Recognizing my strength - I can find a way to anything

in OCD4 years ago

DSC_1457.jpg


I have written a lot about my weaknesses and how I have been dealing with them since the beginning. It’s true that we need to recognize those so we could try to improve as a person. There’s this thing that I have forgotten a lot about lately though and it’s very important to not miss them out: my strengths.

This quarantine made me do some reflections about myself cos I have been feeling weird lately. Like, I don’t understand why I get fatigued and I get so irritable quickly. I feel like the causes of those are sensory overload.

Anyway, I have been focusing a lot on my weaknesses that I forgot about recognizing my strengths too and it's really unfair to just focus on negativities.


Finding a way

One of the strengths of mine that I truly know and recognize is my ability to find a way to anything. This could be a problem that needed a solution, or a deadline, or anything really. I could find a way to solve those, that's of course if I got the motivation for it.

I remember this one time it was raining really hard and I needed to go home right away. I needed to be at home as soon as possible so I could think of a concept for an upcoming art competition has a deadline 2 weeks from that time. I couldn't go home as there was no public transportation available. 24-hours cafes weren't a thing that time as well. So what I did is just "fuck it" and walked in the rain to the nearest Mcdonald's. I was soaking wet when I went inside lol. I ended up writing my concept and storyboard plan because I really want to enter the national competition.

Writing the concept plan was a success and more problems came since I was using a weak-ass netbook to edit the videos but still I was able to finish it on time. It seemed impossible to finish it at that time considering all the pressures but I still did it.

Same thing also happens to me during deadlines especially when I was in college. I procrastinate A LOT. I submit mediocre works during my art classes. But I still managed to get good grades for tthem (considering most works are unfinished and looked like shit) because I can find a way to defend it on the spot when asked.



This strength is pretty much very important as my life could depend on it someday. You know like.. it can prevent homelessness and shit. xD And I'm glad I got reminded for it so I now have a motivation to do something... that has a deadline in the next 15 days. :p



DSC_1544.jpg


What are yours?

How about you? What are your strengths? Do you have a strength that you probably haven't recognized before?

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

A strength of mine is being tolerant in a lot of situations, could also pass as my weakness.