I did my nails using polygel for the first time!

in OCD3 years ago

Nail cover.jpg


Two days ago, I got these nail products which I ordered from Shopee. I immediately tried doing my nails that night. xD

I already know how to do it since I have already been to a salon so I have observed how it was done and also have been recently watching videos on it so I have picked up the knowledge that I need.




Nail Prep


1.jpg


Nail prep is basically a very important process and if you don't prep it right, there's a big chance the gel will not last long and worse, won't stick properly.

First step is to push back the skin just near the nail and remove the cuticle. I figured I can also use the nail drill but I thought it would be harsh (ofc it isn't lol) but next time I will.



2.jpg


After cleaning my nails, I applied a nail dehydrator which dehydrates your nails so it would suck up all the oil from it. The purpose is to have the gel stick there stronger. Then I applied the primer and a base coat.




Applying the gel


IMG_9845.jpg

Nail molder that I used.



3.jpg


Then I was ready to apply the gel for extensions. :D
I took out the nail molder (the transparent one) and I applied the nail gel. Then I started sculpting it on the mold, making it as even as possible. I used a slip solution and a brush to do it.



IMG_9885.jpg


After putting the gel on the molder, I then pressed it on my nail. I had to be very careful not to let the gel touch my skin cos once it's cured (dry), I would have a hard time fixing them. They should only stay on the nail to prevent lifting (when the nail grows long). Then cured it under a UV lamp.



IMG_9924.jpg


After 60 seconds, it will harden like real nails. It's almost unbelievable lol but yeah it works like that.

Then I just lightly press and shake the molder to remove it from the nail.



4.jpg


It's now time to shape the nails as I want them to. I used the nail drill and also some nail file to shape and "clean them up". I also realized I can't commit to nails that long atm so I just cut them shorter lol.




Applying gel polish


IMG_0024.jpg


To apply the colors and other shit, first is always the base coat so the polish would stick longer.



IMG_0040.jpg


Then I applied the colors and glitters. Cured them under UV light for 60 seconds before applying another layer.



IMG_0065.jpg


Then I applied the rhinestones and I used builder gel to stick it there. It was fun deciding how to decorate it with these stones. They are always pretty!

After that, I just applied the top coat and cured.




Result


IMG_0079.jpg


Here are the result of my 6 hours of hard work. Yes. Each hand took me 3 hours and it's because I was stressing on sculpting the nails well. Haha. I've never thought it would be this hard (to do it properly).



IMG_0088.jpg


I like the results! And for a first time, I was happy with what I did. It's not perfect but considering it's my first, it wasn't bad at all. :P



IMG_0098.jpg


The process was satisfying AF and I would love to do it again! This is why nail technicians actually love their jobs. The process is really fun.

I look forward to doing it again. Maybe when I get tired of this design and want a new one? Haha.

Sort:  

Excellent work, I'm sure you had a lot of fun in the process.

Thank you! I did! hahah

You will manage to do it faster and faster as you practice, it is definetely fun

For sure! Can't wait to do it again haha