The tree of life

in OCD4 years ago

landscape.jpg


This was an old landscape drawing done when I was in art school. We went outside our studio and had our live session just outside our building. The university is big and it had this mini-forest and some grassy areas in some parts of the campus.

Just outside the building, we had this big area of grass and some trees and we used to hang out a lot with my friends there. This drawing reminds me of those times.

Somewhere to the far left, there was this big tree and we used to just lay down there and take a nap during our free time. We called it the "tree of life".


Tree.jpg

The tree of life behind me. I think I have pics of it without me but it's in the other drive, cba looking.


No, it wasn't the official name of the tree. One of my friends just decided to call it the tree of life and then we started calling it like that since then.

During breaks, or during those times where our professor doesn't show up, we would just lay down there and do anything we want. Draw, nap, talk, even did some photoshoots. lol. This tree had witnessed us having the best days of our lives during our freshman year.


DSC_0165.jpg

The view when you lay down underneath the tree.



Laying under the tree was so relaxing. Even when the weather is hot (we usually go there during lunch breaks and afternoon ones), we don't feel the heat because the tree gave us big shade and because of the plants around us, it gave us this nice "a bit cool" temperature. Plus, it was always windy.

There were still some school vibes though even when you're there. You could still hear the university bell afar. But it was still a bit far from the other buildings and the usual "mini-forest" where students gather so it was still peaceful being there.

Only a few other students would occasionally pass and usually when they do, they'll give us this weird "these fine arts weirdos being in weird places again" lol.

That place in the drawing is now occupied by new buildings. :( Now I'm not sure if the tree of life is still there, though I doubt they'd cut it down.. but the grassy area near the tree has now a new infrastructure built.

I'm glad we were able to enjoy the moment while it lasted.

Sort:  

That looks like a fun tree to climb. Gotta love old trees and wonder at everything they have experienced

Yeah looks fun really! I wish I was able to climb lol. But none of us were able to because the branches are way too high.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The tree of life so it seems, well we have quite comforting trees as this back in my secondary days too and well I'm guessing the relaxation back then was memorable for you. What inspired the drawing? Was it this tree?

No, it was just a drawing exercise for an art subject. Haha

Oh great, anything you touch is art. My goodness! ♥️♥️♥️♥️

Bluuuurrrred face! I know you want it!

I KNOW YOU WANT IT

Thanks. Now that song's stuck in my head again.

LOL! But you’re a good girl

Trees are awesome. Some of my best relationships have been with trees. True story.

Ever read “the giving tree” by Shel Silverstine? Life changing.