You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abuse Fighting Groups: Let's Talk Solutions (Art Edition)

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Something I'm unsure about - if I take a photo and run effects and art filters on it, is that considered art? I hope it is, but it's just a photo with some filter effects

image.png

  • Which leads me to this - if I take an image that i don't even know where it originated from and do various stuff to it, would that be considered art? If so, how different would it need to be?

I do a lot of stuff like this for my blogs and webpages, but have no idea if it is art or not, so I don't tend to share much of it on Hive.

image.png

Sort:  

"What is Art?" in my mind is like one step down in depth to what is the meaning of life, but when it comes to Hive, I personally would rather people not monetize a photo that they don't own that they ran a filter or a few filters on, but that's just my opinion.

There are no laws here but the ones we decide on and choose amongst ourselves to enforce.

On the other hand if it's a photo you took or that you own, I think that would be fine to monetize or post or whatever. On the other hand, say you took a lot of photos and made a collage, then ran filters on that, I'd think that was fine as well. These are really abstract issues so there's never a black and white answer.

Thanks, that sounds reasonable - to make things simple I'll go with anything I do to my own photos could be art

image.png