My First Attempt at Poetry - The Forsaken Beaver

in OCD4 years ago


The Forsaken Beaver

There is a disastrous storm ahead. I'll warn everyone so we get through it...
No one will listen. There is something wrong with them or maybe they don't care.

I hope I'm not going crazy. My family will come back. I hope it's not too late.
I was abandoned because they are stupid. Why did I say anything, maybe it was going to be fine.

I'll learn how to fix this. I can build the best dam and save everyone. They'll see then...
This is too hard, I can't build. There is no way I can afford to pay someone. Why won't anyone just listen and help.

Who cares what happens, forsaken me. They'll wish they listened and helped. Idiots.

There is no way I'm going to die. I've got nothing to lose. I was wasting time.
I knew it wasn't that hard. I can't wait until everyone sees what I'm making.

I can't believe it, this is going to work. I can save everyone. I built the best dam ever.
They still don't care, now it's worse than ever. I took too long.
~Storm Passes

This is the best day of my life. Things will be so much better now.
I am a fool, but at least my family is alive. I was so dumb before.

Things have never been better. Life is amazing.


Meaning: Destiny takes you to mysterious places when you take actions


My First Attempt at Poetry

To some readers, I'm sure it's no surprise to learn this is my first attempt at any form of poetry. I did very little research or planning, I just picked a theme and went with it using a metaphor. Just been feeling the emotions flowing so this was my attempt to harness that.

I hope you enjoyed my first poem.



Sort:  

I liked it. Random fact - I found a beaver dam today hiking. My kids loved seeing.

hahaha I can imagine. My boy loves just about every living creature too!

I like it, I love poetry on here in general, nice work