1095 + 1 - G-dog's journey

in OCD4 years ago

It was today, 1095 days ago, that my first post went live on hive when it was called something else that I don't want to mention. It seems a lifetime ago, June 13th 2017, when I clicked publish on my introduction post and looking back I can see how my thoughts, writing style and how I present myself has evolved. It's not better or worse, just different.

Today begins my forth year I have been blogging here, day 1096, and on each and every one of those previous 1095 days I have published a post an average of 1.6 times per day and made countless replies and comments also. Millions and millions of characters; Millions of words I suppose too - Assume 1600 posts at an average of 700 words...That's 1.2 million words.

Sometimes I wonder how I have made the commitment, found the consistency and the ability to write original content for so long and how I have found the time, no invested the time into sitting here at my computer working away on the next, and the next and so on.

Working isn't really the right word though as I don't see it as that. It's enjoyment and at times catharsis, sounding-board, outlet (if you have read one of rants you will know what I mean), diary, life-log...Whatever you want to call it the last 1095 days can't really be called work. I've enjoyed it, been frustrated by it, been attacked through it and generally consumed by it. I'd have it no other way.

A long time ago I changed my focus from using the blockchain to gather crypto, that magic internet money I knew nothing about, to gathering enjoyment. From that point my experience changed, deepened, became more enjoyable; It is that action to which I credit my longevity here and the fact I have posted so much, seemingly with ease...Although I assure you a lot of time and effort goes into it.

Furthermore, and probably most importantly when considering why I am still here grinding daily, posting and engaging as much as I do, is you. That's right you...The one sitting reading this word here. And...This word and this one... You get the idea. It's been the engagement from the community that has rounded out my experience. So, thank you, you're all a bunch of knuckleheads but I appreciate you. If you feel all warm and fuzzy inside right now you are one of my favourites.

Anyway, I thought I'd drop a few links here to some of my past posts so that you could take a read. You don't have to, I know that only a few actually read posts here, however I'll do it anyway because, well I post for me, not others and these posts make me happy.

First I want to dot-point some highs and lows I've experienced. Just for the sake of posterity. So here goes.

  • High: First hundred followers, some of whom are still with me.
  • Low: Seeing people I valued and enjoyed drop off and disappear.
  • High: The relationships I've built and foster - The banter and engagement.
  • Low: Seeing people who could have a great experience here fail to put in the effort.
  • High: My first 1000SP achieved
  • Low: The reward pool and community abuse that seems rife. (Bad actors)
  • High: My first 1000 and then 2000 followers, although many are dead users now.
  • High: Making Dolphin and now Orca in hive power.
  • Low: Making comments to users that go un-replied to - Makes me sad.
  • High: The deep satisfaction I have gained here, despite the low's.

So, below are post I've written, some humorous about me, a couple fiction and a couple about my dad from some war-time stories he told me. Some gun stuff, art and a little history. It's just a cross section and not an all-encompassing indication of what I write about.

My Pegasus bike
My swimming pool greatness
The fire incident - Not my finest moment
The crossbow - Also not my finest moment
The knight story part one (fiction)
The girl story part two (from above, also fiction)
A dad story part one
A dad story part two
A dad story part three
The cyclops _ this is funny
Long range
Tai Chi - I am a master at it
The miscarriage (Fiction)
Goodbye cobber
My artwork - Personally drawn and totally amazing
Motorbike - Take a ride with me
Fiordland - NZ from my vacation
Light horse - Australian history
Disturbing art

I understand, it's the nature of this place that most will never click those links above and read the thousands and thousands of words there. Who really cares about what the old G-dog says anyway?

The thing is though, that in each of those posts, and every single one I write, there is a little bit of me, not all of me mind, just snippets. Combined they make the sum and total of me though...You may never see it, the complete whole, however I add a little bit into everything you will find here on hive. It is one of the things that means the most to me here - Being me.

I don't know what other people get out of hive, why they are here and why they bother. I guess money is the most prevalent reason but there must be others. It's about enjoyment for me. I just keep doing what I do, engaging posting and being me...It's enough for me, and for some others who join me in using this place for enjoyment.

Thank you to any who have supported me along the way, to those who have engaged and to my brother @tarazkp who harangued me to join in the first place. (Yes, he is my brother in real life - The smart one.)

I'm pretty keen to hear why you're here. What brought you to hive, what makes you stay, what you enjoy about it and what you think would be an area for change? I'm not a power-broker here, not someone who can make changes, just a small user who applies consistency, but it is cool to hear what others think, what changes people think they would like to see done differently. Also, feel free to tag the user name of any accounts you think I should be looking at.

Have a great weekend and take care.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

A very pleasant read. Congrats on the 4 year anniversary. On this blockchain this seems like ancient times, but really it is only a short window of time. And becoming orca within 4 years.., I could live with that :)

Both you and your brother are a breath of fresh air amidst the “will bitcoin now go up”-posts and when moom/lambo, what will you do when you are rich etc.

I personally enjoy the creation of something that is valued by some and then getting some reward for it. The very tangible sense of growth is what has kept me here. This is a new account for an experiment to show how quickly one can grow without investing fiat money. My main account is @elbrava. I think I’ve been here about 2,5 years or so.

Cheers!

I am glad other people are experimenting here. I also have an alt account which I am currently running an experiment with; The results should be out this week.

I'm not into the bitcoin and bullshit posts, I mean there's a place for them, but I wish they were in a community somewhere. I get it, that's the type of people that were first attracted here, but it's transgressed from there into a genuine social media where people what to hear about people, not endless posts about the block chain itself or whatever. There is room for all, but we need to be pushing content with personality, the personality and passion of the writer.

becoming orca within 4 year

Actually three...I am now into my fourth. :)

Have a nice weekend, and thanks for your comment. All the best with your experiment. Running two accounts is hard.

!ENGAGE 20

Yeah it looks like the bitcoin/blockchain development posts have pushed other topics into communities and tribes.

I’ll look out for that post about your alt-account then.

And wow, orca in 3 years! That is very well done. You must have been creating stuff that people like to read 😊

Cheers!

must have been creating stuff that people like to read

Well, it's all on my posts feed so you can see every one, some have been rewarded more than others, but all are a small part of me in words.

Success here, gaining consistent votes is as much about relationships as it is about quality content which is why I am always trying to promote engagement, outbound-engagement with depth. In my opinion it is the only way to get consistent votes that isn't a circle-jerk or some kind of reward-pool scam. Just my opinion.

I'll get that post done, which unsurprisingly is about engagement.

Thanks for responding.

That is indeed what it is. Engagement is the key. The only long term one!

I’m looking forward to that post 😉

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

@galenkp İt was really nice to read. Thanks for share it :))

And thank you in return for your comment.

I am staying here to know what ol' Grouchy is getting into trouble for next🤣😁

Lol, yeah he has been a little quiet...Too cold for the old boy I think...He'll come back soon though, with a suitably Grouchy-style story I'm sure.

He must be spending lot's of time with his new girlfriend 😉

If the Grouchy house is rockin', don't come knockin'.

😁👍

Galen, your post got me thinking into Greek drama. Tragedy, is often triggered by protagonist’s good quality, not his weakness. Sophocles Oedipus Rex, is one such example. People are drawn deeper into tragedy not by their weaknesses but by their virtues. Oedipus was drawn into tragedy not because he was lazy or dumb; but because of his courage and honesty. That’s an irony isn’t it?

A long time ago I changed my focus from using the blockchain to gather crypto, that magic internet money I knew nothing about, to gathering enjoyment.

So what you wrote above in a way protects us. We do not know our future and even due to our strengths we might get into some tragedy...like many of your friends who dropped out. Or burned out. But the enjoyment is like an insurance policy. At least, in that case our journey will be entertaining. That’s all I care for ;)

Cheers mate! Well done!!

As always, your words are intelligent, measured and very welcome.

I figure I can control my enjoyment here by what i write, being content with it, doing my best, or just having some fun with it...I can't control what people think of it, of me, or feel like rewarding me for my posts. I am all about controlling the controllable things and so I do so, here and in my life.

Thanks for always showing integrity, balanced thought and a deep sense of care for the blockchain.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I guess "work" (which is just effort put in) is ioften conflated with "job" (which is not always enjoyable) which is why it has such negative connotations XD What you're dioing (from the daily writing to the gun practice) is a hell of a lot of work. Thoroughly enjoying it doesn't make it any less work ;D

What brought me to hive was the same thing that brought everyone to hive, $$$ XD I kind of saw it kind of like Patreon (which I was using at the time) but I liked the pace of it a lot better (I eventually quit Patreon, kept the ko-fi I started up much later and stayed here). I'm staying because I still like talking to people here.

A good reason to stay, the people. Pretty much why I'm here too.

I've heard about Patreon but don't know anything about it; I guess I'm not interested enough to find out and considering that I don't really care what it's about I figure there's no point.

You're right, I work hard here, and in my real life, and don't see those things as work in the job sense of it, however the work I put in is still there. Let's call it effort instead though. I apply effort, and get reward, not always the money aspect of reward either, in fact, that's the secondary thing.

I don't think you'd be interested in Patreon unless you really wanted to support a creator that uses it. Or decided to add to the plethora of gun channels on Youtube as it's a slightly mor reliable way to monetise than waiting for their stupid ad revenue :)

Yes, it sounds that I would certainly, most definitely (defiantly maybe) have zero interest in it.

You are right, man! I think if someone wants to be on hive for a long time, he has to enjoy the process. You spot on that when you said,

I understand, it's the nature of this place that most will never click those links above and read the thousands and thousands of words there. Who really cares about what the old G-dog says anyway?

I believe we have a habit of swiftly move our thoughts. I am here for community. People who actually belong to each other. I think Hive must thrive on communities. I have seen many people earning a good amount of hives here, and still they get lazy to engage. Finally they are not here for months now. This is important question, Do we enjoy here? Otherwise our journey won't be longer.

And to enjoy we need to engage with like- minded people. I hope I could make sense. Your writing is straight out of your heart and so do my comment.

Hive✊️

Hi there. Yes, I agree many get rewarded for simply writing a post, and often it's not a very good one. I think that's one of the issues with the curation initiatives; The pay out on posts and that's what new users look for, they don't pay out on engagement. If they did I think we wold see a lot more engagement here.

For me it's a little of both. I reward the posts, but I need to get some engagement too. Lazy-engagers don't get far with me, I simply don't engage and so will never visit their posts.

It takes all kinds of users. People like me who write knowing few of those words will ever be read, and others who post a blurry image of a bowl of soup and get paid for it. It's the nature of it. I need to be content with what I do as it is a reflection of who I am and whilst most don't know me here, I know me and cutting corners, getting something for nothing, is not my style.

Thanks for your comment here. I appreciate it.

Congrats on your anniversary, you joined a month before me. Actually, I lurked for a month before diving in, so we're digital twins!

I was just thinking about this. Woke up, and had to do something about it. It dawned on me that I like creating something where nothing existed before. Sharing thoughts and ideas. These posts are like kids to me, completing an epic one is like giving birth.

I believe the most important thing short of writing and engagement, is that we get to leave something behind for those that will come after us.

Nothing's better than that. :)


source

Digital twins...Separated at birth! Lol.

I agree with you, thee is much more than just the rewards to be gained here, emotional or financial, there's the legacy of what we leave behind. I am sure that one day my little niece @smallsteps may read my blog, long afer I'm gone and say something like, my uncle was a total nut! Lol.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate it.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Never been a great writer, I have a technical background and writing is not my strength. That is one of the reasons I never paid too much attention to this project when I started reading about (the old name) blockchain social media network. Finally, one day almost three years ago I created my account and started posting, I was getting almost no votes for my posts. It was discouraging but just the result of not understanding nothing at all :)

I engaged with some users though and even attended some real-life meetings from users around town, then I focused in other crypto business models and stopped interacting for a long while.

When I read the news about Hive being created I decided to jump in again. I was surprised to see some of the old "promises" already implemented as communities, tokens, etc. I started engaging again with old contacts and testing the new features and also working on an old business model I had in my mind since my early days.
This is how I started interacting with you. I remember answering one of your posts and then you replaying to one my answer and also reading your comment on one of my bike ride posts, I believe it was the bike and beer one :)

Along the way, I started enjoying interaction, learned much more about all the ecosystem, and got really sucked into this fascinating platform.

I am now focussed on this new BeYourself project where we are trying to grow Hive helping onboard users and engage with brands.

We each have a different journey and yours seems similar to others I have heard, although unique to you.

I recall stalling my brother, telling him sure, sure I'll have a look, every time he mentioned it...Had I started six months earlier I wonder where I would be from an HP perspective...Certainly higher. But I made it here after all and am glad to have done so.

I interact a lot, and seem always to be talking about engagement in some format and feel it is pivotal to success. I don't always get to talk to as many as I would like as I'm often focused on those that need my assistance however it's nice to be able to drop by and say hello, with you for instance, knowing that I'll get a decent response. That's the thing with well-built relationships...They endure. If only newbies would understand that.

I hope BYS is going well.

Can’t believe it’s been that long man! Sorry I haven’t been in one of your posts for a while, I haven’t been spending much time on my feed lately with my outreach stuff. Some guy credited my outreach to him and the positive experience it was to the reason he bought 100k hive and powered up lol.

x130o3.jpg

I won’t have time to check out all of those posts but I will check out some of them. I always enjoy reading yours, that’s the truth. You have authenticity to all of it, not forced or fake emotions or words. Your father was an artist with his brush and pencils but I think you and Taraz are artists in your own right with your words and prose.

Although we’ve never met, I feel as if we would be friends that would shoot the shit like normal friends do. Lots of people don’t want to associate with others but on here we can associate with so many and from any part of the world.

We'd be friend for sure I think...That's probably common to most of those who engage with me over and over. We are all different, all individuals, but for those that connect and stay connected, there's a commonality that I feel would endure in the real world. I meet the other hive team from Adelaide regularly, in persona and a more diverse group you would never find...But it works. @mattclarke brought us together, but over-arching is hive (the former iteration of it that I can't even bring myself to mention.) I was having a hive meet up with a few in Finland this July, by the world caught the flu and my entire Scandinavian trip is off...Next year though.

It's good to see people like your friend here powering up. I hope it is used for the community and not against the community for farming which is a big problem. Time will tell. He's on my radar now.

Thanks for your comment. It's always good to say hi. I know you respect me, as I do you, and I also know how much you are working with newbies. The old G-dog has eyes everywhere bro. It has been mentioned up the chain too. Well done, keep pushing.

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I feel sorry for you - if you had another brother who posted differently, you could have been making memes instead :D

The numbers are interesting to look back at and I think you underestimate your words per post. However for perspective, a 300-page book is about 100K words.

The highs and lows are part of the journey here and I believe that those who make it long term are the ones who have strategies to deal with both sides.

People should take note of a what you do here and learn something about what it takes and how valuable it is to participate. Many people mead the catharsis before the Hive.

Yeah, I wanted to be modest...The number is probably more like 1000 per post and the posts are probably more like 1750 in number. Still, over a million words...Poor old computer keyboard huh?

People should take note of a what you do here and learn something about what it takes and how valuable it is to participate.

Agreed. I try to demonstrate, lead by example, suggest...You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink. I just try to do the right thing, lead from the front so to speak, and engage with people like the knucklehead crew (you know who I mean) and others who drop me a line now and then. I wouldn't change anything, well, except that I'd like 100,000HP. It's slow going.

Could you imagine if you were a Korean soup poster and that's what I learned here on hive also? 1096 days of soup posts, no words, 200,000HP! Lol.

In all honesty, I enjoy it here, lament the bad aspects of course, and sometimes rant to the knuckleheads, but genuinely like it here. I have huge hopes that we can drive this big old fucking blockchain bitch forward!

Considering it's my hivebirthday it would be appropriate to send a gift. I believe 45,000 hive wold be suitable.

Give the little unicorn a hug from uncle G-dog.

Yuhhuuu🎉🎉🎉 What makes me stay on Hive is the little community of people who were nice to me and showed me support although I am just a little fishy in the pond in a corner of the world. I felt included and accepted for who I am. With highs and lows.

Steemit... Say it dude...steemittt... Lol.

I've enjoyed it, been frustrated by it, been attacked through it and generally consumed by

It has been quite addictive hasn't it? In a good way though. I find writing and interacting with the community here quite therapeutic, doesn't hurt that I may get rewarded for it some day

Stee...St..ee...St...eem...Shit!

See? I can't say it. Every time I try is comes out as shit.

Reward comes in many forms and for me it takes on enjoyment, relaxation, distraction, and of course financial amongst others. This has been good for me and I'm fortunate to have made the relationships I have. What those people probably will never know is how they have helped me through difficult times and made good times better.

Ok, I'll not break into tears or anything...I'll have another go at the word...

St...St..Ste...Stee...St...ee...Shit. Damn it, it still doesn't work.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I came here for the cash pure and simple. Then, quite astonishingly it did change and I just started coming and doing it for fun and ever since then it's become much more enjoyable.

Congrats on the three years, I promise dude. If I get a minute I will try to click a link above at least. Although at the moment, refereeing between my kids I am struggling to get a second to take a shower!!! :0)

It would be nice if everyone had that same journey, financial reward to enjoyment.

Don't worry about those links mate. I'm a shit writer. Can't string two words together properly.

Good luck with the kids and shower cobber, may the both happen.

Ach away with your shite ya daftie, you are a very good writer and you know it. True your earlier stuff was probably gash but you know, you've improved ;0)

Lol...Yeah, I finally learned to read a few months ago and it has improved my writing so much.

Reading helps don't it! I actually get one of my cats, Madfoot to do my writing for me. He's an awesome writer and it frees up my time :0D

I had never thought of that...There's a magpie that knocks one of my windows each morning, I'm giving him my keys. Farewell hive, magpie is doing my posts from now on. Lol.

This is fucking magic!! Magpies and cats, we have found the future of blogging!!!

Lol, I joined in April 2017, spent the first few months thinking whether I should write or not.

Then worte about 100 posts.

But after @sidwrites left in 2018, I felt lonely here, not knowing many people...my interest to share anything died slowly.

However, I kind of feel that I have missed a lot in the last 3 years.

Now I am going to continue and build more connections here.

BTW, you have put so much consistent efforts, it's quite praiseworthy.

I will always take some inspiration from you whenever I will feel less motivated here.

Thanks a lot.

Hi there...Thanks for commenting.

One thing I noticed from your comment is how lonely you felt when a single user left. I think that's a nice lesson to all of the value of building relationships across the board, not just within a very small or select group.

The effort I have gone to is great; No one will understand without having done it themselves. I have enjoyed it though and will continue until I do not.

Congratulations on your four year mark, and congratulations on making Orca. That is an awesome accomplishment. You have also managed an awesome amount of posts. 👏👏👏
Enjoy your day and your week.

Thank you mate , it's been three solid years of effort but I've enjoyed it, pushed through the tough times and feel that today, on the first day of my forth year, I'm ready to push on and tackle another year. Orca has been hard to attain and it felt good reaching that milestone. 100K next. 🙂

Have a nice weekend, and thanks for your message.

That's pretty badass you've been able to consistently post every day for this long, you must really enjoy it! (Or be a glutton for punishment, one of the two 😃)!

Congratulations and all the best for year 4! Whaledom perhaps?

I'm still hunting down Orca status so hopefully the remaining "other chain" power downs will give a nice injection - also targeting 1 BTC too so need to balance that up! Going to keep posting though - have a great weekend and take it easy!

It's been a little bit of work for sure, not so much punishment, but some. I've mostly enjoyed it, met some nice people.

Yes, hopefully you can exchange the other for Hive and you'll be well on the way to Orca. Good work on the BTC too!

Have a great weekend.

Yes I have tried to post "regularly" with minimum of once per week when possible to stay in contact - posting every day last month was pretty tough though and had to have a general breather, no harm in a system recharge 😁

Thanks, may have to buy the remaining Hive to make it up to Orca if my impatience kicks in haha!

Take it easy

The 4th and hopefully the best so far :)

I think we spoke not long ago about Hive been a place to chat and be social - it's been key for my mental health over the past few months.

Thanks for being here!

I'm hoping so too, but if it is like the last three years have been I won't complain as I've gotten a lot of out of it. Yes, I recall that conversation and it is good to know that others feel the same, or similar, as I do about it. Once a knucklehead, always a knucklehead hey?

Knucklehead 6,560 here feeling warm and fuzzy. Why am I here? Originally it was for the promise of being on the ground floor of something big that could make me some money. I guess that is still part of why I'm here but what makes it enjoyable is reading other peoples perspectives on life and their experiences and it gives me a little bit of an outlet for some of my creativity and thought. I don't know how you manage to write so much great content. But like you said, you are just putting little pieces of your soul on the blockchain and it's becoming quite apparent the caliber of person you are.

I've rarely been in early on ground floor opportunities so this was a good chance to do so; To have the ability to gain some other benefits is a bonus, and at this stage, has overtaken the financial opportunity in full. I hope, for all of us, that this turns into something and we can make all this effort pay off.

Thanks for your kind words and comment, I appreciate it.

i have just read your article with a great curiosity . Actually i don't know the first platform but i like the hive and as a minnow everything looks great for now... You live everything in here and every memory has a different story for you. Good or bad...

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day...

Thank you for your message. All I hope is that people find the same degree of enjoyment here as I have. If that was to happen there would be a whole lot of happy people around the world I'd say.

I wonder how you do it consistently uncle g. It must have been draining at the start.

Old G-dog has energy to burn mate, staying power, and attitude that being better today than yesterday is the only goal. I might have been born when dinosaurs roamed the world, but I got game bro, no fucker holds this little black duck down for long. Life's too short to play the victim.

I hope you're deploying a great weekend. Go talk to that girl of yours on the phone, tell her how much you miss her.

The second one that I read today that joined 3 days before me!

Congrats my friend and even though we connected late, your writings have sealed a friendship.
Seems that the only thing that I have built on here, in a very slow trek was my rep hahaha.
One the other hand I have managed to surround myself with some special people and to me that is what matters in this live.

Oh, I forget, in the meantime I have also become a bit of a bigger fish, but Ocra or Whale does not feature in my aims.
I have a charity to drive as many people here in our neck of the woods have come to depend upon us and no way am I going to let them down.

Congrats once again and as they say nowadays, Hive on!

Three days older, not much (if any) wiser. Lol.

It's the relationships I value and it is also those that bring me the most disappointment as they fall away when users stop for some reason. I don't blame them, just miss them. I've formed some great ones, there are even a few I communicate with off chain, one by direct email because she doesn't post now.

That's the nature of the beast and I know how much effort is required to maintain sustainability, for a long time so I don't blame them.

The orca thing seemed so far away only months ago. You know, when I started on hive, when hive started, I had only 25,000, I have 61,000 now. Effort is required.

Anyway, as I grow, so will my support of others and I am ramping that up now. What you do is something different altogether and I hope also to provide some degree of support too.

Thanks for your message. I mush appreciate it.

Ah That was you head start, the 25,000 as I had nothing, zero, zilch.
Also do not believe in bots, so I just trudged along as best as I could.
On Tuesday I will strike my 3 years of madness here Lol.

You are so right about missing those that pull out as it always leaves one with an empty feeling of loss. Especially if it was a good friendship. I have also lost a few of those.
A guy called "producer" in Miami and I set up some records in a previous social payment site.
How does 5000 votes for one of my posts sound?

Sadly the site closed down overnight and he disappeared. No more long Skype chats. Just gone like the wind.
Sustainability is something that many struggle with and you are right, as we cannot blame them.

We also appreciate your help here and I think that you know that.

You have done well and should be proud my friend.
Take care my friend.

I started with nothing on Steem, like everyone else, so I had no head start. The 25,000 was what I built up on steem, through doing what I do now, which I have transferred to hive. I felt that was implied.

You know that I will never mean any offense.
I misunderstood that's all.
So we both started with nothing, and my mistake was not to transfer anything.
If it was a mistake, because we were forced to power down for the first time a while ago due to the covid situation over here.

I know this, all good. I got to 25K on steem organically except for the our base of 3K worth. Blogging gained the rest. As my power down there has rolled out I've converted it to hive. I also do some reading here and there on the exchanges and have sent the gains back to steem or hive. That's how I've gotten myself to 61K. Blogging/trading.

I've never transferred any to real-world money. My brother has, the one here who remains totally anonymous, but he didn't have a huge amount.

It's a shame you've had to take some although the good thing is that it was there for you to use.

We all live in different places and outlet governments have done different things at this time. Faith and I have had no government assistance but have had to make many changes as our incomes have dropped. I would take some out if I had to of course, crypto I mean.

Just the idea that I worked so hard to get where I was and then to destroy it because of a virus didn't sit so well with me. In all honesty it still troubles me, but such is life, as I will just build again.

Good that you did the reading and trading, as it was good for you. Some people trade without reading and then they cry when they lose.

I have the last powerdown coming in on Thursday, not much, but we are thinking to leave it in btc.
That will be the end of me and that other place.

Less said about governments the better!

Beautifully written.

Thanks for asking why we’re here with HIVE.

HIVE is my second family

Hi Nathan, thanks for your reply. Hive is many different things depending on who you ask, however I believe many would say the same as you. Thanks for your comment, I appreciate it.

Congratulations on the anniversary of three years.

It's about enjoyment for me. I just keep doing what I do, engaging posting and being me...It's enough for me, and for some others who join me in using this place for enjoyment.

I have to say unequivocally I agree 100% with that. There is so much content and stuff available now that no matter what mood I am in I can find something to read, look at or watch just about any time of the day.

I really don't get the "There's no real content on Hive" attitude from some people. They must be blind, deaf, and dumb not to be able to find something to enjoy.

I also agree with you on the no good content conundrum. It makes no sense to me, and is probably says more about those that write that comment than hive itself. I believe those that say this are those who rarely come out of their little circle of ego-strokers long enough to see what's going on around the place. Also, the ones who talk the loudest and take the least action. Generally speaking of course.

Thanks for your comment, three full year, I didn't realise hive would become so important to me. Have a great weekend.

You too, and am enjoying already.

Congratulations! I admire your ability to interact deeply with your community, most of your answers are 3 paragraphs long, and the effort you put into this is not only seen in the quantity but in the quality. I seriously wonder how you do it. I guess it's because of what we talked about last time, your ability to read and write quickly. Not everyone has that gift and you make good use of it.
Personally, I'm here for the money. However, at steemit I wrote a lot and never received more than $5 (adding up all my earnings). I think I stay here to interact with people like you and read stories like yours. I think publishing here is a win-win. Eventually you get some money, but you constantly have the opportunity to meet people and engage in interesting conversations.
By the way, we have about the same time here, I've been here since July 2017

Hi Sofi, there is certainly nothing wrong with being here for the money; We all are in some way. Some need it more than others I guess. I live comfortably in a country where I do not need to struggle and so the small amount I have here wouldn't change my life much at all, but for someone in a developing country it would mean a great deal. We all find our own needs become the most important thing to us, specifically.

I am a strong believer in that relationships will drive earnings. Let's say you and I met and engaged in the same month back in 2017 and we nurtured that relationship. Instead of an occasional vote here and there maybe I'd vote you every day, and vice versa. That's the power of a relationship; Consistency.

We know each other now though, and have the chance to build on our foundations which is a good thing. Thanks for your kind words and I hope you have a great weekend.

Hello dear ... I don't have much time in the community, but I can see the effort you make within the community, you do an excellent job ... and I'm glad that you celebrate a lot of time in this community, I hope so for many more years, congratulations !! Greetings and kisses

Hi there, it all starts with the first step, and then next and the one after that. It's a journey. Some will have the perseverance to go further than others. Thanks for your kind words and I wish you all the best in your own journey. I hope to see you around on my posts some more.

I assure you that you will continue to see me hahahaha .. kisses

That's great. It's all about community and relationships here. All the best. :)

Hello dear friend @galenkp good night

Excellent the trip that you have made from your starting point, and if, without a doubt, your publications have a bit of you, I think that we all capture in our posts who we are, what we want and where we are going in life.

I am here thanks to a person who rescued me from the web, I had quit my job under a dependency relationship with the promise that on the web I made a lot of money. Something totally false of course.

I came here and since then I am every day, many hours, I do it because I like to interact with people, as I said in another comment, there are very good people here.

I like to start my mornings in Argentina and start my virtual journey and arrive at night and be interacting with a person from Thailand. That is magic and it happens only here. I also live off the compensation that I generate here, I help with the sale of my crafts of course.

Have a great night dear friend

It is an incredible global network isn't it...Your Argentina to Thailand journey is one we all have the ability to take, or some for of it. It is that which keeps me coming back to hive each day, the interaction and the way it crosses borders of country, age, religion, age, intelligence and any number of other things.

Thanks for your message.

I do enjoy it much more on here now that the DV "Fleas" are stuck in that other place we will not mention... Ok, I will call it purgatory. Cuz my steem is still locked in "currency maintenance" on Bittrex exchange due to more bad behavior over there.

Losing @janton makes me understand what you feel, when you see others drop out. He was one of (along with You) the first things I would pull up when opening the page here. I hope He posts more in the future. And @simonjay I miss also.

I am a little miffed right now as I should of had over 500 steem converted to Hive by now. Being collateral damage of that HF23 purgatory sucks.

People come and go I suppose. I never mention their names though, just draw a line beneath them and move on because they are gone. There's no point looking backwards hoping to see someone who dropped off with not even a word of goodbye. They start from scratch with me if they come back too. I can be a hard individual and once a line is drawn rarely do I erase it. I think here, it comes back to the fact people drop away when the price does, and then come back when it rises. I'm not one to not notice that.

I am just starting to experiment with the crypto a bit. Did you know this Hive stuff actually pays you? LoL.

And 1 million pennies makes you a Centillionaire...?

What do they call pennies in your far away magical land?

Well, pennies used to be called pennies but now we don't have them. We still use the term though. Save your pennies and penny for your thoughts etc.

We still have the useless copper tokens. They work great as stabilizers for that wobbly table. And fill a tube sock fulla them. Great weapon for an antifa rioter to use on the innocent bystander trucker... Juss Sayin'

Yeah, ANTIFA huh? Assholes.

This really got to me. So, I think I'll go ahead and see if I have commented on all those posts you linked. If I haven't, I guess I'm in for a read or two. :)

There's a lot of words there, some funny ones, some poignant ones. All mine though.

They are quite enjoyable. Your stories are valuable and I'm glad that you have taken the time to share so much of what you've experienced and learned. Plus, many of them are a lot of fun!

I like to have fun. I'm a fucking serious dude in real life mostly...But when I have fun I have fun. Thanks for taking a look.

My pleasure. Btw.. I posted an update to our 'author on the beach' scenario. The story took a bit of a turn. :) More of a careen. Lol.

I'll take a look now.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the day

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice work friend 😊. Your commitment and effort never ceases to amaze me. Keep up the good contents,you've been an inspiration.

Thank you, I will. :)

Such a nice text to read on a rainy night.

Just the ramblings of a man who has spent (probably) way to many hours here on hive. :)

It's been a good journey and I share it in an attempt to demonstrate what it can take to do what I do. It isn't just something that miraculously happens, my blog comes from effort and persistence.

I hope you are well...Rainy nights are good for snuggling, Faith and I do that a lot, so I hope you have a snuggling partner...Or at the very least some snacks!

Thanks for your comments.

Hey bud, congrats on your 4 year milestone, you certainly have some staying power to manage to post daily but you have a talent for writing and clearly enjoy sharing your stories and advice.
Iv'e been struggling of late and need to pick up my game, hopefully as things ease up here i'll get my Mojo back.
My reason for being here? Well I started as I was looking for somewhere to share mostly my underwater photography, i'll be honest I had no idea what it was all about and at first on steemshit was just dropping photos and treating it like a instagram account. Over time i'm getting a bit better at adding some words and sharing more about myself which doesn't come naturally as i'm a bit of a closed book.
Guy's like yourself have been a great help in guiding me in the right direction so thanks for that, take it easy dude.

We all go through the struggle-times, myself included. I think the difference for me is that I make this all about me, supporting me, helping me in my life...So if I'm feeling a bit down my posts will reflect that. I don't hold back at those times as that's when I need it most. You know?

In real life most people know next to nothing about us and even here, it would be a brave soul for someone to say I know G-dog - Nope, you don't. The closed book thing is ok, just share what you're willing to, as you do, and leave it at that. We'll fill in the blanks.

I'm glad you've found people to be helpful, myself included. That's what I'm here for. I'll spend more and more time supporting as my account grows larger.

Two days into my fourth year and still going strong. Lol.

Be well Paul.

Great achievement mate 💪💪

Thank you...I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

You welcome 💯. How is work going? And family too? My regards

Things are well here, flu restrictions are lifting nicely and things are getting back to normal, or the new normal as they say. We're fine, Faith and I, been working throughout and just keeping to ourselves as always. We have had to cancel our Scandinavia trip in July but will take some time later in the year to go camping which will keep us happy.

How are things with you?

A couple of days late to this, so that makes it 1095+3 then, eh? It's nice to hear your story along the way, though I've only seen a small part of it so far. I think I started following you along when that Lego Defender was built, or was it the Mack truck? Whichever one came first, I even encouraged (forced ) you to make a video once, as I recall. That was fun, no? I've only been here on Hive for less than a year, but nearly reaching Baby's first birthday.

We each have our own reasons for being here, and we all have our own pleasantries from being a part of the Hive. It might be a channel to get something off our chests, log our daily lives, yearn for attention, or make money. Each to their own, and in all, I'm glad to be meeting folk like you. Here's to the next 1095+3 days! Maybe by then, Grouchy would have a family of his own, too!

Hey yeah, I think you commented on one of my Lego posts and have followed since. I recall you insisting (suggesting?) I did a video, which I then went ahead and did. 1095 days would be good and hopefully the platform grows and develops too.

A fruitful future lies ahead of us, and gods know how the next year will look like, let alone 3 years. I remembered the video you made on that Mack truck, with the built-in crane. I still can't believe you made it, but the end result is a pretty slick video XD.

gods know

God's don't know...If they knew there would be non insects! (Referencing your last comment. ) Lol.

Seriously though, I'm optimistic and so I'm around, will deploy with personality and passion, effort too.

Lol, those pesky insects! You've made great stuff in the past, sometimes funny, other times worthy of self-reflection, and other times educational. We're glad to have you around mate, and never stop being you. I for one, am glad to have an Australian around. Never had one, but I think he's behaved better than I expected, so far XD

I'm a pet Australian. You better hope I don't get sick, vet bills are costly! 😂

Well, the healthcare for humans here in Malaysia is dirt cheap, so that's not a problem 🤣!