You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hitting and missing life milestones

in OCD3 years ago

Hey, @tarazkp.

I'm probably not the best to advise or to provide definitive answers about milestones given what my life is like right now, but there was a point, about 10 years ago, where I was achieving beyond any milestones I might have placed.

It's all kind of crumbled and crashed part way down the mountain since then.

However, enough was done in that earlier part that life goes on and hope continues and at some point the climb will continue.

I'm in agreement with the idea that milestones will change with time, as the maturation process, such as it is, takes place. Life experiences tend to helps us determine quite a bit of what we truly want and don't want, while still leaving enough ambiguity to give us a chance to chase after some things that may or may not matter.

I think I'm a few years down the road from you, and so far, there really hasn't been that aha moment. The body has certainly gone down hill but the mind still wants to do what it wanted to do for the last 45 years at least—create something. Anything. Then, make money.

So, I'm sure I'll keep trying that, while I try to do something else to help support life in the real world. :)

Sort:  

It's all kind of crumbled and crashed part way down the mountain since then.

A lesson worth the cost?

The body has certainly gone down hill but the mind still wants to do what it wanted to do for the last 45 years at least—create something. Anything. Then, make money.

I see this position as that of the greats - creators. It doesn't even matter if they made the money (though that is nice), it is being able to spend a life being generative, rather than extractive. The best of course is when what is generated is valuable enough to create demand for it; a painting, a bridge, a cure.

At the end of life, I don't care how I am remembered, but I do hope that I had a positive effect.

!ENGAGE 25

re: a lesson worth the cost

Well, maybe. Unless it was meant to teach me some bad choice or fault of mine, then, I haven't learned at all. :)

If I was supposed to learn that government only cares about itself and self-preservation, and that it will do so no matter what the cost or collateral damage, then I don't know that I needed the lesson, but it certainly cemented it forever as far as I'm concerned.

re: creators

There have been times, if I think about it, where I've created for just the fun of it, or for the enjoyment of others, but that's mostly been for family or friends. Otherwise, the entrepreneurial part of me has expected some sort of financial benefit for the time spent. Except for HIVE, that has not been the case.

re: end of life

Very good sentiments, and most assuredly, because of them, and because you are endeavoring to do so, you are and thus will. :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.