Call of duty

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

Today I helped a hero but he would not call himself so and would argue with me if he knew I said it. It reminds me of a quote:

One day my grandson said to me, grandpa were you a hero in the war? And I said to him no I'm not a hero, but I have served in a company full of them. Dick Winters - Major (2nd Battalion, 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, 101st Airborne Division)

That was a man who jumped out of an aircraft over Normandy in the Second World War together with his men. Not a hero. It's laughable of course but typical; That type of humility was common, and still is, across militaries of the world. They do what they do for their brothers.

Today I spent time with a mate who served this country and lost both legs doing so when the American Marine beside him stepped on an IED.

After the ensuing firefight he was air-lifted by Medevac to a field hospital then Germany and after several surgeries he spent months recovering and many more months learning to walk with prosthetic limbs. Does getting his legs blown off make him a hero in my eyes? No. Being there in the first place does. Volunteering to do what so many won't makes him a hero.

He'd tell me to shut the fuck up though, that the real hero's were the blokes, his brothers, who engaged in that firefight to cover his Medevac and the doctors and nurses who saved his life. I get it.

Today I proudly served a bloke who proudly served his country...A country that have left him largely uncared for and unsupported since this return from war.

[Image removed]

I've been helping veterans for many years, some with PTSD, others with physical disabilities and yet others...Well I help the families they left behind. I do various things depending on the need but today was heavy lifting mainly.

I moved a stack of boxes, furniture, some gym equipment and did some reorganisation with a view to create a more wheelchair-friendly environment for my buddy. He needs another operation on one of his legs due to necrosis and will be unable to walk at all for months. He is often wheelchair bound now, but when at home can move about on his prosthetics a little.

I also mowed and edged his lawn and tidied up his yard some.

I was there for most of the day, had lunch with my mate, and we told many lies. I even drank two beers which for me, when working, is rare. He seemed to want to talk and so I listened.

I'm not going to to go into the discussions we had as it's far too private to him and me, but I will say that if you ever get the chance to spend time with someone who has had such adversity, and dramatic change occur in life, you should jump at it. It is truly amazing to gain the perspective of a person like this. Of course, not all are success stories or positive, but there are many lessons one can learn.

That's an image of me brandishing my garden blower; Two legs, two arms, although one looks cut off because I'm holding my phone to take the image.

To my left, out of shot, was my mate, sitting in his wheelchair with his two stumps, cut off at the knee, juttiing out. He was calling me a wanker for taking selfies. But I know what me being there meant to him and how valued I and others are, to him when we heed the call of duty. He hates asking, preferring independence, but I love serving this chap and others like him.

I can stand, walk, use both arms and hands and don't have the emotional issues some of these men have. The adversity I've faced in life has affected me differently...But to serve these men is an honour and a privilege; I just wish the government saw it that way and did more for the people they send to war.

Thanks for reading. Have a nice Sunday. Tell someone they matter.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Yup I am always struck at just how those who have made the greatest sacrifice possible are tossed aside when their necessity or ability to serve has surpassed it's perceived 'useful course'. I always have a mental image when contemplating those who are sent to war, it's of politicians with long sticks pushing these guys over the wall.

These same people have a tendency to do whatever it takes to ensure their Sons and Daughters are not the ones being pushed over the wall, telling isn't it? Yet they seem to do it with the Sons and Daughters of others with zero hesitation, calling out words like honour, sacrifice, duty, nobility as they are being thrust in to a fray instigated by them and their cronies over money, power or some perceived slight that is deemed necessary enough to retaliate, by proxy of course.

These people return home, sometimes physically, mentally or spiritually broken to find they no longer count, they are not celebrated by those who asked/forced them to make this valiant effort for their nation. This does not seem to be prevalent to any single nation but appears, to me at-least to be the norm wherever leaders with battles to fight play out their games. by proxy of course!

I am sure your conversation not only taught you some things, but helped him immensely just by being able to talk about his experiences, this is how we process our situation, I think. Sometimes speaking things that plague our mind out loud gives a whole new complexion to them, sometimes this is the way the next step becomes clear.

But to serve these men is an honour and a privilege; I just wish the government saw it that way and did more for the people they send to war.

Sometimes the only outstretched hand to people left in these situations is charity, although I am a big fan of collective help, in this situation I believe it is one of the worst options available when you contemplate who these people are at heart, who they have been and what they have experienced. I couldn't imagine a more proud, independent, strong-willed class of people.

The same governments who dropped them in enemy territory and demanded the ultimate sacrifice, who spend unprecedented, exponentially growing resources on more and more weapons and machines of war should spare absolutely no resources on helping these people move forward with their life when they return home, while supporting their families and offering the highest quality medical treatment possible.

In many ways, even though you are ultimately just catching up with a mate, I guess through words, practical actions and simply being there and engaging with him, you are thanking him, so much respect to you for that. DEEP SHAME on those who should be present who ironically have no sense of duty, no concept of loyalty and a woefully inadequate ethos of service.

There's not much to add to your comment and so I will not. I agree with it all. My mates, currently serving and ex-servicemen all volunteered knowing what could happen, and yet they still went. One can't presume to know why people do that knowing they put themselves in harm's way but fortunately for people back home those men and women put themselves into the field to do what others cannot, or will not. War shouldn't happen, but it does; This means someone has to fight it. One must always pay the piper though right? My mate will be doing that for life, as will so many others.

You matter! :-)

To all of those you help, in real life, or through other medium.

We all do matter, if we can listen to those in need or left behind. With emotional wounds or physical, or both... Souls that need some helping hands, and can teach us lessons.

Have a nice Sunday evening, I suppose it is already late there 👋

Thanks Gabriela, I appreciate it. I'm sorry for the late reply.

It is ok :) no worries 🤗

We have a disproportionate number of veterans of all sorts living here in Thailand - some because of the weather, some who fell in love with it during 'Nam and so many because of the personal care and service enabled by the service mind of Thai women and Thai caregivers.

Yes, we owe a profound debt to so many!

Haha... the difference between a wanker and a blogger taking selfies is...? Maybe if your mate understood what will happen when hive moons, he might join you blogging and doing the selfie thing.

Do you cut grass for tired solo mamas too? I have to pay my garden guy.

Yeah, the bastard said to me, Galen, you're a fkn ugly bastard...No one wants to see a selfie of you!

I finished the selfie and tipped him out of his chair.

Not really

And yeah, if there's food involved I'd come over and mow the lawn! 😉

Promise to cook you up an authentic Thai feast - with excellent Thai beer - while you mow. Next time you're in the neighbourhood. 😆

!ENGAGE 15

[Handshake] Looks like it's a deal now!

😀

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

..."we told many lies"

Haha, that got me smiling after feeling so sad reading about what your mate went through. Its such a nice world with a few like you in it helping others not for the show of it, respect sire. I wish I could be of service wheeling him around.

Telling lies is a way of saying we were telling stories, talking about good and bad times, having a laugh.

The government use up people like this, then just set them free after their service to fend for themselves Mostly anyway. He gets some support, but not enough. I help out here and there.

Oh yes I get the joke from the "telling lies", its such a wonderful thing you do dear @galenkp

Yeah, that is very cool; I agree about the government over here too. For as much rhetoric as I've heard over here for most of my voting life, the treatment of veterans is still sorely lacking. The talk continues, but the follow-through always fails.

It's that follow-through that they need...Not being left to live on the street, to deal with PTSD alone and unsupported or struggle make ends meet financially. It's a massive fight. A soldiers battles often lasts a lifetime.

absolutely agree, 100%

You are my hero!!!! And your friend as well!!!

Ramstein is probably where he was transported to, it is not too far from here and once in a while the heli convoys are flying deep above our house. It always touches me, also when the C17 are coming in because I know where they are heading to or coming from. And what they are carrying.

I can sing a song about that topic.

Coming from that field of profession myself and being an ex military spouse I have not only seen friends deploying and not coming back, but also coming back with half of their bodies.

And PTSD is so big. I am suffering from it myself, and so was my Ex-husband. Yup, 3 tours to Afghanistan and Iraq in a row took a toll on the marriage but it happens quite a lot.

I was thinking about writing about PTSD for active duties and spouses but for a reason I'm not ready to open up, maybe if I take the scientific point it will help.

Oh well, anyways great job both of you have done! The veterans are often forgotten once they leave the military. Especially in the US.

And not to forget about them.

I'm no hero...But my mate certainly is. Thank you though, I'm pleased to see someone with so much respect for vets; K9 operators too.

Yes, it was Ramstein, he was operated on there an held until he was stable. One of his legs was gone completely and they trued to save the other but it had to be removed later.

It seems you've had a lot of experience...Your comment about the C17's...Most see these planes and think nothing, but like you say, their cargo is often dead and wounded coming in and boots about to hit the ground in the sandbox. Chilling both ways I guess.

The wives (partners) of military personnel serve in their own way, some would say it's even more difficult and I wouldn't disagree. You've had first-hand experience and know what it's like, what it costs. Respect Anna, from me to you.

I would like to hear your story, some of it at least, although I completely understand your reluctance to open up just yet. I don't blame you of course. It would be an interesting perspective though.

One of my good mates took his own life a couple years ago and I help his family a little...She has opened up about the situation but it's very difficult for her so I don't press the issue. She'll talk when she wants to, as will you. Just know that people will listen.

Can I ask? You're German or American? I'm assuming German. Don't answer if you do not wish to, I'll not be offended.

Respect to all who serve.

Loading...

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout of the day
Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

The last pic looks like you're holding a chainsaw one side and you've then your arm off the other. 😨

One of the things that really pees me off is how uncared for by the government returning soldiers are after all they've done for them and all they've been through in order to do that. The adverts for the army don't say anything about that waiting at the other end after they've served.

Haha, yes it does...Oops, cut off my arm while taking a selfie! Just a blower vac thing fortunately though, can't doo much damage with it.

I agree with you Mini...The military is pitched as a job though...One doesn't see the horrors of battle until one is there but the, won't happen to me, thing is always in people's mind I guess...But solid pay, three squares a day and job security sounds good...Until one gets shot or bombed by an IED or some such thing.

My friend just went into the Navy and was telling me about the recruit training...It was cut down, made easier, so the lowest common denominator could pass it. That's who defends the country...It's not like it used to be in the good old days...Well, not here anyway, China are building an army...We're creating jobs.

It was cut down, made easier, so the lowest common denominator could pass it.

That doesn't feel right. Almost like they're recruiting cannon fodder, if they don't stand a chance the moment they step into combat.

Yes, partly my point. Care factor - Zero as long as it looks like jobs are being filled. You've seen the adverts. They make it look like holiday camp. War isn't holiday camp.

It most certainly is not. 😢

Congratulations @galenkp! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

Beware G-dog, you may just become a hero in my eyes.
Those guys have such interesting stories and I have listened to many.

No mate, I am just a normal guy; That's all I'll ever be. The people I help are the hero's and yes, the stories are valuable. I wish more people heard them.

Okay "normal guy" just know that I admire people that help others.
Our life is short and it's not so much what we say, but rather what we do that counts.

The service these people did has no ways to be compared to anything else. Spending time with such a person must be a humbling experience.
2 arms, 2 legs, the ability to stand and walk. Things that most of us take for granted. This post is a reminder of how tough so many people had it and how they never gave up. The resilience, the courage, the dignity to accept one's fate....valuable as a lesson.
You did good G., I think he needed the talk and the company and you surely provided.
!ENGAGE 10

I think he needed the talk and the company and you surely provided.

The bugger needed his lawn mowed! Lol.

Nah, it's all good. I don't mind. Some vets come back ok, others not...It's up to those people who can to do something to help those who came back with issues.

I have a lot of respect for them, I can't imagine how would it be to suffer from constant stress and flashbacks of past trauma

Unpleasant. Destructive. Invasive. Loud. Like an itch one can never scratch. Something like that.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

People helping people. Giving back to those less able and in need. It's what life is all about, being the best human you can possibly be and learning from others. Sounds like you've done both here. I love giving back.. It keeps me grounded, reminds me to be thankful for every breath I take, and keeps me aware of life's fragility. Thanks for being you G-Dog! 😁

Hey, thanks man...I appreciate your last comment.

I try to be the best version of me but fail so many times...But sometimes not and it's those times in which I find so much value. I am quite generous by nature, mostly, and I get a lot back when I give.

Nice comments, thank you.