Air Compressor, Walk-in Cooler, Family - Friday

in OCD4 years ago

I started yesterday by ripping into the air compressor that died on Wednesday. I pulled the motor and pump head off and disassembled it. First was the starter cap, then the fan, then the windings in the housing.

IMG_20200710_113825.jpg
IMG_20200710_114550.jpg

I checked the starter cap and it measured proper capacitance and voltage.

IMG_20200710_120312.jpg

I checked the windings and they tested okay with continuity through them.

At his point I did some more digging in books and online and it seems the rotor is bad. There are no visible windings so I am not able to test to make sure, but that is the last piece that I could check, so must be the problem. I then went about disassembling the rest of the compressor for the various parts and pieces that I can use elsewhere. I will be buying an new, larger, standup style compressor.

IMG_20200710_120356.jpg

The meat birds don't like me metering their food and act like they are starving any time there is no feed. I am throwing them scoops during the day so they have to hunt and peck for it rather than inhale from the trough.

IMG_20200710_121325.jpg

The walk-in cooler was left over winter and it had become a bit worse for wear. Well, the fridge part did but the rest of the cooler was not bad. The light I had in the cooler had stopped working last year and I needed to come up with something new. The old light had a pull chain on it and the contacts had corroded so I needed something that was not going to get hurt by the moisture. I remembered the set of switches I have had for 20+ years, that are in a box of my electrical stuff in the house.

IMG_20200710_151201.jpg

I took a single gang box and fixed the outlet to one side.

IMG_20200710_151301.jpg

Then I installed the switch in the other end. I added a couple of connectors on the power wires to plug into the switch.

IMG_20200710_151747.jpg

I screwed the whole thing to the ceiling after wiring in the power wires. It works perfectly and the switch is more than enough for the single led light. Nice thing is that this is moisture resistant and not likely to go out.

IMG_20200710_152158.jpg

Once I got light in the cooler again I was able to start cleaning the horrible mess of a fridge out. This is after a healthy amount of mopping, sopping, and wiping. I grabbed a cleaner from the house and sprayed down the inside and wiped it out fully.

IMG_20200710_163205.jpg

After getting the fridge part cleaned I was able to get the Coolbot restarted which updated its firmware.

IMG_20200710_164525.jpg

I set the a/c unit to fan and left the cooler to air out for a few hours. There were tiny flies and the smell of the cleaner that needed to go.

IMG_20200710_164533.jpg

I cleaned off the shelves and swept it out. About 8:00 pm I went out and turned the cooler on and closed it up to let it cool down to operating temp.

IMG_20200710_164818.jpg
IMG_20200710_164828.jpg

This morning the graph shows the various points during the day. At noon I opened the door to let it start to air out. At 5:00pm I turned the fan on and reset the Coolbot which are the black lines. Then at 8:00pm I turned the a/c on and the temp fell fast.

cooler.JPG

The boys brought out the Jenga set and were having fun playing their own version. They managed a couple of times playing "correctly" but then it devolved into blocks and building things.

IMG_20200710_173636.jpg
IMG_20200710_173743.jpg
IMG_20200710_173745.jpg

My horehound is doing amazing. It is fully naturalized to our climate now and is blowing up in size. I was looking around the base of it and found a bunch of sprouts. I am going to pull them as I am not wanting it to spread like wildfire. Now that it is flowering I should hack it back to keep it from seeding out.

IMG_20200710_192048.jpg

This spider was sitting on the top of one of the branches. Super hairy and huge pedipalps on it. Hard to get a super clear shot being zoomed in so far.

IMG_20200710_192136.jpg

The pole beans are getting thick and are giving me a thin row to walk down. Each day I have to spend some time organizing the vines and tendrils to keep the whole garden from becoming one big mass.

IMG_20200710_192410.jpg

After dinner we all went for a hike up the hillside for the sunset. I wasn't able to get any good shot of him but the cat even came with us. We had the whole family out for the hike.

IMG_20200710_204356.jpg

Ended the day with the catharsis fire.

IMG_20200710_212707.jpg

This morning I have to get more grain, pick in the garden, clear a spot for the load of wood that will be delivered Tuesday, and work on the tunnel since it will be 90F today.

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png



Sort:  

We have a coolbot for the cold room we built for hanging the meat from beef and pig and cooling the meat birds. It triples as a brooder room in May and as a painting room anytime else during the year.

Ahh, PERFECT! Thank you. I hadn't thought of the cooler for the birds at butchering. My focus has been on the produce. The room is really small, only 4x4 plus the bit of fridge space so it is a pretty dedicated space.