Some life and business

in OCD4 years ago

It's the last day of summer, if you count summer to end at the end of August, as is often thought in Finland. And indeed, the weather is starting to show first signs of the dawning autumn.

The summer has gone too quickly, and even though lots of our energy with @rrusina has gone to arranging our new apartment and adjusting to changing conditions in both of our lives, we've still managed to enjoy and experience summer and its surprisingly sunny days overall.

We've been living under the same roof for exactly 3 months now and I have to say that I've liked it far more than living by myself - or well, with my dad, to be precise. We've noticed an interesting dynamic occurring between us: @rrusina is the one who's "the doer", sometimes too much so that she doesn't manage to come down from the stresses of the day. This is how she described her life being while living alone; she couldn't stay still. Meanwhile I'm the more passive one by my temperament, also "slow with my movements" as @rrusina says, though not in a bad context since my presence slows her down a bit. For myself, @rrusina has been an activating force thanks to whom I've become more of an active participant, not spending as much of my life passively. She's been a driving force also with my starting massage business by encouraging me to finish the massage room's decoration soon and start marketing the business on social media. All these things have increased having more control on the outcomes of my own life. Lots of it is thanks to her :)

I've heard an opinion that you should live by yourself first, until you're ready to live with someone else. I don't subscribe to that. As a species, living alone is a trend created just recently in the modern age.

IMG_9118.jpg

I had a new try with the interior pictures by using a different strategy by decreasing the aperture to the smallest (f/16) and using a tripod with a long shutter speed. Much better results.

IMG_9122.jpg

Thus far I have massaged only my friends and familiars, but tomorrow I'm having my first client not from my own circle, but one who has come regularly for my treatment at school. I'm still a student until December so it feels nice to be early in the game for creating some income with my own efforts.

IMG_9103_02.jpg

Sort:  

Hell yah!

Awesome to see you diversifying your income and adding pursuits to your life. Do not be afraid to ask for referrals! You can say you prefer to do things organically and count on referrals to sustain your business. You will be surprised at how a satisfied client will support you and if each gives a referral, you can concentrate on massaging rather than too much on sales.

Gratz man!

Hmm... Would referral system then in massage be something like giving discounts for people who refer new clients for me? It sounds like an option to consider.

Posted using Dapplr

Yah something like that.

I would calculate the lifetime value of a customer (how many times per month ( Year?) x fee per session X 2 year (or 3 if that is common in that industry?) Then, offer a free extra session per referral (that gets booked and paid) to preferred clients. That way, you immerse them more in your service/experience with more sessions, enable them to help you out painlessly (they have you top of mind when people ask where they should go) and gain more clients based upon good service. Maybe give them priority booking to get in quicker if they need an emergency treatment?

It is amazing how people will help out someone just starting out and it is good to build that into your business model.

I like the interior color, it's calming and relaxing.

Thanks, then I think succeeded with the design :D

Posted using Dapplr

It’s definitely easier to get your shit together when you are only responsible for yourself but that doesn’t mean it’s impossible with other people around. They tend to push you to improve yourself by being more difficult to deal with if you don’t. As long as they are the right people. Sounds like you guys are doing well

It’s definitely easier to get your shit together when you are only responsible for yourself but that doesn’t mean it’s impossible with other people around. They tend to push you to improve yourself by being more difficult to deal with if you don’t.

A good friend can also push you a little when needed.

Sounds like you guys are doing well

Overall it's been net-positive. Hope you're well too.