Old drawings and paintings

in OCD4 years ago

I've had a good look at my files while sorting them and found these old paintings and drawings of mine when I was in art school. These were all done as plates in different subjects and were done live.



Landscape WC.jpg

This was a live painting, done at the university campus using watercolor. Yeah, I'm not a big fan of watercolor and also it wasn't that good. xDD

Watercolor is the hardest medium in my opinion. I mean it's pretty simple how to use it. But doing it correctly... that's the hard part. That's why I salute the watercolor painters here. @jungwatercolor is one of them! :D




Still life.jpg

This was done in 2013, during my freshman years. I don't remember it much, I think I used charcoal here. I think the "no smudging" rule was applied here too. Seeing this, I can only be amazed with how much patience I got with drawing. Haha.





Shoes.jpg

A monochromatic still life painting study done in 2014 when I was in my second year in art school. We used Chinese ink bar for this. We had a live painting session and we were slowly learning how to properly look at proportions and tonal value.





still life.jpg

This was done using acrylic on board. During this time, I was having a really hard time figuring out how to properly use acrylics cos I got used with using oil paint, techniques are different. You can see the rough strokes and the unusual glazing or some shit. Some parts are even unfinished lol.





still life paint.jpg

Lol. I can only lol at this piece. This was an oil on canvas painting. I really didn't like this. I was only doing it for the requirements. I remember I got so bored while making this that I just went out more often, often went to the canteen or at the mini forest in front of the building. You can probably sense my boredom with this one lol.



These were just my few paintings and drawings and I got some more, but some of them were done using references from the internet as being able to produce a good reference also needs a good skill with arrangements/lightings.

It's a good thing to see these again. I can see how much I have improved and obviously I left all my patience and discipline in the past. XD

Sort:  

Hello dear friend @hiddenblade.
It is good that you have found these beautiful works on your computer. I'm not an art expert, but I know when I like something. To be honest I liked all of them, however, if I had to choose one, it would be the ones you have made charcoal.
Thank you very much for showing us your talent.
I wish you a great week

Thank you! I like the one in charcoal too! Especially the fabric lol

Very nice work. Good range there.

Oil painting is still the best imho. nice works!

Your art works look very professional, and I agree that watercolors can be tricky, I'm still learning doing it as I work on my little paintings.

👋 Hi @hiddenblade, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Beautiful drawings, my friend. I loved your blog, I will follow you

I like them, the details of the bed are well done