Blooming cactus - Mediolobivia mudanensis

in OCD4 years ago

Few years ago when I started to get really into growing cacti I put this one my wishlist. Among all the yellow and dark pinks this one looked so delicate and unusual. Peachy pink flowers on a small round cactus stole my heart!

And I got it eventually. A small cutting arrived to me about 2,5 years ago. And I am watching it like hawk.

Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis


Mediolobivia mudanensis 2020 4.jpg

This little one can be found natively in Bolivia and Argentina. It is a small cactus and grows a bit slow too. At least for me. But knowing that I tend to overwater them, I prefer to water less and have them growing slower, than trying to pump them and find then all rotten one day. I hope it will soon start growing some offshoots, so that I can split it and have it in two separate pots. Just in case ;).

Mediolobivia mudanensis 2020 1.jpg

Mediolobivia mudanensis 2020 2.jpg

Mediolobivia mudanensis 2020 5.jpg

I checked some photos from the blooms from last year and I think the flowers had a bit paler colour. This year it has more orange. I like the way it looks this year. The flowers also seem a bit bigger and have better shape. I guess the age did that and maybe the extra vitamins I gave them at the beginning of the season.

Mediolobivia mudanensis 2020 3.jpg

Mediolobivia mudanensis 2020 7.jpg

To compare: photo above I took today, below was taken last year when it bloomed. The pot is the same so you see it did grow a bit, but is still pretty small.

image.png

Lastly a group photo with her roomies. Funny how last year there were different cacti in bloom together with this one. This year they only have buds forming and will bloom a lot later.

Today we have: sulcorebutia frankiana with dark flowers, Sulcorebutia langerii with yellow, Mammillaria matudae with tiny pink flowers and of course our today's start in the front.

Mediolobivia mudanensis 2020 8.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum

Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Week 2 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!

!bro

Thanks! :)

bro.gif

You have just been bro-fisted by the guys in the man cave and now have 1 more BRO. Enjoy!**

For more info, please give us a look in here: https://discord.gg/qd8J2x3

Thanks Bro! :D