Selling a Painting on MakersPlace, Playing in the sea, & Drying Petticoats and seaside Teaparties

in OCD3 years ago

pugskullnoletteringSMALL.jpg
The best way to start out this vlog is to say hurrah I sold this piece on Makersplace and that is all thanks to Hive (and Steemit) as it was through this wonderful platform(s) that selling one's work this way was introduced to me. My Makersplace STORE is right here: https://makersplace.com/donnadavis/

This piece is special to me as it was a portion of a larger work I had been working on for some time (over a year) and I worked on it is sections. It was this section that really told me, "Listen I am my OWN finished piece" and one never argues with paintings, especially if it's early in the morning in one's studio and one has NOT had their morning coffee.

I am now sketching out a new piece to be a part of what I hope THIS piece could be in a series of Animals in Shakespeare. I'd give a hint, but I'll tell you in my video that goes along with this post...I'll save it as an Easter Egg to lure you to watch my video...the lengths we Youtubers will go, eh?

Now, today's post, which coincides with my vlog, has me doing one of my favourite pastimes: Playing in the sea along our shore here in New England; Wellies on and in the drink is one of my favourite places to be.

9septDressinSea.jpg

Sometimes I imagine myself a time traveler and having had my old pic snapped years earlier in the same activity:

9septMeDressOldPhoto.jpg

I had to admit to rather liking getting the salt water and sand in my petticoats. Sittins on the stone steps after beach combing and filming (one has to document such things as a youtuber I suppose) it's good to feel the squish of sea water in your wellies as you let the fading Summer sun warm you. (Note tripod like a good videographer)

9septWetWellies.jpg

And of course there is always time for a tea break so when I set out a lovely tea for myself on the terrace to break up my day of art and video and editing a bit of my clothing joined me as guest...there in the upper right of the photo.

9septTeanPetticoat.jpg

That's right my petticoat was drying nicely in the increasing winds we are apt to get on a New England seashore in early September. It was freshly laundered so I suppose it was a presentable guest to have for tea.

9septpetticoat.jpg

IF you'd like to see this adventure then Please watch it in my video here (and you'll hear the Easter Egg of what my next painting in this series will be for Makersplace)
Thank you for stopping by and remember, Stay Creative...and maybe get some sea water in her petticoats or trouser cuffs, it' does no end of good for the soul.

cheers!