You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opening taps and a UX focus

in OCD4 years ago

Working on a house is a long time process. Which your daughter might probably continue herself. Tastes change and the thing you like now might not suit you 10 years from now.
There is a degree of smartness in being happy with what you have, not spending more than you need and choosing to live a life of comfort outside the house too. I sometimes dream about a small wooden house, only with bare necessities and being able to do more travelling, exploring, investing those money in experiences. But for the moment I have no family or kids, I am sure that the perspective might change in time.

A house is a beautiful thing to take care of and to create memories in it. The financial efforts are considerably big. But as long as the people who live in it are happy, I think it is worth it.

Sort:  

Tastes change and the thing you like now might not suit you 10 years from now.

This is why I don't get people spending thousands on a couch that they will get tired of in 4 years.

I sometimes dream about a small wooden house, only with bare necessities and being able to do more travelling, exploring, investing those money in experiences.

I like the idea of this too, but then there also the practical considerations. I think we can live with very little, but we are also affected by what we want.

The financial efforts are considerably big. But as long as the people who live in it are happy, I think it is worth it.

Yep, likely the biggest amount I will ever spend on one thing - but then, it will be something in time also. I could also spend the same amount on thousands of little things and have nothing of consequence to show for it as well.

To want more and then be satisfied with what you have is a balancing act. To wish constantly for more means to be always unhappy, and being content with what you own having no desire to improve is stagnation. A balance is necessary because we need to feel we grow somehow and head towards a better future.

It is finding the balance that is the difficulty as leaning too far either way means over consumption or becoming lethargic. never being able to move enough or, never wanting to move - both are unlikely enjoyable long term.

I agree😊

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.