You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I visited a ZOO and it did not feel good.

in OCD3 years ago

Thank you for your story.
When I was a kid (long ago) I have been to several zoos with my parents. The circumstances in the zoos are quite good over here. The animals have a lot of space and most zoos have replaced cages with 'natural like' environments.
But it's still animals in captivity. And I must say my point of view about zoos changed over the last few years. Animals that live in zoos often are born there, so they wouldn't even survive in the wild. But somehow it still doesn't feel right. I remember a polar bear in a nearby zoo that was walking the same round over and over again. Although the area was large, you could clearly see the path he was walking all day.
I haven't been to a zoo in the past few years and I don't think I will anytime soon.

Sort:  

Really touching.

People always try to make an effort to replicate the wild, but it can never really be.

Thanks for stopping by. I really appreciate.