Looking Back To Last Year's Gardening Season

in OCD4 years ago

Two days ago I did a post that I named Garden Photo Parade - Flowers And Fruits, about the flowers and fruits we had and always have in the garden. I did the post to cheer me up and promised to be back with the vegetables, so here I am, but first let me show you the latest development in our "apartment greenhouse".

IMG_20200205_200526a.jpg

These are dahlia seedlings. This is another example and a confirmation that is you're doing it right, you'll get results.

IMG_20200205_200801a.jpg

This is the envelope of the seeds, it's basically a mix or colors and I'm truly hoping to get more than one color this time. However, this is a big win already as my dad said he has never got any seedlings from seeds so far. The problem is the soil. He planted the seeds directly outside in the garden but experience tells us it's not suitable for growing them, you need proper soil specially for growing seedlings, then you'll get them. But, there's always a but!

IMG_20200205_200810a.jpg

The instruction says you have to plant them in April!!! Why? Don't ask me, I have no idea, I'm not a horticulturist, but trust those who made the instructions. My dad however was inpatient, he wanted to plant the seeds early, I could not convince him to wait. I guess we'll see what's going to happen. Regardless, I'm happy to have these little beautis and hoping to see them flowering soon. Imagine the color parade :)

steemit-border

Vegetables

This year is going to be tricky as we don't know what's going to happen. If we're going to manage to do something, will be us against time and nature. My dad has some health issues and can't be at his place, let alone do gardening, so the garden's future is still a mystery. We decided to plant only the basics in case we can start in time. Let's see what are the basics.

IMG_20190528_110541a.jpg

Onions, what else? :) Yes, these are a must! We always plant a lot, I mean I, as that's my job as no one is fit to do that.

IMG_20190528_110240a.jpg

How much is a lot? Twice as much as you see in this photo.

IMG_20190429_131759a.jpg

This is all onions, red, yellow and white, all from the Netherlands. Dutch know what they are doing, they are very good at this.

IMG_20190528_110250a.jpg

Imagine having a fresh onion for your salad or for cooking, any time you want. Fresh and organic as we don't use chemicals.

steemit-border

Tomatoes

IMG_20190529_154518a.jpg

The other vegetable (although it's considered a fruit) is tomato. We can't do without it as it's so delicious and I use it raw, as tomato juice and in different canned dishes. All you see around those poles is tomato.

IMG_20190810_094538a.jpg

Last year we had five or six types of tomatoes, some big, the others small, some for juice, others for cooking and consumption. It's better to have more types as you can get better results by picking the best one for your recipe or dish.

IMG_20190810_094615a.jpg

These grow on the ground, are a little bit harder than the other types, perfect for tomato juice.

IMG_20190810_094638a.jpg

These are black cherry tomatoes, perfect for a vegetable salad.

IMG_20190810_094558a.jpg

This is the queen of tomatoes, it's called the bull heart as it's heart shaped and the best tomato if you ask me.

IMG_20180809_155907a.jpg

These are yellow tomatoes and tricky as well. You have to pick them before they turn yellow as when yellow they are already to ripen.

IMG_20190730_103014a.jpg

There's plenty as you can see and I hope we can have half this year at least. It helps a lot to have healthy, home grown and homemade food.

steemit-border

Pepper or Paprika

IMG_20190624_081710a.jpg

These are also a must, a great source of vitamin and a key ingredient in many recipes, especially for canned food I do for winter.

IMG_20180809_160311a.jpg

This year there's going to be at least four types again, each one for something different. This is for raw consumption.

IMG_20180809_160329a.jpg

These are for pickles as well.

IMG_20180809_160223a.jpg

This is also a must, can be used as stuffed with minced meat and cooked or as pickles stuffed with cabbage.

IMG_20180809_155831a.jpg

These are my enemies, they are called apple pepper and are hot like hell :)

steemit-border

Cucumbers

IMG_20190624_075132a.jpg

Cucumbers, my favorites! There's nothing better in the morning than when you go out and pick your fresh and organic vegetables for the breakfast. It's heaven and pure health.

IMG_20190705_164236a.jpg

IMG_20190813_113357a.jpg

I love a good cucumber salad and I'm using cucumbers to hydrate my skin, it's perfect for the job. Imagine how many cosmetic products are on the market based on cucumber extract. I can have that for free, fresh without any chemicals.

steemit-border

Beans

IMG_20180809_155812a.jpg

We always do canned beans with onion, tomato and herbs for winter. You just open the can and you have a soup in like ten minutes. It's very useful.

IMG_20180721_091204a.jpg

steemit-border

Cabbage

IMG_20180809_155806a.jpg

Cabbage is also necessary, we use a lot in cooking and also fresh in salads, plus for pickles. It's important.

steemit-border

When I look at it, this is quite a lot and I'm not sure it'll be doable this year. My heart will be aching and my dad will also be sad if we can't do it but health is important. Maybe next year it's going to be better. In any case I guess I'll be more busier this year as I need to help more. Fingers crossed.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 21 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!BEER
2

Many thanks Pix!

Shared on Twitter

I think you deserve some $trdo

I really appreciate it.


Hey @erikah, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

🍻 Cheers!

Wow! This looks more like a farm than a garden, @erikah. Great job with all and especially the dahlias. They will be so pretty.

@tipu curate

Thank you, it's not so big but it's enough to keep us busy :)

I don't have thhe option to grow food right now, so I really enjoyed this post, @erikah. Keep 'em coming :)

Stay tuned, as soon the gardening season starts, I'll be posting more :)

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Many thanks, I rally appreciate it.