FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY | Hypermarket shopping for fruits

in OCD • 4 years ago

I do miss my days of 🛒 for groceries in a proper hypermarket. A good hypermarket is like a one-stop-shop for any home maker. Every single turn and we'll find something that we don't need but want 😆.Then, again that's how grocery shopping is all about. We let our 👀 wonder around and be feasted by the many varieties of provisions.

In my one trip to Co.Op Mart in District 7 which so happens to be one of the largest hypermarket in this city. It occupies two floors of a shopping mall and caters to many residents who stays around here. This is one of my preferred hypermarket though it is a bit farther from my home. But, like I said, one-stop-shop so whenever I decide to come here, I will have a whole long list of purchase to get in order to make my trip worthwhile.

IMG_20200430_140119.jpg

One of the section that I like is the fresh fruits and vegetables area. One can actually find fruits from both local and imported. Just look at all those imported apples and fruits displayed in the cold refrigerator. On the top shelf are peaches and plums, also imported. Because they encourage local produces, all imported goods are more expensive, as such, I rarely eat apples and oranges here.

IMG_20200430_140044.jpg

Here, we have pomelos from the local provinces within Vietnam. Pomelos are a common staple fruit for the local citizens. They consume it as it is or add onto salads or appetisers. I think sometimes they also add onto certain main dishes; which I have yet to try out myself. Back home, we only eat it during the Lunar festival as pomelos are imported. Quite an opposite compared to the locals here.

IMG_20200430_140040.jpg

Now, these are more imported fruits; rock melon and honeydew. Like I said, this is one area which I like very much because the smell of the fresh fruits overwhelmes the surrounding. After all, that's what fruits does to us isn't it....

The last time I was here, I bought 9 dragon fruits, also locally produced because export was impossible due to the pandemic. Guess no such luck now since the borders are slowly opening up for several countries. At least for fresh provisions they allow 🙄


I'll definitely share more in my next post. Hope you enjoy my photo taken from my Huawei

xvkj4fvznj.png

Come & join FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving
• Take and post at least 3 photos of fruits and vegetables. (It can be variety or just one kind from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, PLANT BASED RECIPES ARE WELCOMED).
• One entry only!!!
• PLEASE MAKE SURE THE ENTRY IS 100% ORIGINAL CONTENT!!! (images and text)
• Text must be at least 100 words.
• Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
• Mention the creator @lenasveganliving, the host @plantstoplanks and the title FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

Sort:  

That would definitely be my favorite part of the store, as well. So much goodness. I try to buy mostly local, as well, but sometimes I just have to splurge on something tropical that doesn't grow here. Usually more expensive, but I would rather spend my money on fruit than on shoes or purses, haha!

I agree that spending on food is far better than on shoes and purses or bags.
But, I do occasionally give myself a treat.

We all miss those leisure grocery shopping days.
Now it is nothing but:

  1. Queue
  2. Scanned
  3. Sanitize hands
  4. Quickly grab what you need (you have limited time)
  5. Queue
  6. Pay
  7. Leave

This is the new norm that most of us are so not used to, with face masks!

I know what you mean. I like Co.op Mart because not many people come here and I can take my time to shop around and look at things. I can overshop here if I con't control myself.
Good thing is that it's not that near to my home, so I only come here once a couple of months so I tend to go on a shopping spree