The Buzz about Hive: Art, NFT's & Community

in OCD3 years ago

Considering joining the Hive community?

Let's talk about Hive through multiple perspectives: maybe you are an artist, an NFT collector, interested in Defi or curious about blockchain social media and community.

I joined fairly recently after my friend @santigs introduced me to the world of blockchain. Then I was fortunate enough to connect with @galenkp who kindly explained to me about the community here.

From my very first post I was overwhelmed by how all of you are so incredibly knowledgeable and generous with your time.

A big thank you to @galenkp who patiently responded to my many questions and shared insight into how this community has been able to grow and also about some of the core values that make it a special place.

I realized (after a while here) that I could generate the Hive currency needed to mint / tokenize my art from within this Hive community. Here is my art work that I'm turning the sales into reinvestment into the @nftshowroom art community to support other artists there.

image.png

As the Hive currency price increases I think many people will be wondering how to get involved in this blockchain.

My suggestion would be to make a Hive account and get connected to this community, if you are an artist or collector or interested in Defi this might be a great place to start. (This is my invite to join Here which is the @Peakd front end service that I use to post on the Hive blockchain)

If you are reading this and decide to jump into Hive please feel free to tag me in your introduction post. Investing your time in the community by interacting and adding your story will be rewarding, it has been for me.

When I reached out to the community shortly after joining they collectively shared about how genuine conversation is essential here, people are able to express their support through interaction and voting (giving Hive currency) to encourage the creation of quality content. This is a much needed alternative to mainstream social media. The most important part of this is we, together decide the future of this community. From your very first post you are able to influence the way things move forward and for those that have been here investing time and Hive into this community they also shape things proportionally to their time investment into the community.

We can choose our own adventure. I wanted to highlight my comment on this video tweet about blockchain. I'd also like to focus more on NFT Art and ask you all who are some of the NFT collectors you may know outside of Hive that would possibly be interested in joining us here?

As a content creator I joined Hive to be able to participate in this fair economy and community. I think fairness is a value that will attract many more people to Hive and blockchain communities like this one.

The normal no longer needs to be that a single company makes the rules (based on often specifically engineered to be addictive technology) that is an advertisement and not community driven model, where the control of creators is taken away and personal information is collected to be sold as a commodity. We can flip the hierarchy upside down and flatten it out a lot so everyone benefits together.

After joining Hive I realized I now have a place to create a marketplace for my content where I am able to make the decisions of price, quantity and also (which I am most interested in) how I can automatically give back via delegating Hive currency generated in posts and NFT sales.

We can then delegate Hive to people who may of not had a chance in the past to set up a marketplace physically or digitally in a centralized economy. We can invest in the story and content of people we believe in.

Through Hive and other blockchains we have completely transparent and a community verified place that has potential to shake up the often unfair status quo of current economic systems. Systems that fail to address issues such the majority of the world not having access to banking or financial services.

For me, I can now create art in various forms and collaborate with artists and art collectors on project within this community. Let's talk if you would be interested? As I mentioned, I'll also be using the Hive generated in this post and from this featured art work above to reinvest and support other @nftshowroom artists.

You can see my Art here Jonathan's Art:

https://nftshowroom.com/jonamccallum/gallery

We are not a commodity, we are people, we are diverse, we are valuable and we add value regardless of our bank account or profession. The blockchain is turning the world upside down by giving content creators from every place on earth an equal opportunity.

Let's jump back to my first post here on Hive when I introduced myself with a surfing photo. The photo was taken by me looking down on my favourite surfing spot here in Europe. After seeing how you all interacted on that post and gave Hive to me it caused a shift in my thinking. That event made me reconsider why anyone would want to post there content on large corporate platforms that are limiting control and reserving monetization for themselves or a select few.

image.png

I then realized how I'd like to invest my time here. I'd like to help onboard people within the Art community and Art collectors to Hive. Especially in a world where Ethereum based blockchain sites are creating a lot of barriers for new artists and new art collectors. I've seen as @nftshowroom grows that collectors are joining that platform and I am curious to know if some will also begin posting here as well.

This is my longest post yet, thanks for reading it all. I'd appreciate hearing from you and any suggestions you have for artists and collectors. I'm also considering making some of my photos and video into NFT's and would like to hear your suggestions about Hive related platforms to do this with.

Interested in being interviewed about Art or Art Collecting? See my posts and message me @streamjonathan

Jonathan McCallum (Telegram/Insta/Twitter @jonamccallum )

Sort:  

Thank you for taking the time to read my post today. I really appreciate you all and I hope to create more content that would be possibly helpful for new people like myself who have recently joined the Hive community.

Congratulations @jonamccallum! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge