You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A thought about The Hallway

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Wow this is really impressive! I've never thought you have that art critic's eye :D
Great observational skills and I'm pretty impressed you have noticed there's no patient sitting on the wheelchair.

The close up reflection of that creeped me out a bit even though it's my own painting. LOL! You're right, I haven't intended it that way and haven't even seen it. You know what's amazing after you pointed it out? The painting discusses about the uncertainties of life and the reflection (in your interpretation looks like from The Ring), is the total opposite. I had to read the plot of that movie again cause I was probably 6 or 7 when I saw it and had completely forgotten about it now... and knowing that Samara is very certain you'll die after 7 days... it's a pretty amazing that you have thought of that. Critical thinker you!

I'm so so glad that you thought about this for a long time and decided to write about it. I've never gotten any critics like this ever since I left art school and just imagine the thrill while I was reading this. Also don't be afraid to speak about your own interpretations or critics. We artists know that each person will have their own different views on it and we will even be happy if it makes one think. Thank you for writing this! :D

Sort:  

I am a lifetime member of Musuem of Fine Arts in Houston MFAH. I am actively involved in 'consuming' art; both my daughters goes to art school. My wife paints. We have 50+ painting on our walls (mostly student art, and we are out of space). I am the odd one out in the family, I sometime paint.... but not to generate art, but for therapy :) So bottomline I don't have a choice NOT to understand art :)

The movie is based on a book by Koji Suzuki. Again, the book is more vivid than the movie. I read a lot of Japanese Literature... especially lately on magical realism. So the thought came naturally.

Again, I think it is a spectacular painting. I can write a short story on it if I had the time :)

Oh wow, lovely family! Having the whole family being engaged in art is a great experience I bet. I'm the only one in the family that does art. Not even my cousins and other relatives so I don't have that kind of other sources of knowledge, only books and colleagues.

I don't have a choice NOT to understand art :)

Yeah that makes a lot of sense lol.

That's really touching T_T Would be so cool for you to write about it! (even you thinking of doing it is cool enough already!)