Hair Cut Day- Sound The Trumpets

in OCD4 years ago

How lovely to wake up on a public holiday morning(no difference) knowing someone is visiting to come and cut your hair. Talk about a highlight for the week whooppeee!!!!


source
Can be painful especially for a hairy beast like me.

Normally I pay no attention to my hair and go to the Syrian barber around the corner and have the works.They do the haircut plus all the extras like threading eye brows with a piece of cotton. I don't know why I volunteer this every time as it can be seriously painful. Basically you are being plucked whilst still alive and it does make you stare into the mirror that much more intensely.


source
Syrian barber takes on a whole new perspective these days as there is pain involved.

The next trick is the hot wax for your ears and nostrils dipped on the end of an ear bud. This is a manly style cut so no testing how hot the wax is first and bang in she goes. It cools down rapidly, but the first contact with the skin on the inside of your nostril brings it alive and makes it oh so real.

For fun I used to invite work colleagues for a haircut and pay for the extras as this is great entertainment for those watching. The noises coming from the chair followed by some cussing is hilarious. The barbers being Syrian have limited English and you wonder what and how they arrived in Johannesburg. I have never asked as the works always includes a shave with a cut throat blade so politics is never on the agenda. Who would be so stupid to ask a Syrian why he is here with your neck at his mercy?


source
No personal questions like are you an illegal immigrant?

Today's cut was a lot more formal however with me sitting in my dressing gown listening to how the hair dressers business has been ruined by the lock down. Her landlord still requested the $2500 rent she was paying and has locked them out of their business permanently. A little wrong but I can see both sides as there is no government assistance for both parties.

How many others are in the same boat and have had their livelihood whisked away leaving them to become illegals/criminals operating during the lock down period. She has to survive and I take my hat off to her for providing a home visit service as it was very much needed by me and appreciated. How far have we dropped that something so simple and everyday has become so hard to obtain.

Sort:  

That watching nonsense sounds brutal. I use a trimmer for my nose!!

I have always wanted to get a straight razor shave, but there are not that many places that do it around here anymore. My dad used to get one every time he went to the barber shop.

i hate going to barber shop. i mainly need to go for a haircut, the other things i can handle myself... they keep shoving my head to one side then another and then bend like this or that, is so annoying. Sometime i consider just taking a trimmer and shaving the entire head but that look really bad so.....

that nose waxing must hurt though.... hair removing from nose is suppose to bring tears.... does that happen to you?

I've always wondered about the nostril and ear waxing, but I've never tried it. I can only imagine the tears welling up and streaming down my face.