jpg

We strolled down a side street from the park, back to the street where we live.
DSC_7758.jpg
DSC_7759.jpg

DSC_7790.jpg

This is St. Laurent Boulevard where we live. This was one of three main streets that tourist and locals went for several reasons. Back in the day before the current situation, people flocked to this strip.

DSC_7771.jpg

This area was always famous for it's vintage clothing stores which still remain but relocated a bit.

DSC_7801.jpg

There is a store that sells only hats which is always empty but surprisingly still operates when allowed to open. I think it's been there since wearing nice hats was more popular. Now because of six months of cold weather, the toque is the main hat being worn by young and old.

DSC_7788.jpg
I stand before the original vintage store that had been there for years but moved up the street to a nicer place.

There are many little shops selling food, and specialty items. Upstairs are apartments mostly.

DSC_7798.jpg

Pizza, coffee, and pastry shops are a popular thing to get in this area. Most small eateries have seating outside for people to wait for their food and sit later to eat or have a coffee.

DSC_7782.jpg

This is one of the most famous areas where people would go to get Montreal smoked meat. The lineup was so long that I couldn't understand how anyone would have the patience to stand and wait to be fed. All that for a sandwich. Even when I ate meat years ago, I would have never dreamed of standing in line for this.

DSC_7807.jpg

Montreal has some pretty cool alleys that even have seating and nice plants to stroll by.

Below is not one of them.
DSC_7814.jpg

This is the corner looking onto my workplace.
I work in the lime green place with the brown awning at the edge. It's a new vegan restaurant that recently got graffitied by a vegan activists. Why would they put this on a vegan place?

The place in the front with the flowers is the vegan sandwich shop with a Mexican theme. Both are owned by our boss. We make food for us and them. Beside the sandwich shop is a vegan pub owned by someone else. This was not planned but turned out to be what I call the vegan corner.

DSC_7821.jpg

Standing from the same spot I turn to see the building that we live in.

DSC_7823.jpg

There is a wine store downstairs. Dangerous for wine lovers.

DSC_7829.jpg

At the corner beside our entrance is a pizza place which offers vegan pizza. Once we were lazy and ordered a pizza for delivery after curfew. The delivery man was really confused that he just had to go next door. I still gave him a big tip.

DSC_7837.jpg

Looking across the street I see the grocery store that I run to when I'm lazy. Before the curfews, it was open 24 hours. This was convenient for people that work in restaurants. Now they close early, but they still have 24 hour store prices. Sometimes they have great bargains on markdown items. I love looking there. They would be better off charging decent prices and selling them full price.

DSC_7831.jpg

As we pivot around we head into our building which is well maintained but has no balconies. We live in the back facing a brick wall from the building next door. But the catch is that I just have to cross the street to get to work.

Marc is the door opener. He hates that I can never find my keys.

Have a good day folks!

Sort:  

Nice walk Now we know all about you and Mark.. he he

You are looking pretty 😍. Have a nice day my dear.

Aww thank you my friend!!! You have a nice day too.

SUCH fantastic "moments in life" captured! You have a keen eye for a good angle. Really love all the graffiti too - such an underrated art.


ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

Oh thank you @jaynie it really means a lot to me coming from you!

My absolute pleasure :)

Very beautiful the streets of your city... it is a very colorful place, you can feel the kindness and happiness in the faces of the people who live there. Thank you very much for sharing such beautiful pictures.
A big hug!

Aww so kind of you. It used to be much more alive before everything got shut down. this town was known for festivals and theatre and tourism. Now it's over and nothing left but a shell.

Hugs from Canada!

hello @carolynstahl ,
I really like to see photos of faraway places that I hope to visit someday, I am impressed by how clean and tidy everything is, it speaks very well of that society and the quality of life of its citizens, nice photos thanks for sharing them.

I'm promoting That curation trail on HIVE and it would help me a lot if you forward it, You can also check it yourself: you might find it interesting to join, I'd love to hear your comments.

Thank you @trabajosdelsiglo I appreciate that. I will check it out.