A non-gamer just bought a Steelseries Arctis 1 Wireless gaming headset

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

DSC_1821.jpg

Photo taken by me, hiddenpaid. :p



I have been using earphones my whole life. I still got my apple earphones here and they still work perfectly fine. But recently, I just got annoyed with it considering that it's wired and it gets in my way while painting.

Then I remember a conversation I had with @acidyo last year when we talked about headsets and how he's so comfortable with using a wireless one. He also got this great mic quality so I got jealous!! He then suggested I buy a Steelseries headset. So I did!


My previous one

I actually had a Steelseries Siberia V2 as a freebie for my laptop but I didn't really use it much. First of all, I didn't like how it compresses my head so much that it kinda gives me a headache. Second, it felt like the music that I was listening to was too far away. It was a good gaming headset with a good mic too, just not good for music.


So why buy a gaming headset????

I am not a gamer. I'm the one who played a few games but I'm also the one who would rather spend my time more on making art. I rarely play games.

So why tf would you buy a gaming head-

yeah yeah, I will explain

I wanted to buy something specifically for music since that's my purpose anyway. But then I realized that I am planning to play games in the future anyway just for fun, so I will be using it still. I've read in reviews on how this headset is still good for music even though it's specifically for gaming anyway. So I concluded I will just buy the music earbuds that @nerdfury reviewed. (Thanks for the review, man!)

Also, since gaming headsets have good mic, this will be a good chance for me to finally talk shit in Hive Discord Servers. jk though, I'm shy.




DSC_1794.jpg

This photo so extra lol.



Steelseries Arctis 1 Wireless

4 in 1 Wireless Gaming Headset


A wireless gaming headset that's compatible in 4 devices (PC, PS4, Nintendo Switch, and Android) and it's only $119.99!



DSC_18142.jpg

DSC_18163.jpg

The product comfortably tucked in. :3



DSC_1821.jpg

The box contains the headset, detachable mic, some wires and the wireless thing shit you're supposed to plug to connect to the device.



Connectivity

DSC_1824.jpg

This is the wireless transmitter. All you had to do is plug that to the devices directly and it is ready to go. For phones, it can be plugged in to devices with USB-C ports, so mostly Android and recent models of iPhones.


DSC_1826.jpg

If there's no USB-C port on the PC, you can just plug it to the connector.


DSC_1838.jpg

If you really want to connect it to your phone that doesn't have that port though, you can use this and connect it to the audio jack. It's not wireless anymore in that case, but you'll be able to use it still! Isn't that cool :p



Wearability and Design

DSC_1850.jpg

The headset is lightweight and is comfortable to wear. It doesn't fall off easily unless you randomly dance hardcore.

The first time that I put it on my head though... after a minute it gave me this kinda headache that is caused by the compression of my head. It isn't that tight, it's just that I'm not used to wearing one. If you remove the clamping effect though, it is really comfortable to wear.



DSC_1846.jpg

DSC_1849.jpg

The cushion is so soft and it's not leather. So it won't peel off. So fluffy. :3



DSC_1853.jpg

It has this soft pad under the headband too so it would still be comfortable even if you're wearing it for hours.

Since it doesn't look like most of the alien-looking gaming headsets, you can wear it in public without looking like Star Trek or some shit. I think this is also the reason why they made the microphone detachable instead of it being retractable.

The look of it is also really cool and modern. I like the simplicity.



Functions

DSC_1842.jpg

Most buttons are located on the left side while the power button is on the right. The ones on the left are the switch for the mic, volume, audio jack, port for charging. The power button on the right can also be used to answer/end voice call, play/pause music, next track and previous track.

They are easy to scroll and press and are not "weird to press". It's like... snappy. Once you wear it, it's not hard to find these functions so it is efficient.



DSC_1855.jpg

When you want to use the mic, you just attach it near the front. I find it quite annoying to attach and detach it every time but it's also a good thing that it's like that since it will be quite weird to have the mic showing even though it has been hidden (for retractable ones).



Performance

The sound is good and like any other gaming headsets, you will be able to hear footsteps and shit like you're in the actual game. The environment is so lively.

When it comes to music, I was actually surprised it wasn't like my previous one where you feel like it's too far away lol. Just like what I have read in reviews, it delivers good performance even for music. You know, gaming and music headsets are really different since they have different functions. Gaming headsets can mess your music up since it's supposed to deliver the sounds like it comes from in every direction. But this one delivers it good. :3

There's also a program that you could install to tweak its settings, test the mic, configure the equalizer, etc.

image.png

The mic is also crisp and it can cancel out the unnecessary background sounds and noise.


Battery Life

The battery life is like 20 hours. When I first turned it on, it was like 20% power but I charged it in a few minutes and now I am still using it while writing this. :3



Overall

DSC_1859.jpg

A good and affordable headset with lots of functions and compatibility is hard to find and I'm glad Steelseries released this. It's simple, comfortable, delivers a good performance for both gaming and music. Of course, it can't deliver a great music one like those audiophiles, but I would say it is good, for my taste at least.


TL:DR

Buy this if you're looking for an affordable gaming headset that you can also use for music. :)

Sort:  

This one is a legit product review post!
Not bad! ;) <3

Haha thank you! I'm not a reviewer or a techie, so this is from a normal consumer standpoint. :D

Well that could still help since many of them go too technical, and the rest of us don't know what the f they are talking about. lol

Cheers for the shoutout - did you wind up getting the Sonys or plan to?

Never been a huge fan of gaming headsets for outdoor use, since the mic usually looks stupid, but there's been a trend in gaming headset manufacturers to make them suitable for daily use, as seen here and on the also great Logitech G933 cans.

Still planning to! I don't need any earphones at the moment so I am just delaying it quite a bit and prioritizing necessities. But I really wanna buy it! Just don't make sense ordering it for now since we can't go out of the house anyway. Hahah yeah that's what I've been telling @acidyo about how I like detachable mics better.

Wow. First of all, I love music so much. That is what I use to entertain myself and also get inspiration. Second of all, thanks for the review

Same! I get a lot of inspiration from music mainly because they can really bring out the emotions in me. :D

That's true. Very inspiring.

ò.ó retractable > removable mic
also mmhh 7.1 surround sound <3 hihihi

ye i don't know the point of this comment either

Okay then :PP don't think I have the surround sound tho

You better not or my attempt to make you jealous failed hard

Great review though, was fun to read and I didn't even have to plug it into the TTS

WELL U HAD TO READ xD

discord stopped working, i'm gonna go cs:go with my superior headset

SANA ALL! 😁 Have fun with your new headset @hiddenblade

hahah thank you!

I rarely play games.

Sounds like a gamer to me. Even more so with that headset. Next thing you be telling us you got a racing chair, have an rpg keyboard and your computer pukes even more RPG than a rainbow.

LOL! I'm planning to buy Oculus in the future though, racing chair is quite far from what I like.. I don't like racing games that much hahah. I would love to have a colorful and powerful PC set ups though, good for making 3d art.

Sana ol hahahaa hulat pako sako airpods 😭😭😭

katung pro? murag mas nindot ning Sony hahah

Dili oy tung normal lang in 3 months pa moabot hahaa na hold sa quarantine kay gi order nako sa gawas 😢

Ngano dili sa Lazada ka nagpalit? Naa may official Apple store didto, instead mag order ka sa gawas dugay muabot haha

Huhu wala na na order naman nako haha afatay na 😭😂 better luck next time

Nice! You just have to charge it by cable and that's it? I need a wireless headphone/mic as well... because... neighbors can hear my shitty music xD

Yes :D And LOL I feel bad for your neighbors.... :PP